Create account / Log in

Vassal Problem

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Vassal Problem

Postby schsyter » September 18th, 2010, 1:09 pm

ok so I ended up getting a virus last weekend and used a malware program to clean it. Now when I goto run vassal I get nothing. Not even an error. I deleted Vassal and the malware program and then reinstalled Vassal to see if that would help and still am getting nothing. Does anyone have any suggestions for this problem. If so send me a PM please.

Thanks,
Schyster
schsyter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: September 18th, 2010, 12:58 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Vassal Problem

Postby uckelman » September 18th, 2010, 4:26 pm

Thus spake schsyter:
> ok so I ended up getting a virus last weekend and used a malware program
> to clean it. Now when I goto run vassal I get nothing. Not even an
> error. I deleted Vassal and the malware program and then reinstalled
> Vassal to see if that would help and still am getting nothing. Does
> anyone have any suggestions for this problem. If so send me a PM please.

We prefer to help people in the forum rather than privately; that way, the
discussion can help others with the same problem.

What do you see in the errorLog? This should be in your VASSAL directory
if you're using Windows.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby schsyter » September 19th, 2010, 4:00 am

There is no errorlog. I went threw the whole folder and no error log at all. I double click the icon to start the program and nothing happenes. Also im running Win Vista if that helps
schsyter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: September 18th, 2010, 12:58 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal Problem

Postby uckelman » September 19th, 2010, 10:48 am

Thus spake schsyter:
> There is no errorlog. I went threw the whole folder and no error log at
> all. I double click the icon to start the program and nothing happenes
>

What's the full path of the directory where you looked? I want to make sure
that you're looking the right place.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby noviru » September 19th, 2010, 2:41 pm

I have the exact same problem. Starting VASSAL results in nothing, no error message or anything. Also, I cannot find an errorfile in the VASSAL directory.

I am on Windows 7, and I have gone through a process similar to that of scshyter above, I installed VASSAL together with VASL, but I messed up the order in which to install things so nothing worked (I figured it was my bungled installation attempt). I removed everything and reinstalled and still nothing. I have VASSAL running nicely on a Windows XP desktop and a Mac OS 10 X MacBookPro at home. But it just wont start on the laptop I am currently using.

VASSAL version 3.1.14, installed in C:\VASSAL
Windows 7 enterprise
Java Version 6 Update 21

Any help appreciated
Thanks
Lars
noviru
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 19th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby tar » September 21st, 2010, 4:30 pm

Well, there is apparently some obscure interaction between Java and ClearType on Windows. It has been reported in Windows XP, but I haven't seen a report for Windows 7 yet. Here is the bug report:

http://bugs.sun.com/bugdatabase/view_bu ... id=6877831
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 772
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby schsyter » September 22nd, 2010, 1:09 am

Sorry..im not running vista..im running windows 7 also.
schsyter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: September 18th, 2010, 12:58 pm

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby noviru » September 23rd, 2010, 11:01 am

I disabled Cleartype as is described in the bug-fix above. No change.

When starting VASSAL, the VASSAL.exe process starts (I can see it in the Task manager) and runs for a split second then just disappears without a trace.

/Lars
noviru
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 19th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal Problem

Postby uckelman » September 23rd, 2010, 1:20 pm

Thus spake noviru:
> I disabled Cleartype as is described in the bug-fix above. No change.
>
> When starting VASSAL, the VASSAL.exe process starts (I can see it in the
> Task manager) and runs for a split second then just disappears without a
> trace.
>
> /Lars
>

We need to pin down whether this is a problem with VASSAL, or with one
of the things is relies on (e.g., Java, your OS).

Here's what you need to do:

1. Download VASSAL-3.1.14-other.zip. This is the generic bundle which
will run on any OS.

2. Unzip it wherever you want. (This is only temporary, you can put it
on your desktop if you like.)

3. Try running VASSAL.bat, which you'll find in the VASSAL-3.1.14
directory of the unzipped archive.

4. Report back to us what happens when you run VASSAL.bat. Letting us
know whether it works will help us isolate the problem you're having.


--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby noviru » September 23rd, 2010, 5:04 pm

Thanks!
I have followed the steps above, nothing happened at all. I ran the VASSAL.bat from a command prompt, and there was no printout at all, nothing, just a new prompt appearing after a split second. Jduging from the contents of the BAT file, it did start to run.

/Lars
noviru
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 19th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal Problem

Postby uckelman » September 23rd, 2010, 6:15 pm

Thus spake noviru:
> Thanks!
> I have followed the steps above, nothing happened at all. I ran the
> VASSAL.bat from a command prompt, and there was no printout at all,
> nothing, just a new prompt appearing after a split second. Jduging from
> the contents of the BAT file, it did start to run.
>
> /Lars
>

Ok, that means the problem is not with VASSAL, it's someplace else.
What do you see if you type 'java -version' at a command prompt?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby noviru » September 24th, 2010, 12:01 am

Java version "1.6.0_21"
Java (TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_21-b7)
Java Hotspot(TM) Client VM (build 17.0-b17, mixed mode)
noviru
 
Posts: 4
Joined: September 19th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal Problem

Postby uckelman » September 24th, 2010, 8:29 am

Thus spake noviru:
> Java version "1.6.0_21"
> Java (TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_21-b7)
> Java Hotspot(TM) Client VM (build 17.0-b17, mixed mode)
>

So, the JVM is on your path and appears to work. That's good.

In your terminal, go to the diectory where VASSAL.bat is, and run
this:

java -client -cp lib/Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager

What happens?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Vassal Problem

Postby schsyter » September 24th, 2010, 10:20 pm

ok..I ran the above like you asked and when I run the VASSAL.bat file is says Javaw and then says to make sure I have java installed.

I reinstalled java and it still doing the same thing.

Also I tryed to do the java -version in a command prompt and its says that java is not recognizeds as a internal or external command, operational program or batch file
schsyter
 
Posts: 8
Joined: September 18th, 2010, 12:58 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Vassal Problem

Postby uckelman » September 24th, 2010, 10:26 pm

Thus spake schsyter:
> ok..I ran the above like you asked and when I run the VASSAL.bat file is
> says Javaw and then says to make sure I have java installed.
>
> I reinstalled java and it still doing the same thing.
>

Reinstalling Java is seldom the solution.

What do you see if you type 'java -version' at a command prompt?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8140
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Next

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest