Create account / Log in

Internal Error

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: Internal Error

Postby uckelman » December 31st, 2020, 4:23 pm

Sorry, I don't understand what you've said you're doing. Do you get that error message when you download the file? When you try to run the downloaded file?
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9227
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal Error

Postby billcoop4 » December 31st, 2020, 5:29 pm

When I try to run it.
billcoop4
 
Posts: 11
Joined: September 27th, 2010, 5:49 pm

Re: Internal Error

Postby uckelman » December 31st, 2020, 7:34 pm

It looks like you're having this problem: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... r-when-you

Try downloading the file to some other location, or move the file you downloaded to another location, then try running it again.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9227
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal Error

Postby Cattlesquat » December 31st, 2020, 7:44 pm

And if it *still* doesn't work, you probably need to run the EXE "as administrator" in order to install it. On Windows 10 that's normally done by right-clicking on the EXE file and instead of picking "open" pick the "run as administrator" option which I think is right below it.
User avatar
Cattlesquat
 
Posts: 987
Joined: December 2nd, 2019, 4:57 pm
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

Re: Internal Error

Postby billcoop4 » December 31st, 2020, 9:13 pm

OK< I get the following error messages.
Attachments
error message 2.png
error message 2.png (34.76 KiB) Viewed 1425 times
billcoop4
 
Posts: 11
Joined: September 27th, 2010, 5:49 pm

Re: Internal Error

Postby billcoop4 » December 31st, 2020, 9:15 pm

And I've removed the file and things work.

Thanks!
billcoop4
 
Posts: 11
Joined: September 27th, 2010, 5:49 pm

Re: Internal Error

Postby uckelman » December 31st, 2020, 9:46 pm

That's exactly the error message you should see in this situation, and it was sufficient for you to resolve the problem.

Thanks for persisting with me on this. The fix you have in that test build will be in whatever the next release is, either 3.4.13 or 3.5.0.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9227
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Internal Error

Postby billcoop4 » December 31st, 2020, 9:48 pm

Ok! Thanks. It will be our secret :)
billcoop4
 
Posts: 11
Joined: September 27th, 2010, 5:49 pm

Previous

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests