Create account / Log in

Deck Property Expression

Suggestions for additional features for the module editor and Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Deck Property Expression

Postby Tim M » September 7th, 2008, 2:48 pm

The expression for exposing the number of cards in a deck : $Deck_numPieces$ does not appear to be a module level property

Trying to expose this property on another game piece located in a different mapboard using a text label, results in the text label just displaying "Deck_numPieces" instead of the actual value.

Could we have this property adjusted to the module level?
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Deck Property Expression

Postby Brent Easton » September 8th, 2008, 12:58 am

The $Deck_numPieces$ property is a Map level property, not a module level property.

I have a fix done I was saving for 3.2 that implements a namespace for map and zone properties so that you can reference the property as follows:

$mapname.Deck_numPieces$

A Zone property would be referenced with $mapname.zonename.propertName$.

It's not a big change, perhaps I can bring it forward?

Could we have this property adjusted to the module level?

No, there may already exist modules that depend of Deck names being Map level.

Regards,
Brent.



*********** REPLY SEPARATOR ***********

On 7/09/2008 at 7:48 AM Tim M wrote:

The expression for exposing the number of cards in a deck :
$Deck_numPieces$ does not appear to be a module level property

Trying to expose this property on another game piece located in a
different mapboard using a text label, results in the text label just
displaying "Deck_numPieces" instead of the actual value.

Could we have this property adjusted to the module level?



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3225
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Deck Property Expression

Postby Tim M » September 8th, 2008, 1:54 am

I think it would be good to bring this and the other little fixes you have
made forward (DP change, Audio mp3 etc..).

We are still in beta and these small modifications should not break
underlying core anymore than the bugs that are being found already

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Deck Property Expression

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2008, 3:44 pm

Thus spake "Brent Easton":
The $Deck_numPieces$ property is a Map level property, not a module level pro
perty.

I have a fix done I was saving for 3.2 that implements a namespace for map an
d zone properties so that you can reference the property as follows:

$mapname.Deck_numPieces$

A Zone property would be referenced with $mapname.zonename.propertName$.

It's not a big change, perhaps I can bring it forward?

Could we have this property adjusted to the module level?

No, there may already exist modules that depend of Deck names being Map level
.

Regards,
Brent.

Do we need some way of scoping properties in order to stop having problems
like this?


--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8980
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Deck Property Expression

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2008, 3:45 pm

Thus spake "Tim McCaron":
I think it would be good to bring this and the other little fixes you have
made forward (DP change, Audio mp3 etc..).

We are still in beta and these small modifications should not break
underlying core anymore than the bugs that are being found already

Aughhh!!! We need people to be looking at solving outstanding bugs, not
adding new features right now.
--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8980
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Deck Property Expression

Postby Brent Easton » September 8th, 2008, 9:53 pm

.
Do we need some way of scoping properties in order to stop having problems
like this?



Yes, this is what I have done.

Brent.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3225
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Deck Property Expression

Postby Brent Easton » September 8th, 2008, 9:57 pm

Thus spake "Tim McCaron":
I think it would be good to bring this and the other little fixes you
have
made forward (DP change, Audio mp3 etc..).

We are still in beta and these small modifications should not break
underlying core anymore than the bugs that are being found already

Aughhh!!! We need people to be looking at solving outstanding bugs, not
adding new features right now.

How are those ImageOp changes going so I can get the Game Piece Images sorted out?


Thanks,
Brent.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3225
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Deck Property Expression

Postby uckelman » September 8th, 2008, 11:52 pm

Thus spake "Brent Easton":

Thus spake "Tim McCaron":
I think it would be good to bring this and the other little fixes you
have
made forward (DP change, Audio mp3 etc..).

We are still in beta and these small modifications should not break
underlying core anymore than the bugs that are being found already

Aughhh!!! We need people to be looking at solving outstanding bugs, not
adding new features right now.

How are those ImageOp changes going so I can get the Game Piece Images sorted
out?

They're done, and have been since the week before last, but I need about an
hour with internet access to get them commented and committed, and I just
can't get that right now. If I've finished my slides by the time I'm on
my way to Australia, I might do the remaining commenting on the plane.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8980
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Deck Property Expression

Postby Tim M » September 9th, 2008, 2:26 am

They're done, and have been since the week before last, but I need about an
hour with internet access to get them commented and committed, and I just
can't get that right now. If I've finished my slides by the time I'm on
my way to Australia, I might do the remaining commenting on the plane.

--
J.

They should have named the movie

Joel Uckelman: International man of mystery! :)


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Deck Property Expression

Postby uckelman » September 9th, 2008, 7:57 am

Thus spake "Tim McCaron":
They should have named the movie

Joel Uckelman: International man of mystery! :)


Yeah, in the last four days, I've been in Liverpool, Stratford-upon-Avon,
Oxford, and London. I'm about to leave Stratford to go back to Amsterdam.
On Saturday morning I fly to Australia. I spent all of April in Paris, I
was in Portugal for a week in May and then Toulouse for two weeks, and have
been to Chicago on two separate trips in June and July. I'm back in Paris
for four days at the end of October. There is some point beyond which I no
longer enjoy travelling, and I'm well past that point for the year.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8980
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Deck Property Expression

Postby rk » September 9th, 2008, 7:46 pm

If I've finished my slides by the time I'm on
my way to Australia, I might do the remaining commenting on the plane.

If you manage to check in any code while in the air, be sure to add your approximate longitude/latitude to the commit comment.

rk

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
rk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 536
Joined: October 21st, 2007, 3:31 am

Deck Property Expression

Postby mkiefte » September 10th, 2008, 10:18 am

2008/9/9 Rodney Kinney <rodneykinney@comcast.net (rodneykinney@comcast.net)>
If I've finished my slides by the time I'm on
my way to Australia, I might do the remaining commenting on the plane.


If you manage to check in any code while in the air, be sure to add your approximate longitude/latitude to the commit comment.



And mention to the flight attendant that you've been using your wireless connection. They love it when you do that.

- M.

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Deck Property Expression

Postby uckelman » September 10th, 2008, 10:33 am

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
If I've finished my slides by the time I'm on
my way to Australia, I might do the remaining commenting on the plane.


If you manage to check in any code while in the air, be sure to add your
approximate longitude/latitude to the commit comment.


And mention to the flight attendant that you've been using your wireless
connection. They love it when you do that.

I said I was going to do the remaining *commenting* on the plane, not
checking in code... though now it's looking more like I'll be making
my slides instead. The past month has been such a train wreck.

It's not like you'd be able to see any access points from six miles above
them, since its too far away and you're zooming by them too fast, and anyway
a lot of antennas aren't omnidirectional.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8980
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Deck Property Expression

Postby mkiefte » September 10th, 2008, 11:20 am

I said I was going to do the remaining *commenting* on the plane, not
checking in code... though now it's looking more like I'll be making
my slides instead. The past month has been such a train wreck.

It's not like you'd be able to see any access points from six miles above
them, since its too far away and you're zooming by them too fast, and anyway
a lot of antennas aren't omnidirectional.




I was thinking of a wimax card. E.g.,

http://www.bell.ca/shopping/PrsShpInt_Access.page?userType=NEW#fragment-2

If a mobile can work from a plane, I suspect that you can get one of those to work to. As for zooming by them too fast, that's actually the only argument I've heard against not allowing you to use mobiles on a plane: The towers can handle it, but if a lot of people were doing it, the network would grind to a halt. The idea that the plane will crash is a myth that's been proven false many times.

- M.

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Deck Property Expression

Postby uckelman » September 10th, 2008, 2:25 pm

Thus spake "Michael Kiefte":
I was thinking of a wimax card. E.g.,

http://www.bell.ca/shopping/PrsShpInt_A ... fragment-2

If a mobile can work from a plane, I suspect that you can get one of those
to work to. As for zooming by them too fast, that's actually the only
argument I've heard against not allowing you to use mobiles on a plane:

You've never come across the argument about driving otherwise peaceful
people to violence, huh? I find that one pretty compelling.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8980
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Next

Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest