Create account / Log in

Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Postby Cundiff » January 17th, 2021, 1:25 am

Howdy Gents,

Not supremely important to me, but could be useful. I do alot of my graphics design work using older Photoshop programs that run on my old Vista. It would be helpful if I could get Vassal to run on it too. It's an old 32 bit laptop with 4 Gb RAM, and only 325 HD. But it gets the graphics work done with the use of an external.

I get the following Errors when I try to load and install 32 bit Vassal 3.4.12 and same when I try to run 3.1 win beta

The prodecure entry point K32EnumProcessModules could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll

Error: loading: C\Program
Files\VASSAL-3.4.12\jre\bin\client\jvm.dll

Now it will not kill me if I can't get this to work, but it would be helpful.

Thanks,
Tom
Cundiff
 
Posts: 205
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Postby uckelman » January 17th, 2021, 2:06 pm

Thus spake Cundiff:
> Howdy Gents,
>
> Not supremely important to me, but could be useful. I do alot of my
> graphics design work using older Photoshop programs that run on my old
> Vista. It would be helpful if I could get Vassal to run on it too.
> It's an old 32 bit laptop with 4 Gb RAM, and only 325 HD. But it gets
> the graphics work done with the use of an external.
>
> I get the following Errors when I try to load and install 32 bit Vassal
> 3.4.12 and same when I try to run 3.1 win beta
>
> The prodecure entry point K32EnumProcessModules could not be located in
> the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll
>
> Error: loading: C\Program
> Files\VASSAL-3.4.12\jre\bin\client\jvm.dll
>
> Now it will not kill me if I can't get this to work, but it would be
> helpful.

The bundled Java is Java 15. The earliest Java version you could use for
VASSAL 3.4 if you weren't using the bundled Java is Java 11. Java 11
requires Windows 7 or later. You won't find a build of Java 11 which
runs on Vista. There's nothing we can do about this.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9227
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Postby Cundiff » January 17th, 2021, 8:37 pm

Don't know if I was using the bundled Java or not. If it loads automatically when you install 3.4.12 then it attempted it, but failed. Which version should run on Vista? I couldn't get v3.1 to run.
Cundiff
 
Posts: 205
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Postby jrwatts » January 17th, 2021, 9:10 pm

To run version 3.2.17 of VASSAL or earlier, you need to install Java 8. You're out of luck trying to run version 3.3 or later on Vista.
jrwatts
 
Posts: 223
Joined: April 29th, 2020, 10:30 pm

Re: Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Postby uckelman » January 17th, 2021, 9:39 pm

Thus spake Cundiff:
> Which version should run on Vista? I couldn't get v3.1 to run.

3.2.17 will run on Vista with Java 8. But I don't recommend using 3.2.17 at
this point.

I defininitely don't recommend using Vista---Microsoft ended regular support
for Vista in 2012, and even extended support, which you would have had to
pay for, ended in 2017.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9227
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Postby Cundiff » January 18th, 2021, 1:44 am

Well, I still use Photo Deluxe (Photoshop 1) [Win95] as well as Photoshop 5 [XP], both of which are very early programs. The latest that will run them is the XP Shell on Vista. I know both programs well, having used them for decades, and in truth very little in the way of prepping art for Vassal requires more - in fact I've not found a single reason to use anything (or learn anything) more advanced. As my uncle used to say, "I don't need a fancy tractor to plow my garden" (he was a farmer).
Cundiff
 
Posts: 205
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Unable to Load and Run on 32 bit Vista

Postby uckelman » January 18th, 2021, 11:19 am

There aren't security exploits against tractors.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9227
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron