Create account / Log in

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Suggestions for additional features for the module editor and Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby Dark Scipio » January 9th, 2008, 9:56 am

Another thing. It would be great if it would be possible that layers could be placed under not on top of the basic pieces.
http://www.diewaldseite.de
http://www.therainforestsite.com
Help the rainforest with a free click.
User avatar
Dark Scipio
 
Posts: 37
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 8:35 am

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby uckelman » January 9th, 2008, 10:41 am

Thus spake "Dark Scipio":
Another thing. It would be great if it would be possible that layers could be
placed under not on top of the basic pieces.


Could you describe why you want that?
--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9014
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Postby Dark Scipio » January 9th, 2008, 5:20 pm

For our module we are creating bases. Bases that can be switched to different colours (if same fractions fight each other...).
But now you have to use the layer for a base and then a second layer with the game piece again, as the first layer will be over the basic piece.
http://www.diewaldseite.de
http://www.therainforestsite.com
Help the rainforest with a free click.
User avatar
Dark Scipio
 
Posts: 37
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 8:35 am

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby Tim M » January 9th, 2008, 6:04 pm

Redesign your game piece.
Make the base piece a blank graphic
Add a layer for all your different colors (you can have it follow a property
if you like)
Put the actual gamepiece (without any background) on another layer and set
it to be always active This will always keep it on top no matter what the
background color is

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby uckelman » January 9th, 2008, 6:22 pm

Thus spake "Tim McCaron":
Redesign your game piece.
Make the base piece a blank graphic
Add a layer for all your different colors (you can have it follow a property
if you like)
Put the actual gamepiece (without any background) on another layer and set
it to be always active This will always keep it on top no matter what the
background color is

That's what I was going to suggest, also.

Is there a reason why you don't want to have two Layer traits?

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9014
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby Dark Scipio » January 10th, 2008, 8:02 am

Tim M wrote:Redesign your game piece.
Make the base piece a blank graphic
Add a layer for all your different colors (you can have it follow a property
if you like)
Put the actual gamepiece (without any background) on another layer and set
it to be always active This will always keep it on top no matter what the
background color is

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)


This is how we do it now.
http://www.diewaldseite.de
http://www.therainforestsite.com
Help the rainforest with a free click.
User avatar
Dark Scipio
 
Posts: 37
Joined: December 26th, 2007, 8:35 am

Postby dashdotdash » March 20th, 2008, 7:28 pm

I want the same thing for my module, because the soldiers i'm using ar 40x40, but stand on "terrain" which is 50x50 and the unit who's standing on it gets covered. It's annoying and i'd appreceite it if there was a way to have a trait which is either "Always on bottom" or "Always on top" or even transparent image colour which the mod owner would be able to set or if there was a list of chooseable ones. I'd say MS Paints Teal would be a good choice for a default transparent colour. as i've never used it as a serious color for anything.

I saved my units as .PNG so maybe that would be why there is no "Clear/transparent" color?? Though i'd mention this because it could lead to a solution.
Attachments
Problem.JPG
Small example of the problem.
Problem.JPG (44.61 KiB) Viewed 5930 times
hf gl tc dd~
dashdotdash
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 20th, 2008, 6:45 pm
Location: Australia

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby tar » March 20th, 2008, 9:06 pm

On Mar 20, 2008, at 12:28 PM, dashdotdash wrote:

I want the same thing for my module, because the soldiers i'm using
ar 40x40, but stand on "terrain" which is 50x50 and the unit who's
standing on it gets covered. It's annoying and i'd appreceite it if
there was a way to have a trait which is either "Always on bottom"
or "Always on top" or even transparent image colour which the mod
owner would be able to set or if there was a list of chooseable
ones. I'd say MS Paints Teal would be a good choice for a default
transparent colour. as i've never used it as a serious color for
anything.

When you say "terrain", do you mean that each individual piece has its
own unique terrain that moves with the unit? Do you have the
possibility of having more than one unit per hex or square? What is
the behavior that you want to have then? Does each stacked soldier
have its own terrain?

If the terrain is a separate piece, then it should be in its own layer
and likely also have the does not stack trait as well.

But if it is part of the unit, you can always arrange for the terrain
to be in a lower layer than the other graphics, as some of the replies
earlier indicated.



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 776
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

Postby dashdotdash » March 20th, 2008, 9:20 pm

I want it so things like, sandbags and other terrain is below every unit.

So lets say Sandbags and Crates are on the ground floor
And Units, are above the ground floor.
hf gl tc dd~
dashdotdash
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 20th, 2008, 6:45 pm
Location: Australia

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby tar » March 20th, 2008, 9:32 pm

On Mar 20, 2008, at 2:20 PM, dashdotdash wrote:

I want it so things like, sandbags and other terrain is below every
unit.

So lets say Sandbags and Crates are on the ground floor
And Units, are above the ground floor.

OK. So it sounds like you want to have separate counters for items
like sandbags and crates.

You would do this by using game piece layers and assigning different
types of counters to different layers.

Also look at the following FAQ entries:
<http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/doku.php?id=faq_modules#is_there_a_setting_to_make_a_piece_always_be_at_the_top_of_any_stack
<http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/doku.php?id=faq_modules#how_do_i_implement_un-moveable_terrain_pieces_that_i_can_interact_with



_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 776
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

Postby dashdotdash » March 20th, 2008, 9:49 pm

Checked both those links out and my stupid comp thinks nothing of them, "Could not find <http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/doku.php?id=faq_modules#how_do_i_implement_un-moveable_terrain_pieces_that_i_can_interact_with" try one of the following:
Unrelated
Unrelated
Unrelated

God, i hate IE -_- And its worse is the fact that it RANDOMLY closes whenever it pleases -_-


But as you mentioned, how do i make them "Counters"? I only started using VASSAL 2 days ago, well 3 now...
hf gl tc dd~
dashdotdash
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 20th, 2008, 6:45 pm
Location: Australia

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby tar » March 20th, 2008, 11:42 pm

On Mar 20, 2008, at 2:49 PM, dashdotdash wrote:
Checked both those links out and my stupid comp thinks nothing of
them, "Could not find <http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/doku.php?id=faq_modules#how_do_i_implement_un-moveable_terrain_pieces_that_i_can_interact_with
" try one of the following:
Unrelated
Unrelated
Unrelated

God, i hate IE -_- And its worse is the fact that it RANDOMLY closes
whenever it pleases -_-

Try these instead:

Is there a setting to make a piece always be at the top of any stack?
http://tinyurl.com/2h3asj

How do I implement Un-moveable terrain pieces that I can interact
with?
http://tinyurl.com/yva9m6

But as you mentioned, how do i make them "Counters"? I only started
using VASSAL 2 days ago, well 3 now...

I guess I meant that you would make them pieces in their own right.
They would be terrain pieces and not move around with the soliders.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 776
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

Layers - not on top but under the basic pieces

Postby tar » March 20th, 2008, 11:45 pm

On Mar 20, 2008, at 3:03 PM, Jeffrey Brent McBeth wrote:
On Thu, Mar 20, 2008 at 02:32:28PM -0700, Thomas Russ wrote:
On Mar 20, 2008, at 2:20 PM, dashdotdash wrote:

I want it so things like, sandbags and other terrain is below every
unit.

So lets say Sandbags and Crates are on the ground floor
And Units, are above the ground floor.

OK. So it sounds like you want to have separate counters for items
like sandbags and crates.

You would do this by using game piece layers and assigning different
types of counters to different layers.

Is this how you could create two different teams of units that stack
amonst
themselves but not cross-team?

Yes. The items in each game piece layer can stack among themselves,
but each set will be in a relative order among the game piece layers.

Now, I still think that they would all be considered part of the same
stack. Maybe there is a way to control that? I think the idea was to
support games like The Gamers OCS series, where certain items
(airbases, supply) were at the bottom, land units in the middle, and
(active) air units on top. By assigning layers, that would happen.
But that was all within a single user's control.

I'm not sure what the interaction is with pieces owned by more than
one player.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 776
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests