Create account / Log in

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Topics related to the main Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Rindis » May 13th, 2008, 6:24 am

Brent Easton wrote:Good to hear!

The larger the maps and the less memory your machine has, the more pronounced the improvements should be.

B.


Actually, F&E doesn't have that big a map, and I have 2GB of memory. And the load time is all processor lockout. It's just a huge module overall, and the bulk of those load times seems to be all the counters that F&E uses.
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 198
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Brent Easton » May 13th, 2008, 6:47 am

Actually, F&E doesn't have that big a map, and I have 2GB of memory. And
the load time is all processor lockout. It's just a huge module overall,
and the bulk of those load times seems to be all the counters that F&E
uses.

That's even better to hear!

Joel has done a fantastic job on optimizing the graphics stream, but I thought it would mainly benefit modules with large maps.

B.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2991
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 13th, 2008, 8:21 am

Thus spake "Rindis":
I just checked the performance of my F&E module, which has always been a bear
to get loaded.

Holy cow!!! [Shocked]

Vassal 3.0.17
Load: 0:00:09
Start F&E: 0:03:37
Load GW Start: 0:06:34
Finish Load: 0:09:46
Close: 0:12:53

Vassal 3.1.beta1
Load MM 0:00:06
Start F&E: 0:00:08
Load GW Start: 0:00:28
Finish Load: 0:00:48
Close: 0:00:51

I'll still need to check that the system performs well inside the module, but
that's amazing!


I spent quite a bit of time last fall doing optimization work on the
load process. I'm glad you like it.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 13th, 2008, 8:32 am

Thus spake "Rindis":
Brent Easton wrote:Good to hear!

The larger the maps and the less memory your machine has, the more pronounced
the improvements should be.

B.

Actually, F&E doesn't have that big a map, and I have 2GB of memory. And the
load time is all processor lockout. It's just a huge module overall, and the
bulk of those load times seems to be all the counters that F&E uses.



There's another thing which I'm eventually going to look into regarding
load times (and memory usage): There are a lot of copies of the same
string that end up floating around in memory as a result of loading
many counters (especially ones which use prototypes) which should be
intern()'ed.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Rindis » May 13th, 2008, 6:35 pm

uckelman wrote:I spent quite a bit of time last fall doing optimization work on the load process. I'm glad you like it.

There's been several comments on the Star Fleet Games board to the tune of 'I like the Vassal module better than the Cyberboard module, but it takes too long to load.' And I couldn't blame them. It was just way out of hand.

uckelman wrote:
Rindis wrote:Actually, F&E doesn't have that big a map, and I have 2GB of memory. And the load time is all processor lockout. It's just a huge module overall, and the bulk of those load times seems to be all the counters that F&E uses.


There's another thing which I'm eventually going to look into regarding
load times (and memory usage): There are a lot of copies of the same
string that end up floating around in memory as a result of loading
many counters (especially ones which use prototypes) which should be
intern()'ed.

--
J.

If you want, I can provide you with a module that's great for testing counter loading.... ;) And there's a good number of prototypes running around.
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 198
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 13th, 2008, 10:08 pm

Thus spake "Rindis":
There's been several comments on the Star Fleet Games board to the tune of 'I
like the Vassal module better than the Cyberboard module, but it takes too l
ong to load.' And I couldn't blame them. It was just way out of hand.


BTW, it does them no good to complain where we won't hear them. If they'd
told us, we might have tackled it sooner.

If you want, I can provide you with a module that's great for testing counter
loading.... ;) And there's a good number of prototypes running around.


Sure, please do.
--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Rindis » May 14th, 2008, 2:16 am

uckelman wrote:BTW, it does them no good to complain where we won't hear them. If they'd told us, we might have tackled it sooner.

Yeah, well dragging them into the larger community is hard. (Consider that most of them play just F&E and maybe SFB.) And with the existing Cyberboard version, pickup has been slow. It's relatively recently that I've gotten the feature set up to the point where the 'old-timers' are starting to notice (the user support I have is mostly newer arrivals). I should have pushed on it more. But then, when I got to where it really was my top priority, another user tried one of the test builds and reported on the performance gain. So I waited for a beta to test. :D

Comments from the forum so far:
Ken Watanabe (Watank) on Tuesday, May 13, 2008 - 06:51 pm:

Holy cow... it's like night and day on my 2.4 GHz ModBook running 10.5 - GW start file loaded in <10 secs (Vassal itself loaded in a flash)... The Mac version is an application bundle on a disk image, so a simple drag-n -drop install.

Definitely going to play with it on the commute home :D

Jason E. Schaff (Jschaff297061) on Tuesday, May 13, 2008 - 07:12 pm:

Mother of pearl!

Someone on the Vassal team deserves major kudos. Not quite as fast here as you guys are reporting, but still only took about 1:45 to go from cold start to finishing the load of the GW scenario. (PowerMac G5, dual 2 GHZ, OS 10.4). Firewall settings may have slowed things down a little.
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 198
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 14th, 2008, 11:22 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
BTW, it does them no good to complain where we won't hear them. If they'd
told us, we might have tackled it sooner.


If you go to a restaurant and don't like the food, do you tell the waiter,
or do you just not go to that restaurant any more?

I don't expect restaurants to work like software, but if it's a restaurant
that I like otherwise, I will tell them if the food was bad.

That comment doesn't help, I know, but that's reality. Don't ever own your
own business by the way. It's exactly like this.


I don't ever intend to.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Biswut » May 15th, 2008, 6:30 am

HiHo,
is there any thing I can do concerning my ADC2 conversion problem ?

I used Vista (as you see in the log), I also tested it in Wind XP SP2 VMWare environment and got the same message.

Best Regards
Chris
Biswut
 
Posts: 39
Joined: May 4th, 2008, 12:49 pm
Location: Near Aachen, Germany

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 15th, 2008, 9:15 am

Thus spake "Biswut":
HiHo,
is there any thing I can do concerning my ADC2 conversion problem ?

I used Vista (as you see in the log), I also tested it in Wind XP SP2 VMWare
environment and got the same message.

Best Regards
Chris


I don't believe anyone has had a chance to look at it yet. Two of
us four developers are travelling at the moment and we're receiving
a lot of bug reports right now. We will look at yours, but it might
be several days before that happens.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby Biswut » May 15th, 2008, 6:19 pm

Dear J ,

th@nx for the status.
It's not really urgent :-)


Chris
Biswut
 
Posts: 39
Joined: May 4th, 2008, 12:49 pm
Location: Near Aachen, Germany

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 24th, 2008, 1:41 pm

Thus spake Joel Uckelman:
Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
It turns out you get that error message whenever you attempt to open a file
that VASSAL does not recognise as a VASSAL module.

Joel, I think you were looking at the file extension stuff.

I know what the problem is---LaunchRequest is bailing out because it
can't read any metadata from the file which isn't a module. I'll fix
this for beta2.

Thanks for the bug report.

This is fixed in trunk@3642. As a side-effect, the launch process for
Players and Editors is somewhat less tangly than before, since I needed
to do some refactoring in order to fix the bug.

The error dialog needs to be replaced with something more presentable,
but you won't get any exceptions now if you try to load a non-module.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Postby uckelman » May 24th, 2008, 2:08 pm

I was looking at your F&E module just now---what are you doing with those
inventories so that they take so long to load? Either you're doing something
wrong, or Inventory needs some serious optimization attention.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 24th, 2008, 7:43 pm

Thus spake "Biswut":
HiHo,

here is the log:

-- OS Windows Vista
-- Java version 1.6.0_05
-- VASSAL version 3.1.0-beta1
-- VASSAL instance 513102124
[513102124]
java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(Abstrac
tLaunchAction.java:141)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(Abstrac
tLaunchAction.java:125)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Sourc
e)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
[513102124]
java.lang.NumberFormatException: null
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Integer.parseInt(Unknown Source)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(Abstrac
tLaunchAction.java:154)
at VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction$LaunchTask.doInBackground(Abstrac
tLaunchAction.java:125)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at org.jdesktop.swingworker.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Sourc
e)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
-- OS Windows Vista
-- Java version 1.6.0_05
-- VASSAL version 3.1.0-beta1
-- VASSAL instance 1023998434
[Fatal Error] :6415:105: Character reference "&#1" is an invalid XML characte
r.

Michael, have you had a chance to look at this yet? It appears that the
ADC2 importer is writing out a raw ampersand instead of writing it as
'&amp;'.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

VASSAL 3.1.0-beta1 is released

Postby uckelman » May 24th, 2008, 8:31 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
Hi Joel,

I asked for the vmod, but never heard back. The ADC2 module appears to be
non-free, so I'm a little in the dark. However, what you suggest is
perfectly reasonable, as I've never bother to take that into account.
Thanks for picking up on that -- I didn't know what "&#1" meant, but I get
it now.

Are there any other characters I should watch out for?

Yeah. '<' and '>' are also evil and need to be replaced with their
entities, and double and single quotes should be replaced within
when they need to appear within an already double- or single-quoted
attribute.

And why doesn't the
writer convert this automatically? What prevents you from setting an
ampersand in a string otherwise?

I don't know---what's actually doing the writing?

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8623
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest