Create account / Log in

Got a module that someone can't open

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Got a module that someone can't open

Postby ChuckS » December 4th, 2018, 3:12 pm

It opens fine for me, but can I send the module to someone here and they look at it. I've put over a 100 hours into building this upgrade to Panzer 44.

Thanks!
ChuckS
 
Posts: 59
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Re: Got a module that someone can't open

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 4th, 2018, 4:53 pm

Post a link where it can be downloaded--Dropbox, Google Drive, etc.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 471
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Got a module that someone can't open

Postby ChuckS » December 5th, 2018, 10:12 pm

ChuckS
 
Posts: 59
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Re: Got a module that someone can't open

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 6th, 2018, 2:12 pm

Do you realize you have a ton of duplicate images in that module?

1PL-Map-J-Full.png and PL-Map-J-Full.png look to be the same image, 1PL-Map-K-Full.gif and PL-Map-K-Full.gif look to be the same, etc etc. You can probably slim it down quite a bit, which in turn will save a lot of time spent on image tiling for a user opening it for the first time.

I was able to open it successfully.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 471
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Got a module that someone can't open

Postby ChuckS » December 6th, 2018, 3:11 pm

What version of Java do you have, is it 32 or 64 bit version? He is on Windows 10, I am wondering if his Anti Virus is playing some games also.

This is his log:
Johan Arve

AttachmentsWed, Dec 5, 1:04 AM (1 day ago)

to me
Hi Charles!

Here's the error log in its entirety:

2018-12-05 06:56:22,569 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2018-12-05 06:56:22,585 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 10 10.0
2018-12-05 06:56:22,585 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.8.0_191
2018-12-05 06:56:22,585 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.17
2018-12-05 06:56:22,685 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2018-12-05 06:57:24,412 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] ERROR VASSAL.launch.AbstractLaunchAction - -- Load of D:\Vassalmoduler\Panzer40-44.vmod failed: Not a Vassal module


The module is not finished, doing a battleaxe set of maps to add to it, then I will clean up the dead images.
ChuckS
 
Posts: 59
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Re: Got a module that someone can't open

Postby ChuckS » December 6th, 2018, 3:20 pm

The log was for an attempt to edit it, when it would not load.
ChuckS
 
Posts: 59
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Re: Got a module that someone can't open

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 6th, 2018, 5:54 pm

I would have him check the file size of what he downloaded. It's possible the download truncated and he didn't end up getting the complete file.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 471
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Got a module that someone can't open

Postby ChuckS » December 6th, 2018, 7:28 pm

Yeah that's what I am thinking, I also cleaned up the module to reduce size to 214 meg.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1SLUa2 ... qWihnaAwEr
But it still is a very big but has a ton of stuff in it. It's a combination of PB/PL/AIW fitted into the Panzer 44 system and adding a card driving movement system in replace of the horrid simove plot that SPI wanted used.

I personally think a odds based tactical system is just wrong, so the fire tables handle single unit fire instead.

But that's for another forum LOL!
ChuckS
 
Posts: 59
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests