Create account / Log in

New graphics engine and scaling

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby mkiefte » February 2nd, 2008, 3:46 pm

I understand that the map boards are now being scaled in blocks, but why does it pause just as long when the scale factor is 1.0? Is it doing the same thing for 100% as with all the other zoom levels?
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby uckelman » February 3rd, 2008, 11:24 am

Thus spake "mkiefte":
I understand that the map boards are now being scaled in blocks, but why does
it pause just as long when the scale factor is 1.0? Is it doing the same thi
ng for 100% as with all the other zoom levels?

Yes. When using images backed by memory-mapped files, reading from them
every time you scroll is too slow, so I read tiles and cache those at 1:1.

Do you find this to be a problem? It could be changed so that tiling doesn't
happen at 1:1 when memory-mapped files are not in use.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8380
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby mkiefte » February 3rd, 2008, 12:00 pm

I guess I don't understand enough of how it works. This is what I've
been experiencing though:

- When I load in a very large map, there is a very long wait. My
suspicion was that it was rescaling to 1:1, but that apparently is not
the case. The time-savings I'm seeing is with non-1:1 zooms, but 1:1
is much, much slower.

- When I'm importing ADC2 modules, I create a counter tray that is
basically a second mapboard with a number of stacks with labels. I
notice that when I open the second mapboard, there is also a pause,
which is odd, because it's always 1:1 and it's often smaller than the
screen size.

- When the counter tray is open, cycle useage on my laptop is past 50%
even when Java is not obviously doing anything (ps says it's Java).
Likewise, when only the main map is open, it hovers around 25% for no
obvious reason.

It _is_ a laptop we're talking about here, but it's a relatively good
one. I just don't have a good sense of what it's doing. Does the
image rendering library turn off tiling when it looks like it doesn't
need to have it?

- M.

On 03/02/2008, Joel Uckelman <uckelman@nomic.net> wrote:
Thus spake "mkiefte":
I understand that the map boards are now being scaled in blocks, but why does
it pause just as long when the scale factor is 1.0? Is it doing the same thi
ng for 100% as with all the other zoom levels?

Yes. When using images backed by memory-mapped files, reading from them
every time you scroll is too slow, so I read tiles and cache those at 1:1.

Do you find this to be a problem? It could be changed so that tiling doesn't
happen at 1:1 when memory-mapped files are not in use.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby uckelman » February 3rd, 2008, 12:09 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
I guess I don't understand enough of how it works. This is what I've
been experiencing though:

- When I load in a very large map, there is a very long wait. My
suspicion was that it was rescaling to 1:1, but that apparently is not
the case. The time-savings I'm seeing is with non-1:1 zooms, but 1:1
is much, much slower.

How large? How long? Do you have memory-mapped images on or off?

- When I'm importing ADC2 modules, I create a counter tray that is
basically a second mapboard with a number of stacks with labels. I
notice that when I open the second mapboard, there is also a pause,
which is odd, because it's always 1:1 and it's often smaller than the
screen size.

This is probalby because map images aren't loaded until they are first
used.

- When the counter tray is open, cycle useage on my laptop is past 50%
even when Java is not obviously doing anything (ps says it's Java).
Likewise, when only the main map is open, it hovers around 25% for no
obvious reason.

You need to profile this to find out why.

It _is_ a laptop we're talking about here, but it's a relatively good
one. I just don't have a good sense of what it's doing. Does the
image rendering library turn off tiling when it looks like it doesn't
need to have it?

When memory-mapped images are on, there is no time when tiling isn't needed.
The only time when tiling isn't needed when all images are in-memory is
when the map is 1:1, but presently tiling happens then anyway.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8380
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby mkiefte » February 3rd, 2008, 1:42 pm

How large?

3916x5366.

How long?

Approximately 30s.

Do you have memory-mapped images on or off?

Originally it was deselected. However, the behaviour doesn't change
whether it's on or off.

The force pool window is 543x912 and takes 7s to appear. Again, it
doesn't seem to matter whether memory-mapped images is selected or
not.

This example is from the Burning Blue ADC2 module from GMT.

Any ideas?

- M.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby uckelman » February 3rd, 2008, 4:17 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
How large?

3916x5366.

How long?

Approximately 30s.

That's about what I'd expect for an image of that size.

Do you have memory-mapped images on or off?

Originally it was deselected. However, the behaviour doesn't change
whether it's on or off.

The force pool window is 543x912 and takes 7s to appear. Again, it
doesn't seem to matter whether memory-mapped images is selected or
not.

This example is from the Burning Blue ADC2 module from GMT.

Any ideas?

You really need to put this into a profiler to see where the time is
being spent. The profiler that I've been using is YourKit. Brent got
us licenses for it---ask him and he'll get you one.

I'm not going to have time to look at it myself prior to the feature
freeze, as I'm trying to finish integrating the stuff from the initial
screen into the app menus.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8380
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby tar » February 4th, 2008, 6:01 pm

On Feb 3, 2008, at 5:42 AM, Michael Kiefte wrote:

This example is from the Burning Blue ADC2 module from GMT.

Are you just doing this for practice with adapting ADC2 modules?

There's already a Burning Blue native Vassal module:

<http://www.vassalengine.org/community/index.php?option=com_vassal_modules&task=display&module_id=296



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 776
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby mkiefte » February 4th, 2008, 6:04 pm

I've been picking them at random. GMT has a bunch on their website.
I'm going to take a look at the native VASSAL module just out of
curiosity though.

- M.

On 04/02/2008, Thomas Russ <tar@isi.edu> wrote:
On Feb 3, 2008, at 5:42 AM, Michael Kiefte wrote:

This example is from the Burning Blue ADC2 module from GMT.

Are you just doing this for practice with adapting ADC2 modules?

There's already a Burning Blue native Vassal module:

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

New graphics engine and scaling

Postby mkiefte » February 4th, 2008, 6:06 pm

Of course, since I don't actually own Burning Blue, and it's a very
different sort of game apparently, I'm not sure what I'm looking at...

On 04/02/2008, Michael Kiefte <mkiefte@dal.ca> wrote:
I've been picking them at random. GMT has a bunch on their website.
I'm going to take a look at the native VASSAL module just out of
curiosity though.

- M.

On 04/02/2008, Thomas Russ <tar@isi.edu> wrote:
On Feb 3, 2008, at 5:42 AM, Michael Kiefte wrote:

This example is from the Burning Blue ADC2 module from GMT.

Are you just doing this for practice with adapting ADC2 modules?

There's already a Burning Blue native Vassal module:

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests