Create account / Log in

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 10th, 2008, 10:37 pm

The VASSAL Team is happy to announce the release of VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1.

********************
Download
********************

For Windows:

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/vass ... e?download

For Mac OS X:

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/vass ... g?download

For Linux (and other platforms):

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/vass ... p?download

********************
New Features
********************

* Improved installation: For Windows, a real Windows installer/uninstaller.
For Macs, a single-file disk image. Download, click, and install.

* File associations: Files with .vmod, .vsav, and .vlog extensions are
now associated with VASSAL (on Windows and Macs). Double-click a module
to load it in VASSAL!

* New Module Manager frontend: The Module Manager displays all of your
modules and save/log files, giving you a convenient way to organize
them all.

* Improved memory management: VASSAL now uses significantly less memory
for various graphics-related tasks. Heap sizes may be set from within
VASSAL via the Preferences.

* Improved zooming: Zoom your maps to whatever size you want.

* Aide de Camp 2 module importer: Convert any ADC2 module to a VASSAL
module with one click.

* Many, many other minor improvements, and scores of bug fixes.

********************
Help us test
********************

This is a beta release, and may still contain some rough edges. Should
you find any problems/oddities/bugs, please tell us so that we can fix
them before VASSAL 3.1.0 is released. Also, if you've had problems with
3.0.x, please check and let us know if those problems are resolved in
3.1.0-beta1.

Report bugs here in the Technical Support & Bugs category at the VASSAL
forums:

http://vassalengine.org/forums/viewforum.php?f=3

or by email to uckelman@nomic.net.


Cheers,

Joel Uckelman, for the VASSAL Team
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8612
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Postby soft-bug » May 11th, 2008, 6:43 am

Thank you very much to the Vassal Engine Team for all your huge work for this ...

:D


Could you please give more details about : * Aide de Camp 2 module importer: Convert any ADC2 module to a VASSAL
module with one click.


Are you speaking about Cyberboard current modules available ???

Regards,

Grégory
founder of The http://www.VassalFactory.org
User avatar
soft-bug
 
Posts: 222
Joined: December 20th, 2007, 9:30 am
Location: Paris / France

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 11th, 2008, 6:45 am

Thus spake "soft-bug":
Could you please give more details about : * Aide de Camp 2 module importer:
Convert any ADC2 module to a VASSAL
module with one click.

Are you speaking about Cyberboard current modules available ???

No, it's not for Cyberboard modules. It will convert modules from
Aide de Camp 2 (ADC2) format, a program sold by HPS:

http://www.hpssims.com/pages/products/a ... -Main.html

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8612
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Biswut » May 12th, 2008, 9:28 am

Dear Joel,
thanks for the great work.
I have also a question concerning the conversion of ADC2 moduls.
Is that the menu "import mdoule"??
What file from the ADC2 directory do I have to choose ?

Best Regards
Chris
Biswut
 
Posts: 39
Joined: May 4th, 2008, 12:49 pm
Location: Near Aachen, Germany

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby mkiefte » May 12th, 2008, 9:52 am

Hi Chris,

Click on File->Import.

The file dialog will ask to you choose a file. Go to the directory for the ADC2 module you want to import. You should see a bunch of files that end in .OPS. Click on the one you want (the one that you would choose if you were using ADC2). If there are multiple .OPS files, that means that there are several configurations or scenarios for that module, but you still have to pick the one you want.

- M.

2008/5/12 Biswut <messages@forums.vassalengine.org (messages@forums.vassalengine.org)>:
Dear Joel,
thanks for the great work.
I have also a question concerning the conversion of ADC2 moduls.
Is that the menu "import mdoule"??
What file from the ADC2 directory do I have to choose ?

Best Regards
Chris











Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 12th, 2008, 1:14 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
Hi Chris,

Click on File->Import.

The file dialog will ask to you choose a file. Go to the directory for the
ADC2 module you want to import. You should see a bunch of files that end in
.OPS. Click on the one you want (the one that you would choose if you were
using ADC2). If there are multiple .OPS files, that means that there are
several configurations or scenarios for that module, but you still have to
pick the one you want.


Also, have a look at the file filters in the file chooser---they
describe what the ADC2 file types are.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8612
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby mkiefte » May 12th, 2008, 1:21 pm

Also, have a look at the file filters in the file chooser---they
describe what the ADC2 file types are.

The only other things you can import are the map itself, which just gives you the map (not very interesting, although for many modules, this means a lot more than just transferring a bitmap to VASSAL) or the counter set. Those options don't really have a purpose other than that they have separate files in ADC2.

- M.

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Biswut » May 12th, 2008, 3:22 pm

HiHo together,

when selecting "Import Mdoule" my file browser has just the "*" filter.
So nothing to choose here.

I was bale to convert the Striuggle for Europe 1939 campaign from adc2 to VASSAL.
The Map, and all units and markers are there.

But when I save and I try to "play module" from the new created Module Library "SFE 1939 Campaign Setup" I get the follwoing error (see attachment)

Best regards
Chris
Attachments
VASSAL Error.jpg
VASSAL Error.jpg (22.01 KiB) Viewed 7629 times
Biswut
 
Posts: 39
Joined: May 4th, 2008, 12:49 pm
Location: Near Aachen, Germany

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby mkiefte » May 12th, 2008, 3:32 pm

In your VASSAL directory should be a file called errorLog. Post that in the forum. We'll be able to tell what's going wrong from that.

when selecting "Import Mdoule" my file browser has just the "*" filter.
So nothing to choose here.

That's very unusual.



I was bale to convert the Striuggle for Europe 1939 campaign from adc2 to VASSAL.
The Map, and all units and markers are there.

But when I save and I try to "play module" from the new created Module Library "SFE 1939 Campaign Setup" I get the follwoing error (see attachment).

Definitely send the errorLog file.

- M.

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby mkiefte » May 12th, 2008, 3:52 pm

This is what should happen:

Click on File->Import. You should get a file dialog with the default extension mask ".OPS". Click on a module, wait a few seconds and then the editor will come up. Click on the save button and save the module. The main VASSAL screen should now have the new saved VASSAL module in its list. If you double click on that module, your module should start.

If you close VASSAL and run it again, the new module should still be in the list. You can also click on File->Open Module and click on the file that you saved the module as. If you click on the original .OPS file at this stage you'll get a strange error (I get an error dialog that doesn't say anything -- that's a bug). You have to click on the file that you saved -- whatever you called it. The standard now appears to be to have the filename end in .vmod.

If you saved over the original .OPS file, it means you no longer have the original ADC2 module. But you will be able to load it as a VASSAL module (I think).

Under no circumstances should you be getting a NullPointerException -- that's bad. Send us the errorLog and we'll sort it out.

- M.

2008/5/12 Biswut <messages@forums.vassalengine.org (messages@forums.vassalengine.org)>:
HiHo together,

when selecting "Import Mdoule" my file browser has just the "*" filter.
So nothing to choose here.

I was bale to convert the Striuggle for Europe 1939 campaign from adc2 to VASSAL.
The Map, and all units and markers are there.

But when I save and I try to "play module" from the new created Module Library "SFE 1939 Campaign Setup" I get the follwoing error (see attachment)

Best regards
Chris






Attachments:
http://www.vassalengine.org/forums/files/vassal_error_198.jpg







Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Biswut » May 12th, 2008, 4:32 pm

HiHo,

here is the log:

-- OS Windows Vista
-- Java version 1.6.0_05
-- VASSAL version 3.1.0-beta1
-- VASSAL instance 513102124
[513102124]
java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:141)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:125)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
[513102124]
java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:154)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:125)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
-- OS Windows Vista
-- Java version 1.6.0_05
-- VASSAL version 3.1.0-beta1
-- VASSAL instance 1023998434
[Fatal Error] :6415:105: Character reference "&#1" is an invalid XML character.
[1023998434]
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException
at VASSAL.launch.BasicModule.build(BasicModule.java:110)
at VASSAL.build.GameModule.init(GameModule.java:756)
at VASSAL.launch.Player.launch(Player.java:96)
at VASSAL.launch.Launcher.extractResourcesAndLaunch(Launcher.java:114)
at VASSAL.launch.Launcher$1.run(Launcher.java:102)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
[513102124]
java.io.EOFException
at java.io.ObjectInputStream$BlockDataInputStream.peekByte(Unknown Source)
at java.io.ObjectInputStream.readObject0(Unknown Source)
at java.io.ObjectInputStream.readObject(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.CommandClient.request(CommandClient.java:39)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction.shutDown(AbstractLaunchAction.java:95)
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerWindow$1.actionPerformed(ModuleManagerWindow.java:160)
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerWindow$2.windowClosing(ModuleManagerWindow.java:177)
at java.awt.AWTEventMulticaster.windowClosing(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.processWindowEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JFrame.processWindowEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
[1023998434]
java.lang.NullPointerException
at VASSAL.build.GameModule.shutDown(GameModule.java:650)
at VASSAL.launch.Player$PlayerCommandServer.reply(Player.java:70)
at VASSAL.launch.CommandServer.run(CommandServer.java:51)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)


Best Regards
Chris

BTW: I think I have to work on my typos :-)
Biswut
 
Posts: 39
Joined: May 4th, 2008, 12:49 pm
Location: Near Aachen, Germany

Postby Rindis » May 12th, 2008, 8:18 pm

Here's a silly one:

Playing around with the beta on my machine at work, which recently got changed out. The upshot is that I don't have some old 'fiddling around' stuff set up yet. I ended up pointing the MM at the zipped version of a module, just to see what it does.

It gave me an error box with the red "stop" sign, and no text next to it. Under that lack of message is the "Do not show this dialog again" message, and the Ok button. However, after that, I get an hourglass anytime I'm hovering over the Vassal window (but not the title bar--I can use the close 'X' button just fine).

I also just actually test-opened my F&E module, and it was pretty darn quick. :) I'll be benchmarking my home system soon.

Edit: and here's the error log from trying to open a zip as if it were a module:
-- OS Windows XP
-- Java version 1.6.0_05
-- VASSAL version 3.1.0-beta1
-- VASSAL instance 911897588
[911897588]
java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:141)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:125)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
[911897588]
java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:154)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:125)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
VASSAL: File 'C:\Archive\F&E 0.93.zip' of unknown type
[911897588]
java.util.concurrent.ExecutionException: java.io.EOFException
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerGet(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.get(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.get(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.done(AbstractLaunchAction.java:221)
at VASSAL.launch.Player$LaunchAction$1.done(Player.java:168)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$5.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$DoSubmitAccumulativeRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.AccumulativeRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$DoSubmitAccumulativeRunnable.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.Timer.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.Timer$DoPostEvent.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.io.EOFException
at java.io.DataInputStream.readInt(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:201)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(AbstractLaunchAction.java:125)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 198
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 12th, 2008, 10:05 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
It turns out you get that error message whenever you attempt to open a file
that VASSAL does not recognise as a VASSAL module.

Joel, I think you were looking at the file extension stuff.

I know what the problem is---LaunchRequest is bailing out because it
can't read any metadata from the file which isn't a module. I'll fix
this for beta2.

Thanks for the bug report.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8612
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Postby Rindis » May 13th, 2008, 1:51 am

I just checked the performance of my F&E module, which has always been a bear to get loaded.

Holy cow!!! :shock:

Vassal 3.0.17
Load: 0:00:09
Start F&E: 0:03:37
Load GW Start: 0:06:34
Finish Load: 0:09:46
Close: 0:12:53

Vassal 3.1.beta1
Load MM 0:00:06
Start F&E: 0:00:08
Load GW Start: 0:00:28
Finish Load: 0:00:48
Close: 0:00:51

I'll still need to check that the system performs well inside the module, but that's amazing!
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 198
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Brent Easton » May 13th, 2008, 2:06 am

Good to hear!

The larger the maps and the less memory your machine has, the more pronounced the improvements should be.

B.


*********** REPLY SEPARATOR ***********

On 12/05/2008 at 6:51 PM Rindis wrote:

I just checked the performance of my F&E module, which has always been a
bear to get loaded.

Holy cow!!! [Shocked]

Vassal 3.0.17
Load: 0:00:09
Start F&E: 0:03:37
Load GW Start: 0:06:34
Finish Load: 0:09:46
Close: 0:12:53

Vassal 3.1.beta1
Load MM 0:00:06
Start F&E: 0:00:08
Load GW Start: 0:00:28
Finish Load: 0:00:48
Close: 0:00:51

I'll still need to check that the system performs well inside the module,
but that's amazing!



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2991
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests