Page 1 of 1

Moving from one machine to another : no more able to flip

PostPosted: May 24th, 2010, 10:39 pm
by vfrancois
Hi,

I had a Eurofront II solitaire game on a Mac with Vassal 3.1.14. I migrated everything on a XP PC (Vassal 3.1.14 too) and when I opened the saved game, I was no more able to flip back the counter that are flipped - only the non-flipped counters may be flipped...

I'm pretty sure this is due to the fact that I'm no more recognized as "me" on the PC. But I'm not able to access the old Mac hard disk, is there a way to bypass that security feature?

Thank you.

Maybe resigning, but how?

PostPosted: May 25th, 2010, 2:56 am
by vfrancois
I red in the online FAQ that I should resign from my game in order to retake ownership on it from a new machine, but i can't figure out how.

I'm using the "Eurofront II" module. Is the resigning stuff related to Vassal or to the specific played module?

I tried different password I may have used in the previous Mac, but do I have to quit between each try? To quit the saved game? The loaded module? The Vassal app?

Thank you in advance for any idea, hint, experience to help to recover my soitaire game. Does the German will succed in 1944? I do have to know! ;-)

Moving from one machine to another : no more able to flip

PostPosted: May 25th, 2010, 10:51 am
by mcbeth
On Mon, May 24, 2010 at 07:56:55PM -0700, vfrancois wrote:
I red in the online FAQ that I should resign from my game in order to retake ownership on it from a new machine, but i can't figure out how.

I'm using the "Eurofront II" module. Is the resigning stuff related to Vassal or to the specific played module?

I tried different password I may have used in the previous Mac, but do I have to quit between each try? To quit the saved game? The loaded module? The Vassal app?

This isn't what you asked, but in this question, you imply you still
have access to the old machine

If you have the old machine still available, go to your user's VASSAL
directory and find the file called "Preferences".

Run that file through your favorite unzipping tool, and find the
resulting file whose name matches the game you are playing. Open that
file in a text editor, and you will find a line that says something like

SecretName=ImSoTricky

The thing after the equals sign will be your password.

In the future, I would suggest not forgetting your password :)

Jeff

--
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
"The man who does not read good books has no advantage over
the man who cannot read them."
-- Mark Twain
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)

PostPosted: May 25th, 2010, 12:12 pm
by vfrancois
Thank you Jeff,

No I still don't have access to my old machine; I just have the saved games and the module, not the preference file from the Vasswal directory.

Moving from one machine to another : no more able to flip

PostPosted: May 25th, 2010, 3:03 pm
by mcbeth
On Tue, May 25, 2010 at 05:12:01AM -0700, vfrancois wrote:
Thank you Jeff,

No I still don't have access to my old machine; I just have the saved games and the module, not the preference file from the Vasswal directory.

The "resign" suggestion you saw in the FAQ assumes that you know the old
password, which if you did, you wouldn't be in the mess you are in. I'm
guessing you clicked through the password setting dialog quickly back on
the Mac and didn't notice. There is a default suggestion for a password
that VASSAL uses that may help that depends on the language in which you
start VASSAL. For English it is "username's password" where username is
replaced with whatever the user name is. For other languages it is
different. You can try to guess from the hint here, or if you tell me
the language, I can look up what the default is there (if you aren't
using English)

Jeff

--
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
"The man who does not read good books has no advantage over
the man who cannot read them."
-- Mark Twain
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)

Re: Moving from one machine to another : no more able to fli

PostPosted: May 25th, 2010, 5:55 pm
by vfrancois
mcbeth wrote:There is a default suggestion for a password
that VASSAL uses that may help that depends on the language in which you
start VASSAL. For English it is "username's password" where username is
replaced with whatever the user name is. For other languages it is
different. You can try to guess from the hint here, or if you tell me
the language, I can look up what the default is there (if you aren't
using English)


Hi,

I was playing in French; do you know the default French password?

I'll keep trying some of possible password I may have use anyway, but should I reload the module at each password try? Or just the game? Or Vassal as a whole?

Moving from one machine to another : no more able to flip

PostPosted: May 25th, 2010, 7:47 pm
by mcbeth
On Tue, May 25, 2010 at 10:55:40AM -0700, vfrancois wrote:
mcbeth wrote:
There is a default suggestion for a password
that VASSAL uses that may help that depends on the language in which you
start VASSAL. For English it is "username's password" where username is
replaced with whatever the user name is. For other languages it is
different. You can try to guess from the hint here, or if you tell me
the language, I can look up what the default is there (if you aren't
using English)

Hi,

I was playing in French; do you know the default French password?

I'll keep trying some of possible password I may have use anyway, but should I reload the module at each password try? Or just the game? Or Vassal as a whole?

I'm sorry, I don't know the answers to your other questions.
Reading from the i18n files, it says

Mot de passe de %1$s

The %1$s would be replaced by your user name, so for example:
"Mot de passe de mcbeth"

Jeff
--
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
"The man who does not read good books has no advantage over
the man who cannot read them."
-- Mark Twain
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)

PostPosted: May 25th, 2010, 8:10 pm
by vfrancois
Thank you Jeff