Create account / Log in

Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby Halco » December 4th, 2012, 11:15 pm

I just started trying to use Vassal. So far 3.1.20 and 3.2.0 have had graphics problems. I have tested various modules and settings. I have installed latest Java. I have restarted many times in between changing settings.

3.2.0: will only display on one zoom setting (usually "zoom out" one click displays OK). All other levels of zoom are glitchy. Some cards do not display text. Some counters do not display text.

3.1.20: All Maps work fine at all zoom levels. Some cards do not display text. Some counters do not display text.

Card and counter issues may be related to display of vector graphics, but only Vassal, no other applications, is effected. Map issues in 3.2.0 only.

Model:Macbook Pro w/Retina Display
OS: Mac OS X 10.8.2
CPU: Core i7 2.3 ghz
Memory: 16GB
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB
VASSAL: 3.1.20 AND 3.2.0
Java: 1.7.0_09
Modules tested: Various/All: Twilight Struggle, Washington's War, Crusader Rex, Here I Stand, Up Front, Paths of Glory, Devil's Cauldron, etc.
Attachments
Fullscreen-10.jpeg
Twilight Struggle in 3.2
Fullscreen-10.jpeg (176.6 KiB) Viewed 6936 times
Halco
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 4th, 2012, 10:49 pm

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby uckelman » December 5th, 2012, 10:07 am

Thus spake Halco:
>
> I just started trying to use Vassal. So far 3.1.20 and 3.2.0 have had
> graphics problems. I have tested various modules and settings. I have
> installed latest Java. I have restarted many times in between changing
> settings.
>
> 3.2.0: will only display on one zoom setting (usually "zoom out" one
> click displays OK). All other levels of zoom are glitchy. Some cards do
> not display text. Some counters do not display text.
>
> 3.1.20: All Maps work fine at all zoom levels. Some cards do not display
> text. Some counters do not display text.
>
> Card and counter issues may be related to display of vector graphics,
> but only Vassal, no other applications, is effected. Map issues in 3.2.0
> only.
>
> Model:Macbook Pro w/Retina Display
> OS: Mac OS X 10.8.2
> CPU: Core i7 2.3 ghz
> Memory: 16GB
> Video: NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB
> VASSAL: 3.1.20 AND 3.2.0
> Java: 1.7.0_09
> Modules tested: Various/All: Twilight Struggle, Washington's War,
> Crusader Rex, Here I Stand, Up Front, Paths of Glory, Devil's Cauldron,
> etc.

First, try the current development build, 3.2.1-svn8448:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds/

This might solve the map display problem you're having with 3.2.0, but
should make no difference for rendering SVG.

Then, we need you to determine what the last released version of VASSAL
was which doesn't have any of these problems on your machine. You can
find the release archive here:

http://www.vassalengine.org/releases/

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby Halco » December 5th, 2012, 2:57 pm

Map displays in 3.2.1 still buggy. The maps display glitchy maybe 80% of zoom levels instead of 90%. So thats an improvement. SVG cards still do not display.

Vassal 3.1.0 Maps are fine. SVG Cards have no text.

Trying to figure ot how to run generic versions of Vassal 2.
Halco
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 4th, 2012, 10:49 pm

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby Halco » December 5th, 2012, 3:39 pm

So obviously VASSAL 2.9 and earlier can't run the modules for TS, Here I Stand, etc.

Are there any other modules with SVG cards I can test on 3.2.1?

I attached images from TS to give you an idea of what I see. Note that it works at some zoom levels and not at others. Some games only work at one zoom level.
Attachments
Vassal.jpg
TS on 3.2.1
Vassal.jpg (209.15 KiB) Viewed 6920 times
Halco
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 4th, 2012, 10:49 pm

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby uckelman » December 5th, 2012, 5:02 pm

Thus spake Halco:
> Map displays in 3.2.1 still buggy. The maps display glitchy maybe 80% of
> zoom levels instead of 90%.

Could you pick a module and report back which zoom levels display
properly in the 3.2.1 bild for you?

> So thats an improvement. SVG cards still do not display.
>
> Vassal 3.1.0 Maps are fine. SVG Cards have no text.

This is what I suspected you'd find---that there is no version of 3.1
where text renders properly in SVG for you.

We're using Batik for SVG rendering. We moved from Batik 1.7 to Batik
1.8pre between 3.1.20 and 3.2.0, but what you're reported would seem to
rule out a new bug in Batik 1.8pre as a problem.

This would also seem to rule out any changes we made to SVG rendering
between 3.1.0 and the present.

I would say that you're hitting this bug:

https://issues.apache.org/bugzilla/show ... i?id=47917

except that I believe we're already disabling Quartz as is recommended
in one of the comments.

Could you post the errorLog for a run of 3.2 where SVG isn't rendering
properly?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 6th, 2012, 1:29 am

Text in SVG renders perfectly in 3.2 (and any build of 3.1.x) on my iMac:

OS: Mac OS X 10.7.5
Java: 1.6.0_37

The other user I've tried to help who had this issue is on OS X 10.8 and had it occur both with Java 6 and Java 7--enabling/disabling the Quartz renderer had no effect.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 730
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby JoelCFC25 » December 6th, 2012, 2:18 pm

Complicating things somewhat, I got a report from a different player in my game who is using OS X 10.8 and not experiencing the missing SVG text issue.

Could it be something unique to the drivers required for these MacBooks with the Retina displays?
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 730
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby uckelman » December 6th, 2012, 3:01 pm

Thus spake JoelCFC25:
> Complicating things somewhat, I got a report from a different player in
> my game who is using OS X 10.8 and __not__ experiencing the missing SVG
> text issue.
>
> Could it be something unique to the drivers required for these MacBooks
> with the Retina displays?

It's possible. Since I don't have access to one of these misbehaving
machines myself, we'll need someone who has one and is willing to run
some diagnostic builds for us.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby gdaudin » December 9th, 2012, 1:37 pm

I have similar issues with a MacBook Pro Retina 15", Mac OS X 10.8.2 and vassal 3.2.0.

In many of my modules, the map only works on one zoom levels.

I have tried 3.2.1-svn8448 and that does not solve my problems.

None of the 3.2 betas would run on my machine anymore (mabye because I have installed 3.2.0 ?), but from memory, the latest one to work was 3.2.0.

Do you want me to run some diagnostic builds ?

Best,

Guillaume
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby uckelman » December 9th, 2012, 2:13 pm

Thus spake gdaudin:
> I have similar issues with a MacBook Pro Retina 15", Mac OS X 10.8.2 and
> vassal 3.2.0.
>
> In many of my modules, the map only works on one zoom levels.
>
> I have tried 3.2.1-svn8448 and that does not solve my problems.
>
> None of the 3.2 betas would run on my machine anymore (mabye because I
> have installed 3.2.0 ?), but from memory, the latest one to work was
> 3.2.0.
>
> Do you want me to run some diagnostic builds ?
>

The first thing I need to know is which zoom levels work and which
don't, and whether that varies from module to module.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby gdaudin » December 9th, 2012, 7:12 pm

Breakout Normandy : all work except 200%
Hellenes : only 100% works
Warriors of God : only 100% works
Clash of Monarchs : only 100% works
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby uckelman » December 9th, 2012, 7:14 pm

Thus spake gdaudin:
> Breakout Normandy : all work except 200%
> Hellenes : only 100% works
> Warriors of God : only 100% works
> Clash of Monarchs : only 100% works

Can you tell me what constitutes "all" for these modules? What are
the zoom levels other than the ones you've mentioned?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby gdaudin » December 9th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Sure.

> Breakout Normandy : all work except 200% (200/100/50/25/13)
> Hellenes : only 100% works (100/80/60/40)
> Warriors of God : only 100% works (130/100/77/59/46/35)
> Clash of Monarchs : only 100% works (100/84/68/52/36/20)
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby uckelman » December 9th, 2012, 7:42 pm

Thus spake gdaudin:
> Sure.
>
> > Breakout Normandy : all work except 200% (200/100/50/25/13)
> > Hellenes : only 100% works (100/80/60/40)
> > Warriors of God : only 100% works (130/100/77/59/46/35)
> > Clash of Monarchs : only 100% works (100/84/68/52/36/20)

That's extremely helpful. Thanks.

The tile cache contains tiles for each scale factor 1/2^n where n >= 0
and the tiles would still be at least 1x1. Tiles for all other scale
factors are computed from the nearest tiles in the tile cache. The zoom
levels which work for you are exactly the ones where tiles are loaded
from the tile cache and displayed without further scaling.

All of Breakout Normandy's scale factors are 1/2^n (13% is actually 12.5,
ut it's rounded for display purposes) for n >= 0 except for 200%. For the
other modules, the scale factors other than 100% aren't reciprocals of
powers of two, so the tiles being displayed have to be downscaled from
tiles in the cache.

So, we need to look into why OS X is not liking what the tile scaler is
producing. That narrows down the problem quite at lot.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing Card Text, Glitchy maps

Postby uckelman » December 10th, 2012, 10:30 pm

Thus spake Joel Uckelman:
>
> So, we need to look into why OS X is not liking what the tile scaler is
> producing. That narrows down the problem quite at lot.

Try the 3.2.1-svn8477-tiletest diagnostic build:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds/

Load a module where only 100% works and zoom through the levels. Then
post the errorLog here. You can find the errorLog in the Module Manager
under Help > Show Error Log.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8848
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Next

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: m3tan and 6 guests