Page 1 of 1

Dice

PostPosted: March 15th, 2019, 7:52 pm
by Edo1952
Hello,
In the current Vassal build is there a way to have the # of dice to be rolled entered manually?

Case by case combat calculation require a certain number of dice to be rolled
depending on adding single or multiple attackers-defenders whose strength/elan # decides
how many dice to use.

Thanks

Re: Dice

PostPosted: March 16th, 2019, 12:11 am
by tar
Yes, you can do that.

Take a look at the "Dice Button" section in http://www.vassalengine.org/mediawiki/images/b/b0/Vassal_3.1_designerguide.pdf and in particular "Prompt for Values when Button Clicked".

It would probably also be a convenience if you had a few fixed number of dice buttons for the common cases like 1,2,3,4 and then another button that would pop up a dialog. That should speed up play for the more common cases.

Re: Dice

PostPosted: March 18th, 2019, 8:37 pm
by Edo1952
Thanks Tar, very useful information.