Page 1 of 1

Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 3:37 pm
by hendersondayton
I have a few guys who are trying to peer to peer on our companies network. We all have the same IP address. How can we connect?

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 3:47 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake hendersondayton:
> I have a few guys who are trying to peer to peer on our companies
> network. We all have the same IP address. How can we connect?

You might all be NATed behind the same internet-facing IP address,
but you cannot all have the same local IP and have a properly
functioning LAN. Connect using your local IPs, which will all be
different.

--
J.

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 3:57 pm
by hendersondayton
I assume I can find the local IP thru IPCONFIG? You are talking about the number I would get from "whatsmyip.com"?

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 3:59 pm
by hendersondayton
Does everyone have to be logged into vassal to be able to accept the invite?

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 4:40 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake hendersondayton:
> I assume I cannot find the local IP thru IPCONFIG as our numbers are all
> the same. You are talking about the number I would get from
> "whatsmyip.com"?

No, that's your public-facing IP. How you find the IP assigned to the
NIC in your machine depends on the OS you're using.

--
J.

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 4:46 pm
by hendersondayton
Windows 7

When typing in IPCONFIG in Cmd I get a IPv4 number, a subnet mask, and a default gateway.

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 5:13 pm
by hendersondayton
Just noticed a potential issue. When trying to INVITE a player Instead of getting the IP ADDRESS I get:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" " etc. etc.

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 6:14 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake hendersondayton:
> Just noticed a potential issue. When trying to INVITE a player Instead
> of getting the IP ADDRESS I get:
>
> > etc.
>

From what are you getting this?

--
J.

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 13th, 2012, 6:14 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake hendersondayton:
> [This message has been edited.]
>
> Windows 7
>
> When typing in IPCONFIG in Cmd I get a IPv4 number, a subnet mask, and a
> default gateway.
>

What IPv4 address are you getting this way?

--
J.

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: November 14th, 2012, 1:56 am
by hendersondayton
uckelman wrote:Thus spake hendersondayton:
> Just noticed a potential issue. When trying to INVITE a player Instead
> of getting the IP ADDRESS I get:
>
> etc.
>

From what are you getting this?

--
J.


I was getting that in the INVITE box where you type in the IP Address of the person you want to invite. Instead of showing my IP and port, it showed that error...

Re: Peer to peer on an office network

PostPosted: June 7th, 2013, 7:19 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake hendersondayton:
>
> I was getting that in the INVITE box where you type in the IP Address of
> the person you want to invite. Instead of showing my IP and port, it
> showed that error...
>

Consider trying the P2P mode in the current release, 3.2.6, which has
changed significantly since you had this problem.

--
J.