Create account / Log in

Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

Postby Ikarus » January 11th, 2008, 4:52 pm

My cards are set through a trigger action to automatically unmask on certain maps and a report action that reports the trigger action. As I understand it, when the card is already unmasked and ends its movement in the map, the trigger action shouldn't respond. I do however get a report, that the card gets unmasked although it was unmasked already.

Why is that?
Ikarus
 
Posts: 20
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 10:46 pm

Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

Postby Tim M » January 11th, 2008, 5:10 pm

This is probably because your report is sharing the same key as the trigger action keystroke. Instead, to prevent this happening, add a second key to perform on the trigger action and make this the keystroke of the report. So now youll have a key to perform the unmask and a key to make the report under the same trigger.

----- Original Message ----
From: Ikarus <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
To: messages@forums.vassalengine.org
Sent: Friday, January 11, 2008 10:52:03 AM
Subject: [Technical Support & Bugs]Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

My cards are set through a trigger action to automatically unmask on certain maps and I have set a report action for each card to report when it is unmasked. As I understand it, when the card is already unmasked and ends its movement in the map, the trigger action shouldn't respond. I do however get a report, that the card gets unmasked although it was unmasked already.

Why is that?







_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org (Messages@forums.vassalengine.org)
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages_forums.vassalengine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Postby Ikarus » January 11th, 2008, 5:47 pm

True, but the problem with that solution is, that

1. when I assign a reportable command name to the mask action, I also get a corresponding context-menu entry which don't want.

2. I get the same action reported regardless of masking or unmasking, but with maps where cards always get unmasked and other maps where card always get masked I do want to differentiate.
Ikarus
 
Posts: 20
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 10:46 pm

Trigger action reports without triggerbeing triggered

Postby Tim M » January 11th, 2008, 5:59 pm

Your doing something wrong then. Report Action does not add a context menu
entry

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Trigger action reports withouttriggerbeing triggered

Postby Tim M » January 11th, 2008, 6:02 pm

Lets say CTRL B is the command on your mask and CTRL A is the key for the
trigger.

Your trigger should have a keystroke of CTRL A and it should perform the
keystrokes CTRL B and CTRL R. CTRL R is your report Action trait - it should
not be sharing a keystroke with anything else

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Postby Ikarus » January 11th, 2008, 7:15 pm

Ah, defining a keystroke for the sole purpose of having it reported, I didn't think of that, thanks.

btw: Is there a quick way to find out which key combinations are already assigned and to what? With a large game with lots of report actions like this one you could easily lose track of all your keystrokes.
Ikarus
 
Posts: 20
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 10:46 pm

Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

Postby tbyrne » January 11th, 2008, 7:21 pm

On 1/11/08, Ikarus <messages@forums.vassalengine.org> wrote:
btw: Is there a quick way to find out which key combinations are already assigned and to what? With a large game with lots of report actions like this one you could easily lose track of all your keystrokes.

I just keep a file with notes in it. I edit the file as I add things
to my modules.

The same keystrokes can be used in different components if they are
not going to interact.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tbyrne
 
Posts: 79
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 1:57 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

Postby Tim M » January 11th, 2008, 8:18 pm

Yep - pen and paper is the only method available at the moment. This should probably get added as part of RFE#[ 1631875 ] VASSAL Debug Features

----- Original Message ----
From: Tim Byrne <sultan@locehilios.com>
To: VASSAL Engine Forums Mailing List <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
Sent: Friday, January 11, 2008 1:21:26 PM
Subject: Re: [Technical Support & Bugs]Re: Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

On 1/11/08, Ikarus <messages@forums.vassalengine.org (messages@forums.vassalengine.org)> wrote:
btw: Is there a quick way to find out which key combinations are already assigned and to what? With a large game with lots of report actions like this one you could easily lose track of all your keystrokes.

I just keep a file with notes in it. I edit the file as I add things
to my modules.

The same keystrokes can be used in different components if they are
not going to interact.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org (Messages@forums.vassalengine.org)
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages_forums.vassalengine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1799
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Trigger action reports without trigger being triggered

Postby tbyrne » January 11th, 2008, 8:24 pm

On 1/11/08, Timothy Mccarron <timothy.mccarron@sbcglobal.net> wrote:
pen and paper

Oh I'm way more advanced than that. I keep a text file!!!

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tbyrne
 
Posts: 79
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 1:57 pm
Location: Chicago, IL


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests