Create account / Log in

What laptop?

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

What laptop?

Postby bookwyrm » April 18th, 2009, 5:50 pm

I travel a bit and bring my solitaire games (B17, Fields of Fire) with me. At home I use vassal to play these. I'm buying a laptop and am computer naive for the most part. What size processor and how much ram should I be looking for to use vassal and modules on a laptop?

Thanks in advance,
Bob Fees
Huh... what???
User avatar
bookwyrm
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 23rd, 2007, 8:04 am
Location: Raub, IN

What laptop?

Postby mkiefte » April 18th, 2009, 11:28 pm

Honestly, whatever laptop you buy today will be fine.  My son just recently bought the cheapest Dell laptop he could find and it's perfectly suitable for VASSAL. 

That being said, anything with 1GB of RAM and any modern processor will do.

- Michael

2009/4/18 bookwyrm <messages@forums.vassalengine.org (messages@forums.vassalengine.org)>
I travel a bit and bring my solitaire games (B17, Fields of Fire) with me.  At home I use vassal to play these.  I'm buying a laptop and am computer naive for the most part.  What size processor and how much ram should I be looking for to use vassal and modules on a laptop?

Thanks in advance,
Bob Fees

------------------------
Huh... what???


Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

What laptop?

Postby uckelman » April 18th, 2009, 11:43 pm

Thus spake Michael Kiefte:
Honestly, whatever laptop you buy today will be fine. My son just recently
bought the cheapest Dell laptop he could find and it's perfectly suitable
for VASSAL.

That being said, anything with 1GB of RAM and any modern processor will do.

- Michael

I have two recommendations, which are not entirely consistent with Michael's:

1. I would not get less than 2GB RAM if you're planning to run modules
with very large maps.

2. VASSAL does many processor-intensive things on background threads,
so is able to take advantage of multi-core processors.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8345
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Postby Silverleaf » April 19th, 2009, 12:59 am

Get an extra battery - in case your stuck somewhere without plug access. A 17" screen will pay off for Vassal/Vasl gaming. Carry a flash drive with you capable of backing up your saves and modules.
Silverleaf
 
Posts: 13
Joined: March 27th, 2009, 6:09 am

What laptop?

Postby uckelman » April 19th, 2009, 10:52 am

Thus spake "Silverleaf":
Get an extra battery - in case your stuck somewhere without plug access. A 17
" screen will pay off for Vassal/Vasl gaming. Carry a flash drive with you ca
pable of backing up your saves and modules.


I would not want 17" laptop for travel. I have a 15" laptop which I travel
with frequenty. I would not want a smaller screen, but in terms of weight,
mine is about at the limit of what I want to lug around. Also, a 17" screen
is going to be taller than a 15" screen, so you might have trouble using in
on airplanes, for example. I've found that on some planes, I have to contort
into an uncomfortable position in order to type when the person in front of
me has their seat reclined. This would be worse with 17" laptop, and probably
better with one with a screen smaller than 15".

(What I have is a Thinkpad T61. I've had several Thinkpads over the years,
and been very happy with all of them.)

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8345
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

What laptop?

Postby tar » April 20th, 2009, 4:10 pm

On Apr 18, 2009, at 10:50 AM, bookwyrm wrote:

I travel a bit and bring my solitaire games (B17, Fields of Fire)
with me. At home I use vassal to play these. I'm buying a laptop
and am computer naive for the most part. What size processor and
how much ram should I be looking for to use vassal and modules on a
laptop?

I would think that a MacBook or MacBook Pro would work well. They now
come with reasonable to great graphics cards and the standard RAM is
2GB, which would be quite sufficient. They are also dual-core
processors.



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 776
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

What laptop?

Postby mkiefte » April 20th, 2009, 4:53 pm

What Joel says is essentially correct.  However, if you did a quick cost-benefit analysis, a cheap new laptop will get you running VASSAL fine. 

I'm not a proponent of Dell (I've been using the same X41 Lenovo tablet for three years), but the following laptop is cheap and will work with VASSAL very well:

http://www1.ca.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/laptop-inspiron-1545?c=ca&l=en&s=dhs&cs=cadhs1&~oid=ca~en~70702~inspnnb_15_en_feat_1~~

Keep in mind, that's Canadian dollars.

- M.

2009/4/18 Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net (uckelman@nomic.net)>
Thus spake Michael Kiefte:
Honestly, whatever laptop you buy today will be fine.  My son just recently
bought the cheapest Dell laptop he could find and it's perfectly suitable
for VASSAL.

That being said, anything with 1GB of RAM and any modern processor will do.

- Michael


I have two recommendations, which are not entirely consistent with Michael's:

1. I would not get less than 2GB RAM if you're planning to run modules
with very large maps.

2. VASSAL does many processor-intensive things on background threads,
so is able to take advantage of multi-core processors.

--
J.


Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

What laptop?

Postby uckelman » April 20th, 2009, 6:05 pm

Thus spake Michael Kiefte:
What Joel says is essentially correct. However, if you did a quick
cost-benefit analysis, a cheap new laptop will get you running VASSAL fine.


I'm not a proponent of Dell (I've been using the same X41 Lenovo tablet for
three years), but the following laptop is cheap and will work with VASSAL
very well:

http://www1.ca.dell.com/content/product ... -inspiron-
1545?c=ca&l=en&s=dhs&cs=cadhs1&~oid=ca~en~70702~inspnnb_15_en_feat_1~~

Keep in mind, that's Canadian dollars.

Those are reasonable specs, except for the screen resolution. I'd be
awfully irritated at having a screen which is only 768 pixels high. Size
a map window to be 1366x768 to get an idea of how much you'll be able to
see at once on this laptop. Maybe you'll find it ok.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8345
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

What laptop?

Postby mkiefte » April 20th, 2009, 10:18 pm

Yes, that might be annoying.  I suspect that it's meant for playing movies?  In any case, it's cheap...  compared to my next laptop.

- M.

2009/4/20 Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net (uckelman@nomic.net)>
Thus spake Michael Kiefte:
What Joel says is essentially correct.  However, if you did a quick
cost-benefit analysis, a cheap new laptop will get you running VASSAL fine.


I'm not a proponent of Dell (I've been using the same X41 Lenovo tablet for
three years), but the following laptop is cheap and will work with VASSAL
very well:

http://www1.ca.dell.com/content/products/productdetails.aspx/laptop-inspiron-
1545?c=ca&l=en&s=dhs&cs=cadhs1&~oid=ca~en~70702~inspnnb_15_en_feat_1~~

Keep in mind, that's Canadian dollars.


Those are reasonable specs, except for the screen resolution. I'd be
awfully irritated at having a screen which is only 768 pixels high. Size
a map window to be 1366x768 to get an idea of how much you'll be able to
see at once on this laptop. Maybe you'll find it ok.


--
J.





Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

What laptop?

Postby uckelman » April 21st, 2009, 7:39 am

Thus spake Michael Kiefte:
Yes, that might be annoying. I suspect that it's meant for playing movies?
In any case, it's cheap... compared to my next laptop.


For comparison, the resolution of my laptop display is 1680x1050, which
I still often wish were taller.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8345
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests