Create account / Log in

Socket error during Module Opening

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Socket error during Module Opening

Postby AndreaC » January 14th, 2018, 2:27 pm

I'm experimenting the following error message during the opening of a huge module,
the module is Decision Games WitP, it seems that a similar problem has been faced before but I can't find the solution for
this particular case, I've attached the Error Log file.

Error message:
Error Log.txt
(17.56 KiB) Downloaded 330 times

"The socket over which the Module Manager communicates has had a fault. Please restart VASSAL."

My PC is a HP Pavillion / CPU B960 Pentium 2.20 2.20 GH
Windows 8.1 64 bit
RAM 4.00 GB

Vassal 3.2.17

Thanks for help
AndreaC
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2017, 6:47 pm

Re: Socket error during Module Opening

Postby AndreaC » January 17th, 2018, 6:59 pm

I realized that probably the solution is in the correct setting of Java heap size parameters in Vassal preferences, I would be
grateful to anybody who could help me

thanks
AndreaC
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2017, 6:47 pm

Re: Socket error during Module Opening

Postby uckelman » January 18th, 2018, 11:29 pm

Thus spake AndreaC via messages:
> I realized that probably the solution is in the correct setting of Java
> heap size parameters in Vassal preferences,
> grateful to anybody who could help me

It's not that. What's running out of memory for you is the image tiler.
We estimate how much memory it should use based on the size of the images
being tiled, but apparently newer versions of Java use more memory than
before when tiling some images. There's presently no way for you as the
user to set the max heap for the tiler. We can fix this, but I'm not
going to have time to do it myself for at least a month or two.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8345
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Socket error during Module Opening

Postby AndreaC » January 19th, 2018, 7:00 am

Thanks for your help, should I try reinstalling an older version of Java?
AndreaC
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2017, 6:47 pm

Re: Socket error during Module Opening

Postby Skotkolr » January 30th, 2018, 9:59 am

That probably will work.
User avatar
Skotkolr
 
Posts: 49
Joined: October 8th, 2017, 4:31 am
Location: Sarasota, Florida

Re: Socket error during Module Opening

Postby rocky700 » February 4th, 2019, 11:37 am

The error during the Module opening is not only happening with you only but also with me as well. The process is not happening in my system as I think that the system is not compatible with that. I also do not know how to fix that.
rocky700
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 4th, 2019, 11:32 am


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests