Create account / Log in

Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby tompk » April 23rd, 2020, 4:45 pm

Hello everyone,

Every module I play has the same problem, I have the most up to date Java although I've updated it many times over year or so I've had Vassal. I have the most up to date Vassal (non test one) and I update the graphics card drive all the time yet, I still struggle with the photographs as you can see. It makes the games unplayable :( please help.

Wherever I move the mouse, loads of windows spawn (a copy of the game but it's only an image it's not real, the game is still in the same place this is just a visual distortion).

I have uninstalled and reinstalled Java, gfx driver and Vassal.

Thank you.
Attachments
problem.jpg
problem.jpg (85.14 KiB) Viewed 1424 times
tompk
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 3rd, 2020, 12:34 am

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby uckelman » April 23rd, 2020, 11:32 pm

Thus spake tompk via messages:
> Hello everyone,
>
> Every module I play has the same problem, I have the most up to date
> Java although I've updated it many times over year or so I've had
> Vassal. I have the most up to date Vassal (non test one) and I update
> the graphics card drive all the time yet, I still struggle with the
> photographs as you can see. It makes the games unplayable :( please
> help.
>
> Wherever I move the mouse, loads of windows spawn (a copy of the game
> but it's only an image it's not real, the game is still in the same
> place this is just a visual distortion).
>
> I have uninstalled and reinstalled Java, gfx driver and Vassal.

What's your OS? Version of Java?

Please post an errorLog from a run where this occurs.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8564
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby tompk » April 30th, 2020, 5:11 pm

Hi J,

I will do that, it just happened but I just closed it damn sorry. I have Windows 10 and the latest Java which is v8 update 251.

I also have tried Beta2 of Vassal's latest engine and within 5 minutes it started doing this....
Attachments
image (2).png
image (2).png (108.45 KiB) Viewed 1334 times
tompk
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 3rd, 2020, 12:34 am

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby tompk » April 30th, 2020, 5:13 pm

I will play more now and send an error log
tompk
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 3rd, 2020, 12:34 am

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby tompk » April 30th, 2020, 5:40 pm

Okay it's happened again already, I have attached an image and a log file but nothing from when error occurred, I'll close Vassal and see if it logs anything.
Attachments
Error log for Vassal after I close module.txt
(13.55 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
example of vassal bug.jpg
example of vassal bug.jpg (195.09 KiB) Viewed 1331 times
Error log for Vassal but nothing from 1825.txt
(12.51 KiB) Downloaded 37 times
tompk
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 3rd, 2020, 12:34 am

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby uckelman » April 30th, 2020, 6:18 pm

tompk wrote:Hello everyone,

Every module I play has the same problem, I have the most up to date Java although I've updated it many times over year or so I've had Vassal. I have the most up to date Vassal (non test one) and I update the graphics card drive all the time yet, I still struggle with the photographs as you can see. It makes the games unplayable :( please help.

Wherever I move the mouse, loads of windows spawn (a copy of the game but it's only an image it's not real, the game is still in the same place this is just a visual distortion).

I have uninstalled and reinstalled Java, gfx driver and Vassal.

Thank you.

I can see from your screenshot that the problem is affecting parts of the window which our code is not responsible for painting. That pretty much rules out VASSAL as the problem. The fact that the problem doesn't happen immediately but starts after a few minutes suggests to me that you're having memory corruption. Possible culprits are Java, your graphics driver, your OS, and your hardware.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8564
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby tompk » April 30th, 2020, 7:52 pm

okay thanks as it happens with every module, it is just vassal it happens to though, I will run a RAM test, I have kept my graphics card updated and Java other than that I don't know what else to do :/
tompk
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 3rd, 2020, 12:34 am

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby usmcwo1 » May 22nd, 2020, 3:25 pm

Hello,

I am having the same issue. Any luck?

Steve
usmcwo1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 22nd, 2020, 3:19 pm

Re: Cannot cope with Vassal, multiple windows all the time

Postby uckelman » June 17th, 2020, 7:52 pm

Try 3.3.0. That's using a newer version of Java on Windows than was used in any of the above reports.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8564
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests