Create account / Log in

Invisible text labels

Suggestions for additional features for the module editor and Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Invisible text labels

Postby Filip » September 13th, 2009, 2:27 am

It doesn't seem like text labels can be hidden with the Invisibility and similar traits that hide or switch the piece's picture. Effectively, it doesn't make much sense to assing such traits to a piece with text label (and vice versa). I first noticed the problem in the Babylon 5 CCG module, where some cards have text labels that appear regardless if they're face up or down - so it's sometimes possible to guess the type of the next card in the deck without drawing.

Would it be possible to give text labels an option to follow the visibility of a chosen layer?
Filip
 
Posts: 95
Joined: September 11th, 2009, 12:46 am

Invisible text labels

Postby Brent Easton » September 13th, 2009, 9:45 pm

It doesn't seem like text labels can be hidden with the Invisibility and
similar traits that hide or switch the piece's picture. Effectively, it
doesn't make much sense to assing such traits to a piece with text label
(and vice versa). I first noticed the problem in the Babylon 5 CCG module,
where some cards have text labels that appear regardless if they're face
up or down - so it's sometimes possible to guess the type of the next card
in the deck without drawing.

Would it be possible to give text labels an option to follow the
visibility of a chosen layer?

This is a bug in the module. The order of the traits in each card/counter is vitally important. The problem you describe is because the text label trait has been defined below (outside) the Invisible trait. Trait's only affect other traits that are defined above (inside) them on the trait list.

B.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 3198
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Postby Filip » September 16th, 2009, 10:17 pm

Hmm, and I'd swear I tried to do it both ways :) Well, I'll have to experiment with that again once I get down to updating my module.
Filip
 
Posts: 95
Joined: September 11th, 2009, 12:46 am


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest