Create account / Log in

VASSAL has run out of memory

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

VASSAL has run out of memory

Postby databane » December 16th, 2018, 11:51 am

Model: msi gs63 7rd
OS: Windows 10 Home
CPU: Intel Core i7 7th Gen
Memory: 16GB
Video: GeForce GTX1050
VASSAL: 3.2.17
Java: 1.8.0_191
Module: WiF CE Beta

Hi: I've attached the error log.

I, and other players have had difficulty with the stack heap size. I've tried increasing it, well beyond the amounts recommended (I'm at 8GB right now). But it's still failing to load all but the simplest scenarios. Each time, I get the message:

"VASSAL has run out of memory. This module requires more memory than the maximum heap size you have set for it. Please increase the maximum heap size in your Preferences, and restart VASSAL."

I've had it happen a few times, which I trust the error log has captured. Please note I have already updated max heap size in both the preferences in Vassal, and in the pref section of vassal under USER/username/AppData/Roaming/VASSAL/prefs, with no success.

Whatever advice you can provide would be greatly appreciated
Attachments
errorLog.txt
(18.29 KiB) Downloaded 185 times
databane
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 16th, 2018, 11:26 am

Re: VASSAL has run out of memory

Postby databane » December 17th, 2018, 6:23 am

Nevermind; working now.
databane
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 16th, 2018, 11:26 am

Re: VASSAL has run out of memory

Postby Svette » December 21st, 2018, 4:52 pm

So what did you change if anything?
I am trying to play the Atlantic Wall module, It does load after 5-6 minutes but I can't save the game
without getting the "Vassal out of memory error"
Thanks for any help you can give...
Svette
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 22nd, 2017, 2:27 pm


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests