Create account / Log in

Change to the Set Global Property trait requested

Suggestions for additional features for the module editor and Vassal engine.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Change to the Set Global Property trait requested

Postby DrNostromo » May 20th, 2010, 2:16 pm

If a Set Global Property trait is set up for player input, it always has a Cancel button. I've found that if a player hits the cancel button, not only is there no value entered but the process will continue to the end which, in my case, can mess up a few things.

If it's possible, I would suggest an option in the Set Global Property trait to suppress the Cancel button. This would force the player to enter some sort of value before clicking OK.

I would find that extremely helpful.

Thanx!
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Change to the Set Global Property trait requested

Postby Tim M » May 20th, 2010, 3:06 pm

To get around this, add a failsafe trigger at end of sequence which checks the value of the GP. If it equals the unexpected value, loop and relaunch the prompt. This is how I handle it.

Essentially the player input prompt will always appear to be active until you input a valid value and get past the failsafe trigger


From: Dr_Nostromo <messages@forums.vassalengine.org>
To: messages@forums.vassalengine.org
Sent: Thu, May 20, 2010 9:16:39 AM
Subject: [Feature Requests]Change to the Set Global Property trait requested

If a Set Global Property trait is set up for player input, it always has a Cancel button. I've found that if a player hits the cancel button, not only is there no value entered but the process will continue to the end which, in my case, can mess up a few things.



If it's possible, I would suggest an option in the Set Global Property trait to suppress the Cancel button. This would force the player to enter some sort of value before clicking OK.



I would find that extremely helpful.



Thanx!

------------------------
Dr_Nostromo

Creator - To Be King, Trivial Wars, WWIV

Dr Nostromo's Place (http://www.drnostromo.com/)

Dr Nostromo's Forum (http://tobeking.19.forumer.com/)



Need help with Vassal? Call me on Skype - dr_nostromo







_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org (Messages@forums.vassalengine.org)
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1816
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Postby DrNostromo » May 21st, 2010, 3:05 am

Thanx for the suggestion. I'll keep that in mind. But, in my case, any value would valid so there's nothing check. I just don't want the operation canceled.

But, if I have to come up with some failsafe trigger, I guess I can come up with something.

Thanx
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Change to the Set Global Property trait requested

Postby tar » May 21st, 2010, 4:00 pm

On May 20, 2010, at 7:16 AM, Dr_Nostromo wrote:

If a Set Global Property trait is set up for player input, it always has a Cancel button. I've found that if a player hits the cancel button, not only is there no value entered but the process will continue to the end which, in my case, can mess up a few things.

Actually, I would say that the problem is that the process continues to the end. The cancel button really should stop things from going forward any more. I don't know the details of this particular case, so I can't say if this would be easy to accomplish, but cancel really should mean cancel, as in abort whatever is going on.


If it's possible, I would suggest an option in the Set Global Property trait to suppress the Cancel button. This would force the player to enter some sort of value before clicking OK.

I don't really like that suggestion, on general user interaction grounds:
1) I could have started this operation by accident, and I would like to get out of it.
2) I don't really know what a reasonable value is, and I don't want to be forced to guess
3) For some other reason, I'd like to go back and not do this.

The general principle is to keep the user in control, and not force him or her to do something just for the convenience of the programmer. That is also why it is generally better UI design to avoid modal dialogs and have non-modal ones whenever possible.

I would find that extremely helpful.


_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 776
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area


Return to Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sgwhitley and 3 guests