Page 1 of 1

Vassal will not run on a laptop

PostPosted: August 14th, 2013, 8:50 am
by LED
Vassal 3.2.7 will not start when the desktop icon is clicked. The 'busy' wheel appears for a few seconds, then disappears. The same happens whatever method is used to start the program – trying through Administrator, going directly to the Program Files location, etc. The same happens with Vassal 3.2.8.
I previously posted this query through the General Discussions page (not realising that there was a Technical Support page as this was my first post to Vassal) and received a prompt reply from 'Uckelman'. This gave a link to a page about checking Java.
The laptop had Java versions 6 and 7 installed. Version 6 was removed.

Laptop details are:-:
Model - Samsung R730
Operating System - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
CPU - Pentium(R) Dual-Core T4400 @ 2.20GHz 2200MHz, 2 Cores
Memory - 3GB
Video Card - No separate card
Vassal version - 3.2.7
Java version - 7 Update 25

The Error Log is attached

Re: Vassal will not run on a laptop

PostPosted: August 20th, 2013, 5:34 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake LED:
> Vassal 3.2.7 will not start when the desktop icon is clicked. The
> 'busy' wheel appears for a few seconds, then disappears. The same
> happens whatever method is used to start the program – trying through
> Administrator, going directly to the Program Files location, etc. The
> same happens with Vassal 3.2.8.
> I previously posted this query through the General Discussions page (not
> realising that there was a Technical Support page as this was my first
> post to Vassal) and received a prompt reply from 'Uckelman'. This gave
> a link to a page about checking Java.
> The laptop had Java versions 6 and 7 installed. Version 6 was removed.
>
> Laptop details are:-:
> Model - Samsung R730
> Operating System - Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
> CPU - Pentium(R) Dual-Core T4400 @ 2.20GHz 2200MHz, 2 Cores
> Memory - 3GB
> Video Card - No separate card
> Vassal version - 3.2.7
> Java version - 7 Update 25
>
> The Error Log is attached
> 2013-08-14 09:22:12,515 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp -
> 2013-08-14 09:22:1Starting 2,515 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp
> 2013-08-14 09:22:1- OS Windows 7 6.1 2,515 [0-main] INFO
> 2013-08-14 09:22:1VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.7.0_25
> 2013-08-14 09:22:12,515 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL
> 2013-08-14 09:22:1version 3.2.7 2,593 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO
> 2013-08-14 09:22:1VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager 3,310 [0-main]
> 2013-08-14 09:22:1WARN VASSAL.tools.logging.LoggedOutputStream -
> 2013-08-14 09:22:1VASSAL: Problem with socket on port 49166 3,310

Here's your problem. It looks like something is preventing VASSAL from
connecting to a local socket. Are you running a local firewall or
antivirus program which blocks connections to the loopback device?

--
J.

Re: Vassal will not run on a laptop

PostPosted: August 23rd, 2013, 8:26 pm
by LED
Thank you for your advice which has proved most useful.

The computer firewall is ZoneAlarm. I was unable to persuade it to accept Vassal, so after some experimenting, the Application Control section of ZoneAlarm was temporarily shut off, after which Vassal ran properly.

Vassal will never be run whilst the laptop is connected to the internet so a temporary stop on the firewall will not be a problem. Vassal runs with the Windows firewall but I'm used to ZoneAlarm.

Thank you again for your help, without which I would not have been able to run Vassal on the laptop.

Re: Vassal will not run on a laptop

PostPosted: August 23rd, 2013, 8:53 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake LED:
> Thank you for your advice which has proved most useful.
>
> The computer firewall is ZoneAlarm. I was unable to persuade it to
> accept Vassal, so after some experimenting, the Application Control
> section of ZoneAlarm was temporarily shut off, after which Vassal ran
> properly.

It should be possible to tell ZoneAlarm that connections over the
loopback device are ok. (It's braindead that ZoneAlarm blocks the
loopback device in the first place, because the loopback device is
not connected to the Internet---it is wholly local.) What you should
be looking for in ZoneAlarm is "127.0.0.1", "loopback", or "localhost".
I don't know what ZoneAlarm will be calling it, but there ought to be
some way to permit access.

--
J.

Re: Vassal will not run on a laptop

PostPosted: August 25th, 2013, 8:33 pm
by LED
Thanks again.

After some poking about in the ZoneAlarm system, I discovered that '127.0.0.1' was the IP address which Java was trying to access when Vassal started. This was added to the 'Zones' section of ZoneAlarm and set as 'Trusted'. ZoneAlarm still queries Java's access attempt but this can be allowed either each time Vassal starts or set as a permanent permission.

Vassal now runs without ZoneAlarm being disabled, which saves having to remember to re-set it when connecting to the internet.

Once again, many thanks for your help and advice.