Page 1 of 1

3.3 beta comment

PostPosted: May 14th, 2020, 6:23 pm
by Stevie-D
Hi all. I am running a Mac w/OS 10.15.4 and noticed a change when playing with OCS DAK II, Russian Front, A Victory Lost, and It Never Snows modules.

I notice that when I right-click on a non-expanded stack, it no longer selects only the top counter in a stack, it selects the whole stack, just like left-clicking does.

Will this be able to be fixed? I really like the flexibility of right-clicking to select only the top counter.

Thanks
Steve

Re: 3.3 beta comment

PostPosted: May 15th, 2020, 9:04 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake Stevie-D via messages:
> Hi all. I am running a Mac w/OS 10.15.4 and noticed a change when
> playing with OCS DAK II, Russian Front, A Victory Lost, and It Never
> Snows modules.
>
> I notice that when I right-click on a non-expanded stack, it no longer
> selects only the top counter in a stack, it selects the whole stack,
> just like left-clicking does.

What's the first version in which this changed for you?

--
J.

Re: 3.3 beta comment

PostPosted: May 16th, 2020, 1:22 am
by Cattlesquat
Even 3.2.17 only selects the top counter in a stack when right clicking (whether or not stack is expanded). If this has changed in 3.3 then it is an new behavior for 3.3.

Re: 3.3 beta comment

PostPosted: May 16th, 2020, 10:46 am
by uckelman
Thus spake Cattlesquat:
> Even 3.2.17 only selects the top counter in a stack when right clicking
> (whether or not stack is expanded). If this has changed in 3.3 then it
> is an new behavior for 3.3.

If it's changed, it would be helpful to know which beta is the first one
where it occurs. I'll investigate further once that's been confirmed.

(I suspect this will be due to upgrading the version of Java, not to
any changes in our code.)

--
J.

Re: 3.3 beta comment

PostPosted: May 16th, 2020, 11:43 pm
by uckelman
I'm able to reproduce the problem. It's in our tracker as Bug 12817.

http://www.vassalengine.org/tracker/sho ... i?id=12817

I'll see about fixing this fro beta4. (I suspect this is a case of Java changing behavior on us from Java 8 to Java 14, as I can't find any change we made that seems relevant.)

Re: 3.3 beta comment

PostPosted: May 19th, 2020, 11:58 pm
by uckelman
Please try 3.3.0-svn9400 (or later), which contains a fix:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/tmp/