Create account / Log in

Can´t run vassal

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Can´t run vassal

Postby sincrobuster » March 23rd, 2009, 11:40 am

I´m really frustrated. I can´t run vassal since two months ago, and don´t know what caused the problem. I´ve tried everything I´m able: uninstall and reinstall java, actualize vassal version to 3.1.2, etc.

I have Vista-64 and have been using vassal without any problem until this rare incident occur.

I suspect some kind of problem with windows registry (or library?), but can´t detect the real problem as I´m a newbie user.

Let´s see if you can help me someway, or I´ll have to call, and pay, a software assistant :-).

The Vassal "error log" is this:

1237805495820 1671650282 -- Starting
1237805495820 1671650282 -- OS Windows Vista
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Java version 1.6.0_12
1237805495820 1671650282 -- VASSAL version 3.1.2
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Manager

Java´s extracted "bug report", without the process, is the following:

An unexpected error has been detected by Java Runtime Environment:
#
# EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x692a8f50, pid=5912, tid=5296
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (11.2-b01 mixed mode, sharing windows-x86)
# Problematic frame:
# C [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]

--------------- T H R E A D ---------------
Current thread (0x04c2ec00): JavaThread "AWT-Windows" daemon [_thread_in_native, id=5296, stack(0x04f30000,0x04f80000)]
siginfo: ExceptionCode=0xc0000005, reading address 0x0000000a
Registers:
EAX=0x00000000, EBX=0x0723d718, ECX=0x06f75b58, EDX=0x06f70c54
ESP=0x04f7eee0, EBP=0x06f70c20, ESI=0x00000006, EDI=0x00000038
EIP=0x692a8f50, EFLAGS=0x00010206
Top of Stack: (sp=0x04f7eee0)
0x04f7eee0: 00000000 00000000 0723723c 07238a78
0x04f7eef0: 051ffb40 000000c0 00000007 06f75b58
0x04f7ef00: 00000004 00000002 00000040 06f70c54
0x04f7ef10: 00000000 06f70c20 06f73b40 00000000
0x04f7ef20: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000008
0x04f7ef30: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef40: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef50: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Instructions: (pc=0x692a8f50)
0x692a8f40: 84 2b ff ff ff 8b 54 24 2c 8b 32 85 f6 74 3e 90
0x692a8f50: 8b 46 04 8b 93 20 04 00 00 8b 36 8b c8 81 e1 ff

Stack: [0x04f30000,0x04f80000], sp=0x04f7eee0, free space=315k
Native frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code, C=native code)
C [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]
Java frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code)
j sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.eventLoop()V+0
j sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.run()V+69
j java.lang.Thread.run()V+11
v ~StubRoutines::call_stub

Thanks in advance,
Luis

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
sincrobuster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 23rd, 2009, 11:05 am

Can´t run vassal

Postby uckelman » March 23rd, 2009, 11:57 am

Thus spake luisincro:
I´m really frustrated. I can´t run vassal since two months ago,
and don´t know what caused the problem. I´ve tried everything I´m able:
uninstall and reinstall java, actualize vassal version to 3.1.2, etc.

I have Vista-64 and have been using vassal without any problem until
this rare incident occur.

I suspect some kind of problem with windows registry (or library?), but
can´t detect the real problem as I´m a newbie user.

Let´s see if you can help me someway, or I´ll have to call, and pay,
a software assistant :-).

The Vassal "error log" is this:

1237805495820 1671650282 -- Starting
1237805495820 1671650282 -- OS Windows Vista
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Java version 1.6.0_12
1237805495820 1671650282 -- VASSAL version 3.1.2
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Manager

Java´s extracted "bug report", without the process, is the following:

An unexpected error has been detected by Java Runtime Environment:
#
# EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x692a8f50, pid=5912,
tid=5296
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (11.2-b01 mixed mode, sharing
windows-x86)
# Problematic frame:
# C [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]
--------------- T H R E A D ---------------
Current thread (0x04c2ec00): JavaThread "AWT-Windows" daemon
[_thread_in_native, id=5296, stack(0x04f30000,0x04f80000)]
siginfo: ExceptionCode=0xc0000005, reading address 0x0000000a
Registers:
EAX=0x00000000, EBX=0x0723d718, ECX=0x06f75b58, EDX=0x06f70c54
ESP=0x04f7eee0, EBP=0x06f70c20, ESI=0x00000006, EDI=0x00000038
EIP=0x692a8f50, EFLAGS=0x00010206
Top of Stack: (sp=0x04f7eee0)
0x04f7eee0: 00000000 00000000 0723723c 07238a78
0x04f7eef0: 051ffb40 000000c0 00000007 06f75b58
0x04f7ef00: 00000004 00000002 00000040 06f70c54
0x04f7ef10: 00000000 06f70c20 06f73b40 00000000
0x04f7ef20: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000008
0x04f7ef30: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef40: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef50: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Instructions: (pc=0x692a8f50)
0x692a8f40: 84 2b ff ff ff 8b 54 24 2c 8b 32 85 f6 74 3e 90
0x692a8f50: 8b 46 04 8b 93 20 04 00 00 8b 36 8b c8 81 e1 ff
Stack: [0x04f30000,0x04f80000], sp=0x04f7eee0, free space=315k
Native frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code,
C=native code)
C [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]
Java frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code)
j sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.eventLoop()V+0
j sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.run()V+69
j java.lang.Thread.run()V+11
v ~StubRoutines::call_stub

Thanks in advance,
Luis

One thing I can tell you for certain is that this is not a bug in VASSAL;
what you're seeing is a JVM crash.

The native code where the crash is occurring is atiumdag.dll, which I
suspect has something to do with your video driver. Do you have an ATI
video card? Are your drivers current?


--
J.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Can´t run vassal

Postby mkiefte » March 23rd, 2009, 11:58 am

It would appear that there's something wrong with your video driver. Have you upgraded anything recently?

I don't really know how to solve your problem, but the library in question is that of your ATI video card.  It's known that Java doesn't always play nice with accelerated video. 

There may be associated problems discussed here:

http://www.vassalengine.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1748

and here

http://www.vassalengine.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1789

Anyone else?

- M.


2009/3/23 luisincro <sincrobuster@yahoo.es (sincrobuster@yahoo.es)>
I´m really frustrated. I can´t run vassal since two months ago, and don´t know what caused the problem. I´ve tried everything I´m able: uninstall and reinstall java, actualize vassal version to 3.1.2, etc.
 
I have Vista-64 and have been using vassal without any problem until this rare incident occur.
 
I suspect some kind of problem with windows registry (or library?), but can´t detect the real problem as I´m a newbie user.
 
Let´s see if you can help me someway, or I´ll have to call, and pay, a software assistant :-).
 
The Vassal "error log" is this:
 
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Starting
1237805495820 1671650282 -- OS Windows Vista
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Java version 1.6.0_12
1237805495820 1671650282 -- VASSAL version 3.1.2
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Manager
 
Java´s extracted "bug report", without the process, is the following:
 
An unexpected error has been detected by Java Runtime Environment:
#
#  EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x692a8f50, pid=5912, tid=5296
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (11.2-b01 mixed mode, sharing windows-x86)
# Problematic frame:
# C  [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]

---------------  T H R E A D  ---------------
Current thread (0x04c2ec00):  JavaThread "AWT-Windows" daemon [_thread_in_native, id=5296, stack(0x04f30000,0x04f80000)]
siginfo: ExceptionCode=0xc0000005, reading address 0x0000000a
Registers:
EAX=0x00000000, EBX=0x0723d718, ECX=0x06f75b58, EDX=0x06f70c54
ESP=0x04f7eee0, EBP=0x06f70c20, ESI=0x00000006, EDI=0x00000038
EIP=0x692a8f50, EFLAGS=0x00010206
Top of Stack: (sp=0x04f7eee0)
0x04f7eee0:   00000000 00000000 0723723c 07238a78
0x04f7eef0:   051ffb40 000000c0 00000007 06f75b58
0x04f7ef00:   00000004 00000002 00000040 06f70c54
0x04f7ef10:   00000000 06f70c20 06f73b40 00000000
0x04f7ef20:   00000000 00000000 00000000 00000008
0x04f7ef30:   00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef40:   00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef50:   00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Instructions: (pc=0x692a8f50)
0x692a8f40:   84 2b ff ff ff 8b 54 24 2c 8b 32 85 f6 74 3e 90
0x692a8f50:   8b 46 04 8b 93 20 04 00 00 8b 36 8b c8 81 e1 ff

Stack: [0x04f30000,0x04f80000],  sp=0x04f7eee0,  free space=315k
Native frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code, C=native code)
C  [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]
Java frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code)
j  sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.eventLoop()V+0
j  sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.run()V+69
j  java.lang.Thread.run()V+11
v  ~StubRoutines::call_stub
 
Thanks in advance,
Luis



Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Can´t run vassal

Postby sincrobuster » March 23rd, 2009, 1:02 pm

Thanks Michael:
I don´t think there´s something intrinsically wrong with my ATI video card. I´ve never upgraded it since its installation (nor changed any configuration).

The strange thing is that I´ve been using vassal without any problem during almost 1 year, with this same system and Vcard configuration.

May be a sudden disfunction of Direct X?. Or a problem with JRE?.
What makes me think so, is reading the following lines on Java´s report:

Dynamic libraries:
0x00400000 - 0x00424000 C:Program FilesJavajre6launch4j-tmpVASSAL.exe
0x776c0000 - 0x777e7000 C:Windowssystem32ntdll.dll
0x767f0000 - 0x768cb000 C:Windowssystem32kernel32.dll
(...)

Seems like there´s something wrong in JRE, or with dll.files?.

Luis

--- El lun, 23/3/09, Michael Kiefte <mkiefte@dal.ca> escribió:

De: Michael Kiefte <mkiefte@dal.ca>
Asunto: Re: Can´t run vassal
Para: "VASSAL Engine Forums Mailing List" <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
Fecha: lunes, 23 marzo, 2009 12:58

It would appear that there's something wrong with your video driver. Have you upgraded anything recently?

I don't really know how to solve your problem, but the library in question is that of your ATI video card. It's known that Java doesn't always play nice with accelerated video.

There may be associated problems discussed here:

http://www.vassalengine.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1748

and here

http://www.vassalengine.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1789

Anyone else?

- M.


2009/3/23 luisincro <sincrobuster@yahoo.es (sincrobuster@yahoo.es)>
I´m really frustrated. I can´t run vassal since two months ago, and don´t know what caused the problem. I´ve tried everything I´m able: uninstall and reinstall java, actualize vassal version to 3.1.2, etc.

I have Vista-64 and have been using vassal without any problem until this rare incident occur.

I suspect some kind of problem with windows registry (or library?), but can´t detect the real problem as I´m a newbie user.

Let´s see if you can help me someway, or I´ll have to call, and pay, a software assistant :-).

The Vassal "error log" is this:

1237805495820 1671650282 -- Starting
1237805495820 1671650282 -- OS Windows Vista
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Java version 1.6.0_12
1237805495820 1671650282 -- VASSAL version 3.1.2
1237805495820 1671650282 -- Manager

Java´s extracted "bug report", without the process, is the following:

An unexpected error has been detected by Java Runtime Environment:
#
# EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xc0000005) at pc=0x692a8f50, pid=5912, tid=5296
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (11.2-b01 mixed mode, sharing windows-x86)
# Problematic frame:
# C [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]

--------------- T H R E A D ---------------
Current thread (0x04c2ec00): JavaThread "AWT-Windows" daemon [_thread_in_native, id=5296, stack(0x04f30000,0x04f80000)]
siginfo: ExceptionCode=0xc0000005, reading address 0x0000000a
Registers:
EAX=0x00000000, EBX=0x0723d718, ECX=0x06f75b58, EDX=0x06f70c54
ESP=0x04f7eee0, EBP=0x06f70c20, ESI=0x00000006, EDI=0x00000038
EIP=0x692a8f50, EFLAGS=0x00010206
Top of Stack: (sp=0x04f7eee0)
0x04f7eee0: 00000000 00000000 0723723c 07238a78
0x04f7eef0: 051ffb40 000000c0 00000007 06f75b58
0x04f7ef00: 00000004 00000002 00000040 06f70c54
0x04f7ef10: 00000000 06f70c20 06f73b40 00000000
0x04f7ef20: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000008
0x04f7ef30: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef40: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
0x04f7ef50: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Instructions: (pc=0x692a8f50)
0x692a8f40: 84 2b ff ff ff 8b 54 24 2c 8b 32 85 f6 74 3e 90
0x692a8f50: 8b 46 04 8b 93 20 04 00 00 8b 36 8b c8 81 e1 ff

Stack: [0x04f30000,0x04f80000], sp=0x04f7eee0, free space=315k
Native frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code, C=native code)
C [atiumdag.dll+0x78f50]
Java frames: (J=compiled Java code, j=interpreted, Vv=VM code)
j sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.eventLoop()V+0
j sun.awt.windows.WToolkit.run()V+69
j java.lang.Thread.run()V+11
v ~StubRoutines::call_stub

Thanks in advance,
Luis





-----Adjunto en línea a continuación-----

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org (Messages@forums.vassalengine.org)
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages_forums.vassalengine.org



Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
sincrobuster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 23rd, 2009, 11:05 am

Can´t run vassal

Postby uckelman » March 23rd, 2009, 1:25 pm

Thus spake luisincro:
Thanks Michael:
I don´t think there´s something intrinsically wrong with my ATI video
card. I´ve never upgraded it since its installation (nor changed any
configuration).

I'm not saying that there's anything wrong with the card. If you've never
updated your video drivers, then this is very likely to be part of the
problem.

When exactly does the crash happen for you? Are you able to load a module
and get to the Preferences dialog before it happens? If so, then you should
try turning off D3D in the preferences. If not, let me know and I'll make
a build for you to test which has D3D off by default.

The strange thing is that I´ve been using vassal without any problem
during almost 1 year, with this same system and Vcard configuration.

This is not strange if you updated Java recently. Java 1.6.0_11 has
Direct3D enabled by default, which is probably contributing to your problem.

--
J.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Can´t run vassal

Postby mkiefte » March 23rd, 2009, 1:37 pm

2009/3/23 luisincro <sincrobuster@yahoo.es (sincrobuster@yahoo.es)>
Thanks Michael:
I don´t think there´s something intrinsically wrong with my ATI video card. I´ve never upgraded it since its installation (nor changed any configuration).

Windows has a habit of installing things without you really knowing.  Just about anything could have happened.
 
 
The strange thing is that I´ve been using vassal without any problem during almost 1 year, with this same system and Vcard configuration.
 
May be a sudden disfunction of Direct X?. Or a problem with JRE?.
What makes me think so, is reading the following lines on Java´s report:

Combination of all of the above, really. Or rather, they're not playing well together.

Perhaps someone can suggest how to disable D3D entirely within Java?

One thing we should do in the future is have a human-readable Preferences file.  I want to be able to suggest editing it by hand, but that's not going to happen presently.  How can we get around this before a module is loaded?

- M.

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Can´t run vassal

Postby Tim M » March 23rd, 2009, 2:00 pm

when you start a module, the default loading is with a module wizard, until you turn it off. This would be the best place for a user to step through the wizard setting all their preferences / overriding the suggested defaults before the module actually launches


From: Michael Kiefte <mkiefte@dal.ca>
To: VASSAL Engine Forums Mailing List <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
Sent: Monday, March 23, 2009 8:37:29 AM
Subject: Re: Can´t run vassal

2009/3/23 luisincro <sincrobuster@yahoo.es (sincrobuster@yahoo.es)>
Thanks Michael:
I don´t think there´s something intrinsically wrong with my ATI video card. I´ve never upgraded it since its installation (nor changed any configuration).

Windows has a habit of installing things without you really knowing. Just about anything could have happened.


The strange thing is that I´ve been using vassal without any problem during almost 1 year, with this same system and Vcard configuration.

May be a sudden disfunction of Direct X?. Or a problem with JRE?.
What makes me think so, is reading the following lines on Java´s report:

Combination of all of the above, really. Or rather, they're not playing well together.

Perhaps someone can suggest how to disable D3D entirely within Java?

One thing we should do in the future is have a human-readable Preferences file. I want to be able to suggest editing it by hand, but that's not going to happen presently. How can we get around this before a module is loaded?

- M.

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Can´t run vassal

Postby uckelman » March 23rd, 2009, 2:08 pm

Thus spake Michael Kiefte:
Perhaps someone can suggest how to disable D3D entirely within Java?


It will be simpler for me to do a build which has D3D disabled by default,
as I think we'll want that for 3.1.3 anyway. I hope that Sun is doing
something about all of the problems with D3D support so that we subsequent
updates of Java 6 are better than 11 and 12.

One thing we should do in the future is have a human-readable Preferences
file.

I support this fully. However, it also makes me want to scream, because the
reason we have a non-functional trunk right now is due to the work I did
in factoring read-write access for ZIP files out of ArchiveWriter---and part
of the reason for that was to get the code for reading and writing
Preferences to stop depending on ArchiveWriter! ARGH!

I want to be able to suggest editing it by hand, but that's not goin=
g
to happen presently. How can we get around this before a module is loaded?

See above. I'll make a D3D-disabled build tonight which we can test.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Can´t run vassal

Postby uckelman » March 23rd, 2009, 2:33 pm

Thus spake Timothy Mccarron:
when you start a module, the default loading is with a module wizard,
until you turn it off. This would be the best place for a user to step
through the wizard setting all their preferences / overriding the
suggested defaults before the module actually launches

That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicion
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.


--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Can´t run vassal

Postby sincrobuster » March 23rd, 2009, 4:34 pm

<<<That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicion
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.>>>.

That´s


--- El lun, 23/3/09, Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net> escribió:

De: Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net>
Asunto: Re: Re: Can´t run vassal
Para: "VASSAL Engine Forums Mailing List" <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
Fecha: lunes, 23 marzo, 2009 3:33

Thus spake Timothy Mccarron:
when you start a module, the default loading is with a module wizard,
until you turn it off. This would be the best place for a user to step
through the wizard setting all their preferences / overriding the
suggested defaults before the module actually launches

That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicion
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.


--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org (Messages@forums.vassalengine.org)
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages_forums.vassalengine.org



Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
sincrobuster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 23rd, 2009, 11:05 am

Can´t run vassal

Postby uckelman » March 23rd, 2009, 4:39 pm

Thus spake luisincro:
<<<That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicio=
n
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.>>>=
.

That's


I think you were cut off mid-sentence...

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Can´t run vassal

Postby sincrobuster » March 23rd, 2009, 4:41 pm

That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicion
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.>>>

That´s exactly what happens. Vassal crashes even before opening the first main frame. No option to select configuration inside the program.


--- El lun, 23/3/09, Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net> escribió:

De: Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net>
Asunto: Re: Re: Can´t run vassal
Para: "VASSAL Engine Forums Mailing List" <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
Fecha: lunes, 23 marzo, 2009 3:33

Thus spake Timothy Mccarron:
when you start a module, the default loading is with a module wizard,
until you turn it off. This would be the best place for a user to step
through the wizard setting all their preferences / overriding the
suggested defaults before the module actually launches

That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicion
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.


--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org (Messages@forums.vassalengine.org)
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages_forums.vassalengine.org



Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
sincrobuster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 23rd, 2009, 11:05 am

Can´t run vassal

Postby uckelman » March 23rd, 2009, 4:43 pm

Thus spake luisincro:
That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicion
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.>>>

That's exactly what happens. Vassal crashes even before opening the first=
main frame. No option to select configuration inside the program.


Definitely check whether there are newer drivers for your video card, then.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8373
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Can´t run vassal

Postby sincrobuster » March 23rd, 2009, 4:49 pm

<<Definitely check whether there are newer drivers for your video card, then.>>

Ok, Joel. I´ll check new drivers for my ATI card. Let´s see if this is the damn problem.

Thanks and regards.

--- El lun, 23/3/09, Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net> escribió:

De: Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net>
Asunto: Re: Re: Can´t run vassal
Para: "VASSAL Engine Forums Mailing List" <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
Fecha: lunes, 23 marzo, 2009 5:43

Thus spake luisincro:
That depends on getting to the wizard before VASSAL crashes. My suspicion
is that VASSAL is crashing before he even has a chance to load a module.>>>

That's exactly what happens. Vassal crashes even before opening the first=
main frame. No option to select configuration inside the program.


Definitely check whether there are newer drivers for your video card, then.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org (Messages@forums.vassalengine.org)
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages_forums.vassalengine.org



Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
sincrobuster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 23rd, 2009, 11:05 am

Postby MadSeason » March 25th, 2009, 1:41 am

Not that this has anything to do with what your problem is but just tonight I had a serious problem with my Vassal and it definitely was some kind of video conflict because the screen started having artifacts all over it -- even after Vassal crashed and was gone. Then my computer crashed. I got my computer started again (I had to restore!) and tried to resolve the problem by updating my drivers. That seemed to solve the computer's problem but Vassal would not start. I uninstalled and reinstalled vassal and it still would not start. I clicked on the icon and the clock started to spin (all this is in Vista) but nothing ever happened. I tried this again and same result. I tried updating Java -- it failed to update. In the end, I had to uninstall Java and all the updates I had made to it, then reinstall it fresh. THEN Vassal started working again and all seems fine. Was it Vassal? Video drivers? Or Java?
User avatar
MadSeason
 
Posts: 64
Joined: February 9th, 2008, 2:24 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests