Create account / Log in

Automatisation

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderator: bsmith

Automatisation

Postby Ingvas » December 21st, 2010, 2:11 pm

Hello, everyone! I am just begining to learn vassal module creation and I have this question: Is there anyway to automate some actions such as: counting movement points for units, health calculation and stuff?
Ingvas
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 21st, 2010, 2:04 pm

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Automatisation

Postby Tim M » December 21st, 2010, 3:00 pm

Yes, but with the standard Vassal tools it is quite difficult to do so it
generally is easier to write custom java classes to do this for you (if you
know how to code in java).

http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Progra ... Configurab
le_class

This wiki page gives an example of doing such a thing

-----Original Message-----
From: messages-bounces@vassalengine.org
[mailto:messages-bounces@vassalengine.org] On Behalf Of Ingvas
Sent: Tuesday, December 21, 2010 8:12 AM
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Subject: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Automatisation

Hello, everyone! I am just begining to learn vassal module creation and
I have this question: Is there anyway to automate some actions such as:
counting movement points for units, health calculation and stuff?

_______________________________________________
Read this topic online here:
viewtopic.php?p=21121#p21121
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Automatisation

Postby DrNostromo » December 21st, 2010, 3:06 pm

Is there anyway to automate some actions such as: counting movement points for units, health calculation and stuff?


Sure. May take some time to get used to how the Vassal Engine works but automation is quite doable. If it gets complex, it has to be solid or it could get you into trouble with unexpected results. I'm sort of an automation junkie and I've spent many a hair pulling sessions trying to figure out what's wrong with my logic.

As far as calculating things, keep in mind that all the Vassal Engine can do at this time is add to or subtract from variable values using the Dynamic Property and Set Global Property traits. It cannot do mathematical expressions. The next major release of Vassal (3.2) will have a mathematics and expression engine but currently it doesn't.

If you want a sample of what can be done, give me a scenario and I'll put a sample together for you. Feel free to E-mail me if you like.
Dr_Nostromo
Creator - To Be King, Trivial Wars, WWIV
Dr Nostromo's Place
Dr Nostromo's Forum
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 820
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: [messages] [Technical Support & Bugs] Re: Automatisation

Postby tar » December 21st, 2010, 5:30 pm

On Dec 21, 2010, at 7:06 AM, DrNostromo wrote:

>
>> Is there anyway to automate some actions such as: counting movement
>> points for units, health calculation and stuff?
>
> As far as calculating things, keep in mind that all the Vassal Engine
> can do at this time is add to or subtract from variable values using
> the
> Dynamic Property and Set Global Property traits. It cannot do
> mathematical expressions.

Movement points in particular will be hard because there isn't
currently any way to represent terrain and terrain costs. There is a
feature request for something along these lines, but that is in the
far future.

I would think that to do this properly would be a bit tricky -- unless
you wanted to force a hex-by-hex movement of the units. And then
using some sort of undo, when you need to change in the middle of the
move or because your mouse hand is a bit clumsy.
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 733
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

Re: Automatisation

Postby Ingvas » December 24th, 2010, 10:53 am

Thanks for your replies, guys! I guess, I will wait for the next version then.
Ingvas
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 21st, 2010, 2:04 pm

Re: Automatisation

Postby spetras73 » September 2nd, 2011, 3:03 pm

DrNostromo wrote:
Is there anyway to automate some actions such as: counting movement points for units, health calculation and stuff?


As far as calculating things, keep in mind that all the Vassal Engine can do at this time is add to or subtract from variable values using the Dynamic Property and Set Global Property traits. It cannot do mathematical expressions. The next major release of Vassal (3.2) will have a mathematics and expression engine but currently it doesn't.

If you want a sample of what can be done, give me a scenario and I'll put a sample together for you. Feel free to E-mail me if you like.


Hi,

I'd love some guidance on automating various functions in the Pacific War module. Are you familiar with the game? Do you have time to help?

Thanks in advance,

Steve
User avatar
spetras73
 
Posts: 26
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 2:58 am

Re: Automatisation

Postby DrNostromo » September 3rd, 2011, 2:35 am

I don't know the game but let us know in particular what you want to do and maybe we can come up with something.
Dr_Nostromo
Creator - To Be King, Trivial Wars, WWIV
Dr Nostromo's Place
Dr Nostromo's Forum
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 820
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Automatisation

Postby spetras73 » September 6th, 2011, 5:59 pm

During the 'Strategic Phase' of the game there are several processes that involve die rolling and chart lookups that require input from both players based on the their choices and the game situation.

I guess to start, how to I setup the module so it 'knows' some of this input data?

Then, how do we tell the module how to use it?
User avatar
spetras73
 
Posts: 26
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 2:58 am


Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron