Page 1 of 1

Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 6th, 2014, 9:35 pm
by Grimcrimm
My friends vassal wont launch here is the error log ALL of it
2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS Windows 8 6.2
2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java version 1.7.0_60
2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL version 3.2.12
2014-07-05 18:16:33,745 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
2014-07-05 18:16:34,386 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerWindow - Module C:\Program Files\VASSAL-3.2.11\doc\tour.mod not found - Removed.

he fresh installed vassal and java if anyone could help us we'd appreciate it

He is running windows 8

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 6th, 2014, 9:54 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake Grimcrimm via messages:
> My friends vassal wont launch here is the error log ALL of it
> 2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Starting
> 2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - OS
> Windows 8 6.2
> 2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - Java
> version 1.7.0_60
> 2014-07-05 18:16:33,652 [0-main] INFO VASSAL.launch.StartUp - VASSAL
> version 3.2.12
> 2014-07-05 18:16:33,745 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO
> VASSAL.launch.ModuleManager - Manager
> 2014-07-05 18:16:34,386 [0-AWT-EventQueue-0] INFO
> VASSAL.launch.ModuleManagerWindow - Module C:\Program
> Files\VASSAL-3.2.11\doc\tour.mod not found - Removed.

What is is seeing when this happens?

> he fresh installed vassal and java if anyone could help us we'd
> appreciate it

This is pointless unless there is some specific reason to believe it
would help.

--
J.

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 6th, 2014, 10:07 pm
by Grimcrimm
Nothing comes up at all

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 7th, 2014, 4:53 am
by Grimcrimm
bump possible soloution

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 7th, 2014, 8:37 am
by uckelman
Thus spake Grimcrimm via messages:
> Nothing comes up at all

We can see from the log that the Module Manager is starting. My guess
is that the last run didn't close properly, and the mechanism which
prevents two Module Managers from running at once is stopping a second
one from being displayed.

Does your friend see the MM if he tries to start VASSAL after rebooting?

--
J.

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 8th, 2014, 9:45 pm
by Grimcrimm
He has already tried that its not running when he goes to execute it nothing happens

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 10:45 am
by uckelman
Thus spake Grimcrimm via messages:
> He has already tried that its not running when he goes to execute it
> nothing happens

Already tried what? Has he verified (using the Task Manager) that there
is no Java process running when he starts VASSAL?

--
J.

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 7:39 pm
by Grimcrimm
Yes

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 8:06 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake Grimcrimm via messages:
> Yes
>

Does he have more than one version of Java installed?

--
J.

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 8:55 pm
by Grimcrimm
no

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 8:56 pm
by Grimcrimm
and yes the correct version is installed

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 9:10 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake Grimcrimm via messages:
> and yes the correct version is installed
>

Has your friend been through everything here?

http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/VASSAL_Does_Not_Start

--
J.

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 9:57 pm
by Grimcrimm
Yes we went there before i asked for help

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 10:17 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake Grimcrimm via messages:
> Yes we went there before i asked for help
>

Can you attach to the java process with jvisualvm or jdb and give me
some idea of what it's doing?

--
J.

Re: Vassal wont lauch

PostPosted: July 9th, 2014, 10:26 pm
by Grimcrimm
we're working on getting you the debug or virtual machine thing right now

What happens is he will run the .exe and then nothing happens

All the paths seem to be right but NOTHING happens