Create account / Log in

Module creation - no more map window

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » October 25th, 2018, 7:51 am

Hi all,

I'm new to Vassal (last version of Vassal and Java - windows 10) and I try to get into module dev for a personal project but after only a few manipulations, the board/map part of the main window (in module creation) is gone. There is no more bar to pull to resize the map area.

I can't find anything on this, I think it's a very basic problem but I can't solve it. I tried to delete and create new modules, open existing ones, uninstall clean and install again but nothing corrects it. I'm open to any suggestions!
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby DrNostromo » October 31st, 2018, 6:47 pm

Start the module and try going into File->Preferences. Under the General tab, there'll be an option to "Use combined application window". Uncheck this and restart. This should separate your main map into it's own window which makes it easier to manipulate.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » October 31st, 2018, 11:58 pm

hi, thanks for the answer.

I just tried, but it didn't work. I then checked it and restart and still nothing.
When I right click on the [Hex Grid] I created, and click on "Edit Grid", I can see that the grid exists, but still no window with this board on the main edit interface.
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby DrNostromo » November 3rd, 2018, 4:48 pm

Can you post a link to the module here. I'll download it and take a look. I imagine it's just a setting of some kind but without looking at it, I'm not sure what setting that may be.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby RobS » November 4th, 2018, 12:05 am

There's a drag bar, or whatever it's called, at the top of the map window, which sometimes ends up getting dragged way to the bottom of the screen, making it appear as if the entire map window is gone. Carefully place your cursor all the way at the bottom of the Vassal screen and see if it allows you to scroll the map window back up.
RobS
 
Posts: 72
Joined: June 19th, 2011, 5:10 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » November 5th, 2018, 8:42 am

I will try to post it this evening, but it's just a new module with an empty default map (the only action I do after I create the module)
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » November 6th, 2018, 12:09 am

#RobS: no drag bar, i checked carefully already (i saw this advice on several topics).

#Dr Nostromo: i don't really know how to post a link for this module I created but all I do is : New module, right clic on [Map Boards] and "Add Board", then right clic on "Map1[..." and "Add Hex Grid" and... that's it, no map window.

I remember that the first times I did this, I had this window.
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » November 10th, 2018, 11:01 pm

I join the module I described. As I said, I only did a few actions: I created an hexa board. I hope you will be able to see something in it.

Just suppress the ".txt" of the attached file's name and it's a module you can edit in Vassal.
Attachments
Test.txt
Just suppress the ".txt" and it's a module you can edit in Vassal.
(2.01 KiB) Downloaded 222 times
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby DrNostromo » November 19th, 2018, 1:23 am

You've added a hex grid but you have not defined the grid. Right click your Hex Grid and add Grid Numbering. Your window will now appear in the module when you run it.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » November 21st, 2018, 3:58 pm

As I expected it was a "noob" problem. Thanks, i'll try this asap.
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » November 25th, 2018, 3:45 pm

It may not be as a "noob problem" as it seems in the end... I added a grid numbering, saved, close and re-opened but still nothing. Screenshot for proof and new file too.
Attachments
Capture.png
still no map window...
Capture.png (174.21 KiB) Viewed 6613 times
TestBug.txt
(2.14 KiB) Downloaded 212 times
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby DrNostromo » November 27th, 2018, 6:28 pm

Did you uncheck "Use combined application window" under File->Preferences?

If you did, than I'm not sure what the problem is as I got a window to pop up as soon as I added a grid numbering.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby Panzatouch » November 28th, 2018, 10:25 pm

Nope, this option is still checked. :(
Panzatouch
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 24th, 2018, 3:50 pm

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby DrNostromo » December 3rd, 2018, 6:43 pm

Uncheck it. Make it separate window.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1053
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Module creation - no more map window

Postby ChuckS » December 6th, 2018, 2:58 pm

I had an issue with creating a chart as a map so that I could put counters on it to use as turn record. I forgot and left it named Main Map and suddenly since it followed the Main Map entry for the game map it caused it to no longer show up.

Make sure you have renamed any charts that are created a maps!
ChuckS
 
Posts: 99
Joined: August 16th, 2016, 4:37 pm

Next

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest