Create account / Log in

Cant open vassal New user

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Cant open vassal New user

Postby thurye » January 9th, 2018, 3:27 pm

Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac9,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
System Version: OS X 10.11.6

simple as it sounds, I go to open Vassal after I instal it, gives me an error message, asks to send a bug report, gives a message that it cant send the bug report then closes.
thurye
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 9th, 2018, 3:22 pm

Re: Cant open vassal New user

Postby uckelman » January 9th, 2018, 4:43 pm

Thus spake thurye:
> Model Name: iMac
> Model Identifier: iMac9,1
> Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
> Processor Speed: 2.26 GHz
> Number of Processors: 1
> Total Number of Cores: 2
> L2 Cache: 3 MB
> Memory: 2 GB
> Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
> System Version: OS X 10.11.6
>
> simple as it sounds, I go to open Vassal after I instal it, gives me an
> error message, asks to send a bug report, gives a message that it cant
> send the bug report then closes.

Paste the contents of your errorLog here. We need to see that in order
to help you.

http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Error_Logs

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8345
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cant open vassal New user

Postby thurye » January 9th, 2018, 9:02 pm

it appears that the folder doesnt exist, I also i couldnt find the command line in order to use that, though thats mainly because im not much of a mac user
thurye
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 9th, 2018, 3:22 pm

Re: Cant open vassal New user

Postby Malnorma » January 12th, 2018, 10:03 pm

In Finder, select the Go menu, then hold either alt/option or shift (I'm sure it used to be alt, but it's shift on my current version). You should see Library appear as a new option. Once you open that, look for Application Support and then VASSAL. It will be there if Vassal has run at all under that login.
Malnorma
 
Posts: 124
Joined: October 14th, 2015, 9:26 am

Re: Cant open vassal New user

Postby Eras » January 16th, 2018, 8:53 pm

Hi there :)

I'm having a similar problem on mac as well. I'm also unable to submit my error log.

Here's my log:
2018-01-16 22:43:44,763 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2018-01-16 22:43:44,766 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Mac OS X 10.12.6
2018-01-16 22:43:44,766 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 9.0.4
2018-01-16 22:43:44,766 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.17
2018-01-16 22:43:45,645 [0-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog -
java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: com.apple.eawt.Application.addApplicationListener(Lcom/apple/eawt/ApplicationListener;)V
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.setupApplicationListeners(ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.java:36) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.initSystemProperties(ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.java:31) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager.<init>(ModuleManager.java:280) ~[Vengine.jar:na]
at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager.main(ModuleManager.java:183) ~[Vengine.jar:na]

Any help would be appreciated.
Eras
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 16th, 2018, 8:52 pm

Re: Cant open vassal New user

Postby uckelman » January 18th, 2018, 11:32 pm

Thus spake Eras:
> Hi there :)
>
> I'm having a similar problem on mac as well. I'm also unable to submit
> my error log.
>
> Here's my log:
> 2018-01-16 22:43:44,763 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
> 2018-01-16 22:43:44,766 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Mac OS
> X 10.12.6
> 2018-01-16 22:43:44,766 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java
> version 9.0.4
> 2018-01-16 22:43:44,766 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL
> version 3.2.17
> 2018-01-16 22:43:45,645 [0-main] ERROR VASSAL.tools.ErrorDialog -
> java.lang.NoSuchMethodError:
> com.apple.eawt.Application.addApplicationListener(Lcom/apple/eawt/ApplicationListener;)V
> at
> VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.setupApplicationListeners(ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.java:36)
> ~[Vengine.jar:na]
> at
> VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.initSystemProperties(ModuleManagerMacOSXStartUp.java:31)
> ~[Vengine.jar:na]
> at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager.(ModuleManager.java:280)
> ~[Vengine.jar:na]
> at VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager.main(ModuleManager.java:183)
> ~[Vengine.jar:na]

The problem you're having here is that one of the Apple components
VASSAL relies on no longer exists in Java 9. Until someone has time
to investigate what we should use instead, you can use an earlier
version of Java as a workaround.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8345
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cant open vassal New user

Postby Eras » January 21st, 2018, 6:01 pm

THank you. I appreciate yout help.

For those also struggling with this on a mac, you need to delete Java 9 from the following locations for Vassal to work. Then install version 8.

/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk-9.jdk/
/Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/JavaAppletPlugin.plugin
/Library/PreferencePanes/JavaControlPanel.prefPane
Eras
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 16th, 2018, 8:52 pm


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests