Create account / Log in

Modules for sale?

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Modules for sale?

Postby geozero » January 21st, 2008, 7:03 pm

Can an ORIGINAL game module be sold using the VASSAL system?

Example: I make a brand new Original game of the Gulf War designed under VASSAL, can I sell this module?
User avatar
geozero
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 4:16 am

Modules for sell?

Postby uckelman » January 21st, 2008, 7:33 pm

Thus spake "geozero":
Can an ORIGINAL game module be sold using the VASSAL system?

Example: I make a brand new Original game of the Gulf War designed under VAS
SAL, can I sell this module?


Yes, so long as you have rights to everything you're using in your module.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8138
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Modules for sell?

Postby rk » January 21st, 2008, 10:44 pm

Can an ORIGINAL game module be sold using the VASSAL system?

VASSAL is released under the LGPL software license. This means you can redistribute the code and even repackage it as a commercial product. If, however, you make any modification to the source code, you must make the modified code available under the terms of the LGPL.

rk

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
rk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 536
Joined: October 21st, 2007, 3:31 am

Postby mehrunes » January 22nd, 2008, 6:17 am

I think that was not the question. He didn't spoke of Vassal itself but from relating module files.
Apologize my bad english - I'm not a native speaker. ;)
mehrunes
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 28th, 2007, 1:33 am

Postby Brent Easton » January 22nd, 2008, 9:04 pm

Yes, you can sell Vassal modules IF you own the rights to the game and all of the artwork and materials contained in the module.
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2757
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Postby geozero » January 23rd, 2008, 3:23 am

Brent Easton wrote:Yes, you can sell Vassal modules IF you own the rights to the game and all of the artwork and materials contained in the module.


The VASSAL modules are entirely new games, with new rules systems, original maps by me, etc.

I'm planning on releasing a couple of modules free to the community because I believe that this builds good relationships. However, there are a few new big games that I have developed the OOB's, maps, and rules, but feel that a small stipend would be reasonable IF and WHEN the free modules are completed and accepted in the community as good solid games.

Some modules I've already developed for my own use and testing on ADC2.
User avatar
geozero
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 4:16 am

Modules for sale?

Postby mkiefte » January 23rd, 2008, 1:01 pm

I'm currently working on an import module whereby VASSAL can read in
your ADC2 modules. The module is about 80% complete, but if your
module doesn't use a deck of cards, it should work. With any luck,
you will not have to translate your ADC2 module to VASSAL by hand.

- M.

On 22/01/2008, geozero <messages@forums.vassalengine.org> wrote:
Brent Easton wrote:
Yes, you can sell Vassal modules IF you own the rights to the game and all of the artwork and materials contained in the module.


The VASSAL modules are entirely new games, with new rules systems, original maps by me, etc.

I'm planning on releasing a couple of modules free to the community because I believe that this builds good relationships. However, there are a few new big games that I have developed the OOB's, maps, and rules, but feel that a small stipend would be reasonable IF and WHEN the free modules are comleted and accepted in the community as good solid games.

Some modules I've already developed for my own use and testing on ADC2.







_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Postby geozero » January 24th, 2008, 2:38 am

That would indeed help. Some of my modules in ADC2 did not use imported maps but rather used maps that were designed one hex at a time...way too time consuming. My new modules are being designed from the ground up with new maps created in PS7, new counters, charts, just about everything is neing reworked in one way or another. Still, an ADC2 import of some sort might be really good to have.
User avatar
geozero
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 4:16 am

Modules for sale?

Postby mkiefte » January 24th, 2008, 11:49 am

The import module can handle maps with discrete elements as you are
referring to. In fact the results are in general a lot better than
the ADC2 rendering with respect to hex sides and hex lines as it uses
better antialiasing and the line dashes are done a lot better. This is
not a superior solution to scanned or GIMPed maps. It's a start.

If you like, send me your module. I'll convert it and send it back
(the import code is not in the main branch yet). I'd be interested in
testing a new ADC2 module. Worst-case scenario is that it doesn't
work--but that's good for me because I can hunt down another bug.
Best-case scenario is that I'll send it back right away.

- M.

On 23/01/2008, geozero <messages@forums.vassalengine.org> wrote:
That would indeed help. Some of my modules in ADC2 did not use imported maps but rather used maps that were designed one hex at a time...way too time consuming. My new modules are being designed from the ground up with new maps created in PS7, new counters, charts, just about everything is neing reworked in one way or another. Still, an ADC2 import of some sort might be really good to have.







_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests