Create account / Log in

VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby uckelman » June 22nd, 2020, 5:59 pm

VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

The VASSAL Team is happy to announce the release of VASSAL 3.3.1.


IMPORTANT

* Things may be broken which worked in 3.2.17. If you find a bug introduced since 3.2.17, please report it.

* If you save a module in VASSAL 3.3, you will NOT be able to open it afterwards with VASSAL 3.2. We recommend keeping a backup copy of any pre-3.3 modules you plan to modify in 3.3 until you've verified that everything works to your satisfaction.

* Some modules containing custom drawing code may render incorrectly on HiDPI displays. If you are the maintainer of such a module, let us know and we can advise you about what needs updating for 3.3 in your code. (We are aware already that VASL has this problem and are working with its maintainers to update it.)

Download

Linux
Mac OS X
Windows
Other

Changes since 3.3.0

* 13111: IncompatibleClassChangeError due to change of ComponentSplitter methods to static
* 13083: BrowserSupport cannot open URLs on Linux without gtk3

For changes prior to this release, see the change log.

Minimum Requirements

VASSAL 3.3 requires Java 11 or later.

The Windows and Mac packages have an appropriate version of Java bundled with them, so there is no need to install Java separately on those operating systems.

Help us test

Should you find any problems/oddities/bugs, please tell us so that we can
fix them for a future release of VASSAL.

Report bugs here in the Technical Support & Bugs category at the VASSAL forums or by email to bugs@vassalengine.org.


Cheers,

The VASSAL Team
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8978
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby slimy » June 22nd, 2020, 6:14 pm

Thanks Joel. I will be testing this prior to uploading Westphalia 0.3.
slimy
 
Posts: 165
Joined: March 27th, 2020, 9:03 am

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby buchholz6 » June 27th, 2020, 6:10 pm

Mt Vassal 3,2,17 says there is a newer version but when you say yes to "download it it takes you to page with 3.2.17 as the latest module.
Tales me here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/vassalengine/files/

Not sure what's up with that.
I think this is no longer "beta" correct?
buchholz6
 
Posts: 6
Joined: April 6th, 2019, 3:27 am

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby uckelman » June 27th, 2020, 7:21 pm

Thus spake buchholz6:
> Mt Vassal 3,2,17 says there is a newer version but when you say yes to
> "download it it takes you to page with 3.2.17 as the latest module.
> Tales me here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/vassalengine/files/
>
> Not sure what's up with that.
> I think this is no longer "beta" correct?

We missed updating the download URL in the version checker when we
released 3.3.0. I've updated it in our development version, so the
version checker will show the correct URL in 3.3.2.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8978
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby fcolmenarez » July 4th, 2020, 2:04 pm

So VASSAL 3.3.1 in Windows runs the JRE bundled with it? Where do we need to put swing.properties to reset the Swing Look And Feel of the system?
User avatar
fcolmenarez
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 3:59 pm

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby uckelman » July 4th, 2020, 2:30 pm

Thus spake fcolmenarez:
> So VASSAL 3.3.1 in Windows runs the JRE bundled with it? Where do we
> need to put swing.properties to reset the Swing Look And Feel of the
> system?

Where were you putting it with 3.2.17?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8978
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby Flint1b » July 4th, 2020, 2:39 pm

https://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial ... properties the question is, where is the \lib directory of the bundled JRE.
User avatar
Flint1b
 
Posts: 461
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 12:27 am
Location: Colonia Agrippina

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby fcolmenarez » July 4th, 2020, 7:14 pm

In the lib directly under the JAVA_HOME location. But since 3.3.1 runs under its own Java distribution I tried putting it in the jre/lib folder within VASSAL-3.3.1, but it doesn't seem to pick it up.
User avatar
fcolmenarez
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 3:59 pm

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby Cattlesquat » July 4th, 2020, 7:42 pm

Try putting in a lib folder directly under where Vassal 3.3.1 launches from?
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 941
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby Flint1b » July 4th, 2020, 8:07 pm

fcolmenarez wrote:In the lib directly under the JAVA_HOME location. But since 3.3.1 runs under its own Java distribution I tried putting it in the jre/lib folder within VASSAL-3.3.1, but it doesn't seem to pick it up.


If you're that good with Java, just start Vassal with your own JVM. The bundled JVM is only really there for people that don't know how to properly install Java. If you use your custom JVM you can select any version above 11, can use optimized JVMs like Graal.
User avatar
Flint1b
 
Posts: 461
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 12:27 am
Location: Colonia Agrippina

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby fcolmenarez » July 6th, 2020, 2:39 am

Flint1b wrote:If you're that good with Java, just start Vassal with your own JVM. The bundled JVM is only really there for people that don't know how to properly install Java. If you use your custom JVM you can select any version above 11, can use optimized JVMs like Graal.

Quite Correct. I downloaded the JDK 14 (Since I was messing with the source code yesterday). I built a batch file to run the Jar and provide the option to the VM. I'm concluding that this is an option that's not available to the JRE and only the JDK.
User avatar
fcolmenarez
 
Posts: 20
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 3:59 pm

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby Flint1b » July 6th, 2020, 10:31 am

fcolmenarez wrote:Quite Correct. I downloaded the JDK 14 (Since I was messing with the source code yesterday). I built a batch file to run the Jar and provide the option to the VM. I'm concluding that this is an option that's not available to the JRE and only the JDK.


There is no more JRE really, in the newer versions it's only the JDK which has always included a JRE, the "java.exe" binary in the bin/ directory to be more exact. What is bundled with Vassal is a new way of packaging the JDK with a given Java product, there are tools that detect which parts of the JDK the product uses and strip down the JDK to only these parts. This is still quite new and there is not much experience with how this bundled and stripped down version of the JDK behaves exactly. As we see from your example it doesn't allow to change the LAF for some reason.
User avatar
Flint1b
 
Posts: 461
Joined: May 19th, 2020, 12:27 am
Location: Colonia Agrippina

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby cgmclellan » July 9th, 2020, 12:13 am

I am sorry if this is a dumb question, but consider the source.

I have a 32 bit Windows. When trying to load a module, I received a notice that I needed to upgrade VASSAL to 3.3.1. When I tried to do that, I was told I needed to first upgrade to Java 11. When I tried to do that, I was told that Java 11 was incompatible with 32 bit windows and notify the software source. I am guessing that is the VASSAL folks.

So, is there anyway to get VASSAL 3.3.1 to work on this computer?

I am not a computer literate so if there is a way to do it, I will need details.

If I am at the wrong place to make this request for help, please direct me to the proper location. Thanks cgm
cgmclellan
 
Posts: 55
Joined: July 20th, 2010, 10:26 pm

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby uckelman » July 9th, 2020, 12:25 am

Thus spake cgmclellan:
> I am sorry if this is a dumb question, but consider the source.
>
> I have a 32 bit Windows. When trying to load a module, I received a
> notice that I needed to upgrade VASSAL to 3.3.1. When I tried to do
> that, I was told I needed to first upgrade to Java 11. When I tried to
> do that, I was told that Java 11 was incompatible with 32 bit windows
> and notify the software source. I am guessing that is the VASSAL folks.
>
> So, is there anyway to get VASSAL 3.3.1 to work on this computer?

We dropped 32-bit Windows support for the Windows installer with 3.3.0
because none of the major Java packagers (save one) still produce 32-bit
Windows Java builds.

However, you can still get Java 14 for 32-bit Windows here:

https://adoptopenjdk.net/releases.html? ... nt=hotspot

Select "Windows" as the operating system and "x86" as the architecture.
Download one of the two JRE options, either the .msi (which probably has an
installer?) or the .zip. Install one of those.

Then download the "other" build of VASSAL 3.3.1:

https://github.com/vassalengine/vassal/ ... -other.zip

Unzip that where you want it. It contains VASSAL.bat, which is a batch file
you can run to start VASSAL.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8978
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.3.1 Released

Postby Cattlesquat » July 10th, 2020, 3:54 pm

@cgmclellan and/or anyone else with 32 Bit Windows--

Could you please try the below on 32 bit windows for us?

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/t ... ows-32.exe

Please try it on 32-bit Windows. Does it run and install VASSAL? Does VASSAL run after you've installed it?
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 941
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests