Create account / Log in

Suspect bug in save as...

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Suspect bug in save as...

Postby marktb1961 » June 21st, 2020, 7:42 pm

MacOS 10.15.5
Vassal 3.3.0 (and 3.3.1 beta)

I have recently encountered a bug when I have been editing a module that ends up corrupting the module or losing the current edit. This has occurred a couple of times, both with v3.3.0 and v.3.3.1-beta).

After refreshing counters to apply recent changes to the module, I attempt to save the current scenario. The bug manifests as saving a module-sized file (20mb) instead of the scenario file (250kb). The module sized file does not open as a module, even after renaming to a .vmod (gives an error to that effect that it is not a valid Vassal module file). However, unzipping the file reveals that it does contain the expected module files. I can provide an example of a corrupted file.
Platform used:
Vassal 3.4.11
MacOS Big Sur
iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 342
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby uckelman » June 22nd, 2020, 7:19 pm

Thus spake marktb1961:
> MacOS 10.15.5
> Vassal 3.3.0 (and 3.3.1 beta)
>
> I have recently encountered a bug when I have been editing a module that
> ends up corrupting the module or losing the current edit. This has
> occurred a couple of times, both with v3.3.0 and v.3.3.1-beta).
>
> After refreshing counters to apply recent changes to the module, I
> attempt to save the current scenario. The bug manifests as saving a
> module-sized file (20mb) instead of the scenario file (250kb). The
> module sized file does not open as a module, even after renaming to a
> .vmod (gives an error to that effect that it is not a valid Vassal
> module file). However, unzipping the file reveals that it does contain
> the expected module files. I can provide an example of a corrupted
> file.

Could you post an errorLog from one of those runs?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9010
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby marktb1961 » October 24th, 2020, 10:07 am

I haven't had many/any of these recur since reporting this, until one just recently. Unfortunately, until I tracked down this old thread, I forgot to save the error file.

However, I wonder why we need options to Save the Buildfile from the Player window File menu, when these options are already on the editor window and can be confused with the Game File save options. I can't be confident that I haven't got confused saving files and perhaps giving rise to the kind of error I reported here.

Occasionally, I have wanted to quickly make sure that I've saved some edits before doing Refresh Counters. Perhaps the edit file save check could be built into Refresh Counters? Even if not, personally I would happily lose the option to save BuildFile from the Player window. Is there a reason it should be kept? Do some people have a strong preference the other way?

One logical (to me) alternative, would be to have these Tool related special save options under the Tool menu - the one that dissappears when the Editor is not running.

Mark
Platform used:
Vassal 3.4.11
MacOS Big Sur
iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 342
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby Cattlesquat » October 24th, 2020, 4:26 pm

Mark could you post a screenshot of where you're seeing these options to save the buildFile (or module) from within the Player? I've never seen those.
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 951
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby marktb1961 » October 24th, 2020, 5:40 pm

Cattlesquat wrote:Mark could you post a screenshot of where you're seeing these options to save the buildFile (or module) from within the Player? I've never seen those.


Yes, to be correct, I should have referred to this options "module save", not just buildfile. Pic shows where I see it; the Cmd-S and Cmd-A options. Only visible if the module has been opened in editor mode.
Attachments
vassal module save.jpg
vassal module save.jpg (59.54 KiB) Viewed 1508 times
Platform used:
Vassal 3.4.11
MacOS Big Sur
iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 342
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby Cattlesquat » October 24th, 2020, 9:15 pm

Wow - those do NOT exist on Windows. I'm certain that is some kind of bug -- it's clearly very confusing for those to be there in the Player window to save the *Module* -- and they don't even SAY they save the module.

I have opened a bug about it - http://www.vassalengine.org/tracker/sho ... i?id=13552
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 951
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby marktb1961 » October 28th, 2020, 6:59 pm

In case not already thought of.... it would help to have Saving Module / Module saved messages output to chat as well.
Platform used:
Vassal 3.4.11
MacOS Big Sur
iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 342
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby Cattlesquat » October 30th, 2020, 2:56 am

3.5 has messages confirming when e.g. module have been saved (which now makes it throw me even MORE when I go back to e.g. the 3.4 line and it *doesn't*!)
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 951
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: Suspect bug in save as...

Postby marktb1961 » October 30th, 2020, 7:51 am

thanks Brian... no big deal. Looking forward to 3.5!
Platform used:
Vassal 3.4.11
MacOS Big Sur
iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 342
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests