Create account / Log in

Zero-1 PBF

Post about ongoing games here.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Not2good » March 13th, 2012, 5:16 pm

Arborec choose Diplomacy.

Nekro next for SC pick
Not2good
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 5:15 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby AbsoluteZero » March 13th, 2012, 5:39 pm

Shifi wrote:Bureau had a bonus counter on it right? Need a new PO revealed plz.

Next PO is "I have controlled Mecatol Rex the entire strategy phase and action phase of this round."
AbsoluteZero
 
Posts: 842
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 3:46 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby 2Kid » March 13th, 2012, 7:53 pm

Nekro choose Assembly. Mentak is next.
2Kid
 
Posts: 215
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Aweberman » March 13th, 2012, 9:08 pm

So much for hoping I could claim that one right off, eh? :)

Place the Bonus counter in Command, please.
Naalu - Zero-1 PBF
Aweberman
 
Posts: 156
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:17 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby 2Kid » March 13th, 2012, 9:36 pm

How many turns did I control Mecatol for? :cry:
2Kid
 
Posts: 215
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Shifi » March 13th, 2012, 10:55 pm

So can one even claim that PO by popping Bureau? I would think not, since it would not have been the whole action action phase at that point.

Mentak chose Warfare. Put Bonus to TG. We have a play at the end of Strat Phase, so asking Naalu to hold off.

Arborec to play AC (and anyone else for that matter).
Shifi
 
Posts: 127
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:02 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Not2good » March 14th, 2012, 12:03 am

Arborec play AC command summit. If it resolves, 2 more cc in command.

CC 2/6/6 TAP 2/6/4
Not2good
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 5:15 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Shifi » March 14th, 2012, 3:39 am

Mentak use Daffren to swap DIplo with Arborec.

If nothing else, Naalu to start Action Phase.
Shifi
 
Posts: 127
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:02 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby 2Kid » March 14th, 2012, 4:53 am

Does Mentak retain the bonus cc from Warfare when he uses Daffrens ability?
2Kid
 
Posts: 215
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 2:19 pm

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Aweberman » March 14th, 2012, 10:35 am

2Kid wrote:Does Mentak retain the bonus cc from Warfare when he uses Daffrens ability?

The rules use the term "immediately" when describing the timing of converting Bonus counters into CC/TG, and the only exception that the FAQ proposes to this is when Strategic Flexibility AC is used.

So my vote would be for Mentak to keep the CC.

Side note: No Production, no Trade, no Technology. How interesting...

----------

Naalu Tactical Action:

Activate Rigel I/Rigel II/Rigel III.
Move 1 Carrier (with Admiral, 5 Fighters, and 1 Ground Force from Maaluuk) from Maaluuk/Druaa into system.
Move 2 Cruisers (with 2 Ground Forces) from Quann into system.
Fire 2 PDS.
Petition Mentak not to fire PDS. ( :lol: No, sorry... It just struck me as funny.)
No AC to play.
Loss order for ships: Fighters, Carrier, Cruisers.

2.6.2 0tg 6ac 3pc

NAALU
Naalu - Zero-1 PBF
Aweberman
 
Posts: 156
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:17 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Not2good » March 14th, 2012, 1:02 pm

2Kid wrote:Does Mentak retain the bonus cc from Warfare when he uses Daffrens ability?


I do not think he should. The Bonus counter rules predate the swapping of action card effects (Daffren and Hacan racial tech). Without direction otherwise, I would think that the bonus counter would stay with the card, much like the strategic flexibility decision in the FAQ.
Not2good
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 5:15 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Aweberman » March 14th, 2012, 2:11 pm

I would like to amend my above action. Take 4 Fighters and 2 Ground Forces instead of 5 and 1. Both GF from Maaluuk.
Naalu - Zero-1 PBF
Aweberman
 
Posts: 156
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:17 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Shifi » March 14th, 2012, 6:05 pm

I would think I get the Bonus Counter converted immediately, as mentioned above. And as you say, the bonus counter rules do predate swapping, which means old rules should stay in effect until otherwise stated. Anyways, this is how I decided on my choice. If the GM rules otherwise, I might have chosen differently.
Shifi
 
Posts: 127
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 4:02 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby Not2good » March 14th, 2012, 8:11 pm

The argument that the bonus counters are converted immediately does not fit with the FAQ ruling about strategic flexiblity. If that were the case, the counters would have converted when the card was originally chosen, and the FAQ for that specific AC implies otherwise. I would think the same logic would apply to SC swapping. IMO, the intent of bonus counters is to act as an incentive to pick less usable cards. Daffren and the Hacan SC swapping techs need no such incentive.

Just another one of the rule vagaries that create a whole new minigame of 'rules argueing'.
Not2good
 
Posts: 125
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 5:15 am

Re: Zero-1 PBF

Postby AbsoluteZero » March 15th, 2012, 7:25 am

Not2good wrote:Just another one of the rule vagaries that create a whole new minigame of 'rules argueing'.

That made me smile.

I'm going to rule that the bonus counter is removed before the merc swap. Reasoning being the explicit use of immediately in the base game rule book. I consider the FAQ concerning a specific AC to be the exception to the rule.

I actually have a problem with the FAQ concerning this topic. What if someone takes Bureaucracy with bonus counters on it, reveals an objective or two, and then plays that AC to put it back? Do you then take away those objectives you just flipped? Or is this a way to get very deep into the deck very quickly? (granted the odds are not high of this happening, but I've been wondering about it.)
AbsoluteZero
 
Posts: 842
Joined: September 5th, 2011, 3:46 am

PreviousNext

Return to Games in Progress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests