Create account / Log in

Missing card and counter text

Issues with the Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby mgringo » February 18th, 2013, 4:41 pm

Interesting... That looks like an Apple message and not a java message.
mgringo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 18th, 2013, 9:20 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby gdaudin » February 18th, 2013, 4:44 pm

I do lauch it from the Application folder. I get the later error message.
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby mgringo » February 18th, 2013, 5:35 pm

gdaudin wrote:I do lauch it from the Application folder. I get the later error message.


Ok, just to be sure try this:

1. cd /Applications/VASSAL-3.2.3-svn8552.app/Contents/Resources/Java
2. java -version


3. java -classpath Vengine.jar VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager

Step 2 should show this: (or something similar)

java version "1.7.0_04"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_04-b21)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.0-b21, mixed mode)


After step 3, you should see Vassal running (it will run the module selection manager and then you choose the module).

Clash of Monarchs counters don't apparently have the issue. Maybe they don't use text.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B6ysbTJ ... sp=sharing
mgringo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 18th, 2013, 9:20 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby gdaudin » February 18th, 2013, 5:42 pm

Hi Michael,

Yes, this method works. Vassal is being launched.

And actually, I now have the text on the counters. Though the application does not seem to be Retina-optimized as it was before all that.

Also, I do not have the Vassal Icons in the dock, but only the Java ones.

Best,

Guillaume
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby mgringo » February 18th, 2013, 5:46 pm

gdaudin wrote:Hi Michael,

Yes, this method works. Vassal is being launched.

And actually, I now have the text on the counters. Though the application does not seem to be Retina-optimized as it was before all that.

Also, I do not have the Vassal Icons in the dock, but only the Java ones.

Best,

Guillaume


Hey, you are right. Virgin Queen comes up with text on the counters too. It just looks awful.

LOL

I guess we have a workaround. Yech. ;-)
mgringo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 18th, 2013, 9:20 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby uckelman » February 18th, 2013, 6:18 pm

Thus spake mgringo:
>
> Hey, you are right. Virgin Queen comes up with text on the counters too.
> It just looks awful.
>
> LOL
>
> I guess we have a workaround. Yech. ;-)
>

Could you post a screenshot of this?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8844
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby mgringo » February 18th, 2013, 6:36 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake mgringo:
>
> Hey, you are right. Virgin Queen comes up with text on the counters too.
> It just looks awful.
>
> LOL
>
> I guess we have a workaround. Yech. ;-)
>

Could you post a screenshot of this?

--
J.


Here's a piece of the screen. It doesn't look too bad.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-02-18 at 1.34.32 PM.jpg
Restricted class path.
Screen Shot 2013-02-18 at 1.34.32 PM.jpg (222.92 KiB) Viewed 4143 times
mgringo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 18th, 2013, 9:20 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby JoelCFC25 » February 19th, 2013, 2:29 am

mgringo wrote:Clash of Monarchs counters don't apparently have the issue. Maybe they don't use text.

That's correct. The Clash of Monarchs module, like 99% of them, uses JPG/PNG images for all its art assets. My modules use SVG images, and the problem being worked around relates to the rendering of SVG.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 729
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby gdaudin » February 19th, 2013, 7:48 am

Good morning gentlemen,

I have a mouse pointer issue when launching vassal in this way.

BTW, Michael, what is the version of Java run by Vassal when you start it "normally" ?

Best regards,

Guillaume
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby uckelman » February 19th, 2013, 8:54 am

Thus spake gdaudin:
> Good morning gentlemen,
>
> I have a mouse pointer issue when launching vassal in this way.

Can you be more specific? What's wrong?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8844
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby gdaudin » February 19th, 2013, 9:31 am

When I try to do a drag and drop with a piece, the piece "ghost" appears to be one centimeter above the pointer.
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby mgringo » February 19th, 2013, 1:37 pm

[quote="gdaudin"]

I have a mouse pointer issue when launching vassal in this way.

BTW, Michael, what is the version of Java run by Vassal when you start it "normally" ?

/quote]

The short answer: The first one java finds in your class path.

What we are doing is overriding the existing class path to guarantee that we find only the jars that we know are correct. Your comment before about the system not starting because of the version indicated to me that there was still an invalid connection to a jar from a preexisting version (it was compiled with an earlier library). So uekelman's technique excluded all the other virtual machines and launching from the command line specifying only the minimal number of jars ruled everything else out.

I will take a look at the mouse cursor a little later. I am so happy to have slept! :-)

All the best,

Michael
mgringo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 18th, 2013, 9:20 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby gdaudin » February 19th, 2013, 2:21 pm

The short answer: The first one java finds in your class path.


Hi,

Got that. I meant in your install. I assume you have cleaner Java installation than me, and I was wondering how come Vassal does not run in the same way when you start "normally" and by the command line method on your machine.

Or maybe I am utterly confused, which is very plausible.

Best regards,

Guillaume
gdaudin
 
Posts: 55
Joined: November 9th, 2011, 7:19 am

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby uckelman » February 19th, 2013, 3:19 pm

Thus spake mgringo:
> [quote="gdaudin"]
>
> BTW, Michael, what is the version of Java run by Vassal when you start
> it "normally" ?
>
> /quote]
>
> The short answer: The first one java finds in your class path.
>
> What we are doing is overriding the existing class path to guarantee
> that we find only the jars that we know are correct. Your comment before
> about the system not starting because of the version indicated to me
> that there was still an invalid connection to a jar from a preexisting
> version (it was compiled with an earlier library). So uekelman's
> technique excluded all the other virtual machines and launching from the
> command line specifying only the minimal number of jars ruled everything
> else out.

This is not entirely accurate. You're conflating two unrelated things,
the PATH, and Java's classpath. Which JRE binary is used when 'java'
is invoked is determined by the leftmost directory on the PATH contains
which contains a file called 'java'. The Java classpath is something
that the JRE uses to find class files. It has a similar function as the
PATH, but is specific to Java and is something which gets specified
when you start the JRE. There is no way that you can set the classpath
which whill affect which JRE is started.

The reason that you can launch VASSAL by specifying lib/Vengine.jar as
the entire classpath is that Vengine.jar contains a manifest file which
adds the jars on which we depend to the classpath. The point of this is
that it makes it harder to get the classpath wrong.

Summary: The Java classpath is irrelevant here. The problem is with
the PATH (which, BTW, you can print with 'echo $PATH').

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8844
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Missing card and counter text

Postby mgringo » February 19th, 2013, 3:54 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake mgringo:
>
gdaudin wrote:>
> BTW, Michael, what is the version of Java run by Vassal when you start
> it "normally" ?
>
> /quote]
>
> The short answer: The first one java finds in your class path.
>
> What we are doing is overriding the existing class path to guarantee
> that we find only the jars that we know are correct. Your comment before
> about the system not starting because of the version indicated to me
> that there was still an invalid connection to a jar from a preexisting
> version (it was compiled with an earlier library). So uekelman's
> technique excluded all the other virtual machines and launching from the
> command line specifying only the minimal number of jars ruled everything
> else out.

This is not entirely accurate. You're conflating two unrelated things,
the PATH, and Java's classpath. Which JRE binary is used when 'java'
is invoked is determined by the leftmost directory on the PATH contains
which contains a file called 'java'. The Java classpath is something
that the JRE uses to find class files. It has a similar function as the
PATH, but is specific to Java and is something which gets specified
when you start the JRE. There is no way that you can set the classpath
which whill affect which JRE is started.

The reason that you can launch VASSAL by specifying lib/Vengine.jar as
the entire classpath is that Vengine.jar contains a manifest file which
adds the jars on which we depend to the classpath. The point of this is
that it makes it harder to get the classpath wrong.

Summary: The Java classpath is irrelevant here. The problem is with
the PATH (which, BTW, you can print with 'echo $PATH').

--
J.


or "whereis java" with /usr/bin/java the most likely answer.

Any binary is found with $PATH - not just java. The "special" problem he has with mis-matched jars really seems to be a bad installation (perhaps jars from multiple versions?) I don't know really, but reducing the variables is always a good strategy. Maybe there are shared object libraries too? PATH would be a factor then.

Warmest regards,

Michael
mgringo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: February 18th, 2013, 9:20 am

PreviousNext

Return to Technical Support & Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests