Create account / Log in

trouble importing map from ADC gameset

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

trouble importing map from ADC gameset

Postby pmiranda » December 30th, 2008, 10:36 am

I'm trying to import the Lobositz gameset:

http://67.155.107.229/COA/Lobositz.exe

When I select any of the .OPS files, VASSAL does import the counters, but apparently not the map (i.e. in the module window there is a "pieces" button, but no "map" button).
However, when I choose to create a new game, then the map DOES show up!?

Any help much appreciated.
pmiranda
 
Posts: 20
Joined: December 30th, 2008, 9:59 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

trouble importing map from ADC gameset

Postby uckelman » January 4th, 2009, 3:23 pm

Thus spake "pmiranda":
I'm trying to import the Lobositz gameset:

http://67.155.107.229/COA/Lobositz.exe

When I select any of the .OPS files, VASSAL does import the counters, but app
arently not the map (i.e. in the module window there is a "pieces" button, bu
t no "map" button).
However, when I choose to create a new game, then the map DOES show up!?

Any help much appreciated.


What you're seeing is not a bug. Maps are generally not visible before you
start a game.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Postby pmiranda » January 4th, 2009, 4:37 pm

Thanks for the info. Does that mean it's impossible to edit the game map, then?

Another question: where can I find documentation about the features of VASSAL editor?
pmiranda
 
Posts: 20
Joined: December 30th, 2008, 9:59 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

trouble importing map from ADC gameset

Postby uckelman » January 4th, 2009, 5:20 pm

Thus spake "pmiranda":
Thanks for the info. Does that mean it's impossible to edit the game map, the
n?

The game map is an image. You can edit the image with your preferred image
editor. (I'd recommend cropping away the huge, useless empty space at the
bottom.) The VASSAL module file produced when you save the imported module
in the Editor is a ZIP archive, so if you unzip it you'll find the map image
in the archive's images/ directory.

Another question: where can I find documentation about the features of VASSAL
editor?

If you look under Help > Help, there's a link in the resulting page to
the Reference Manual. It's rather thin at present, and in many places is
out-of-date. One of our projects which will commence after VASSAL 3.1 is
released is to improve our documentation.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

trouble importing map from ADC gameset

Postby mkiefte » January 4th, 2009, 6:07 pm

The map is just an image. Unlike ADC, VASSAL does not allow you to
create maps hex by hex. You normally have to scan your map or create
it in a graphics program. The importer has to draw the ADC map for
you and convert it to an image. You can edit the image in a graphics
editor if you open up the module (it's a ZIP-file) and extract the map
(the map file's name is similar to that of the original .MAP file, but
with a PNG extension instead).

- M

On 04/01/2009, pmiranda <messages@forums.vassalengine.org> wrote:
Thanks for the info. Does that mean it's impossible to edit the game map,
then?

Another question: where can I find documentation about the features of
VASSAL editor?







_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org



--
Michael Kiefte, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
School of Human Communication Disorders
Dalhousie University
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
tel: +1 902 494 5150
fax: +1 902 494 5151

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Postby pmiranda » January 4th, 2009, 7:53 pm

Thanks a lot for the info. I'm looking forward to see the new documentation, I think it may boost module creation, which is a bit intimidating right now.
pmiranda
 
Posts: 20
Joined: December 30th, 2008, 9:59 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

trouble importing map from ADC gameset

Postby uckelman » January 4th, 2009, 8:19 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
The map is just an image. Unlike ADC, VASSAL does not allow you to
create maps hex by hex. You normally have to scan your map or create
it in a graphics program. The importer has to draw the ADC map for
you and convert it to an image. You can edit the image in a graphics
editor if you open up the module (it's a ZIP-file) and extract the map
(the map file's name is similar to that of the original .MAP file, but
with a PNG extension instead).

- M

I suspect that in this case, the map in the ADC module was an image also.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest