Create account / Log in

Help with Screen Capture / Image Quality

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Help with Screen Capture / Image Quality

Postby fatgreta » April 5th, 2010, 12:57 am

Hi,

I'm trying to figure out a way to capture screen shots from vassal games, edit the images and use them for illustrated AARs. When I use the button in the module to capture the map as .png image, that works, but if I want to crop and zoom in on the image, the quality doesn't seem to be very high and I get a lot of pixelation.

If I use Print Screen / Paste, that also works but only captures the entire screen, and there is still some issue with picture quality.

Does anyone have any experience doing this in a way that the image come out nicely?

Thanks for any help,

Chris
fatgreta
 
Posts: 79
Joined: December 28th, 2008, 9:39 pm

Help with Screen Capture / Image Quality

Postby uckelman » April 5th, 2010, 10:32 am

Thus spake "fatgreta":
Hi,



I'm trying to figure out a way to capture screen shots from vassal games, edi
t the images and use them for illustrated AARs. When I use the button in the
module to capture the map as .png image, that works, but if I want to crop an
d zoom in on the image, the quality doesn't seem to be very high and I get a
lot of pixelation.


When you take a screenshot or use VASSAL's capture tool, you're getting a
bitmap image. Upscaling bitmap images will always result in loss of image
quality. The solution is to zoom in to the desired level before capturing
a picture.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8571
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Help with Screen Capture / Image Quality

Postby fatgreta » April 5th, 2010, 11:47 am

uckelman wrote:Thus spake "fatgreta":
Hi,



I'm trying to figure out a way to capture screen shots from vassal games, edi
t the images and use them for illustrated AARs. When I use the button in the
module to capture the map as .png image, that works, but if I want to crop an
d zoom in on the image, the quality doesn't seem to be very high and I get a
lot of pixelation.


When you take a screenshot or use VASSAL's capture tool, you're getting a
bitmap image. Upscaling bitmap images will always result in loss of image
quality. The solution is to zoom in to the desired level before capturing
a picture.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)


OK, thanks!

Chris
fatgreta
 
Posts: 79
Joined: December 28th, 2008, 9:39 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests