Create account / Log in

Confirmation requested

Suggestions for additional features for the module editor and Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Confirmation requested

Postby Shalbatana » November 24th, 2008, 4:47 pm

The "Change all Pieces" function should have a "Are you sure you really want to do this, this change will effect all pieces in this list" confirmation dialog.

I designed about 30 pieces, then hit "modify all" on the first piece. I changed my mind and didn't make a global fix, but because I looked at the properties, the program thought I did. When I clicked OK...suddenly all the pieces were named the same thing.

And MAN I wish there was an UNDO function.
"There's no time like the future."
Shalbatana
 
Posts: 21
Joined: November 21st, 2008, 6:22 pm
Location: USA

Confirmation requested

Postby Brent Easton » November 24th, 2008, 10:12 pm

The "Change all Pieces" function should have a "Are you sure you really
want to do this, this change will effect all pieces in this list"
confirmation dialog.

I designed about 30 pieces, then hit "modify all" on the first piece. I
changed my mind and didn't make a global fix, but because I looked at the
properties, the program thought I did. When I clicked OK...suddenly all
the pieces were named the same thing.

And MAN I wish there was an UNDO function.

Actually, I admit to having been caught by this myself and I should have fixed it by now.

I consider this a bug - If you 'Edit All Contained Pieces' and then cancel without chaning anything, then NO changes should be made.

I have open bug # 2340311 for this one and will try and get it fixed soon.


BTW, When building a Module, Backup often!

B.



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3225
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

A second issue.

Postby Shalbatana » November 25th, 2008, 4:12 am

Yeah, I learned that today when I finished prepping about 40 pieces, then the game kept giving me a "Cannot save module" error.

I had to redo, saving every 3 or 4 pieces.

Other things I noticed, if it helps track this issue. I was copying one piece, pasting it, then modifying the copy into a new piece. Don't know if this caused the error or not, but I hadn't gotten the message until then.

Also, when I got the error, if I quit by hitting the X in the module window (not the game window), a window would pop up asking me if I wanted to save before closing. If I clicked yes, it still quit the program, but my most recent work was successfully saved, and still there when I reloaded.

Sorry if I'm posting something you already know. I haven't trolled the forums yet.
"There's no time like the future."
Shalbatana
 
Posts: 21
Joined: November 21st, 2008, 6:22 pm
Location: USA

Confirmation requested

Postby Brent Easton » November 25th, 2008, 4:39 am

Yeah, I learned that today when I finished prepping about 40 pieces, then
the game kept giving me a "Cannot save module" error.

What version of Vassal are you using? This is an older bug that I hope we have pretty much resolved.

I have found and fixed the 'Edit All Contained Pieces' do nothing bug. The next version (3.1 beta6) will:

a) have a cancel button that allows you to cancel out, making no changes.
b) respect the Close Window button and do a cancel for you.
c) do nothing the Ok button is pressed, but no changes have been made to the piece.

Regards,
B.



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3225
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Postby Shalbatana » November 25th, 2008, 4:46 pm

I'm using 3.0.17. I used whatever stand alone version came up on your download page drop-down menu. If there's a newer release, I'd love to have it.

Thanks for the fast response on the "bug".

I must say it's been about a 90% pleasure working with this game system so far. I'm quite impressed. I've already finished a working (if simple) module for tracking PBEM games. And the help and support has been very quick and kind.

I'm very interested in getting into the guts of the program.
Others will hear of this!!!!
Three cheers!!!!
:D
"There's no time like the future."
Shalbatana
 
Posts: 21
Joined: November 21st, 2008, 6:22 pm
Location: USA

Confirmation requested

Postby uckelman » November 25th, 2008, 4:58 pm

Thus spake "Shalbatana":
I'm using 3.0.17. I used whatever stand alone version came up on your downloa
d page drop-down menu. If there's a newer release, I'd love to have it.

There is no newer full release, but the release announcement for the current
beta is here, where there are links for downloading it:

http://www.vassalengine.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1268

Also, you can find current development builds here:

http://www.nomic.net/~uckelman/tmp/vassal/

Since your bug was only just solved, you might want the highest numbered
development release.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8980
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests