Page 1 of 1

Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 3rd, 2014, 1:12 pm
by panther 2010
Hi

First of all, I must thanks once more the whole staff of great programmers that are always hard working to improve even more this excellent game system.

IMHO, a weakness of Vassal is the management of stacks, especially when several units are stacked in the same hex.

I think that the activation of commands directly from the Mouse Stack Over would be a great improvement.

Actually, to select and then activate a command on one or more units within a stack is often problematic.

Many thanks.

Panther 2010

:)

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 3rd, 2014, 1:15 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake panther 2010 via messages:
>
> I think that the activation of commands directly from the Mouse Stack
> Over would be a great improvement.

How would you want that to behave?

--
J.

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 5th, 2014, 6:28 pm
by panther 2010
Many thanks for your reply.

For now, I have partially solved this problem using an inventory window showing only the units stacked in a given hex.

Unfortunately, this solution has three weaknesses:

a) only selected units are displayed;
b) you can enable a given command only at a given unit at once;
c) units with the "does not stack" trait are not showed;

What I would see is a "hex window" in which you can select one or more of the units stacked in the hex and enable a given command on them.

Cheers.

Panther 2010.

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 6th, 2014, 6:52 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake panther 2010 via messages:
>
> What I would see is a "hex window" in which you can select one or more
> of the units stacked in the hex and enable a given command on them.

Ok, but how would you like this to behave?

--
J.

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 7th, 2014, 8:08 am
by panther 2010
Many thanks for your reply.

Well, the behavior should be as follows: when the mouse stack over displays the units contained in the stack, I wish it was possible to activate the command directly from the window showed by the mouse stack over.
Currently the mouse stack over only shows the units in the stack and you cannot activate a command directly from this window.

Be well.

Panther 2010.

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 7th, 2014, 8:41 am
by uckelman
Thus spake panther 2010 via messages:
>
> Well, the behavior should be as follows: when the mouse stack over
> displays the units contained in the stack, I wish it was possible to
> activate the command directly from the window showed by the mouse stack
> over.

Under what conditions should the stack viewer disappear again?

--
J.

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 8th, 2014, 6:18 pm
by panther 2010
Maybe clicking on a "close" button on the mouse over window, pressing a given key or simply clicking with the mouse elsewhere on the board.

Panther 2010

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 25th, 2014, 7:55 am
by panther 2010
Any chance to see it before Vassal v 4.0 ?

Cheers.

Panther 2010 :)

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 25th, 2014, 8:44 am
by uckelman
Thus spake panther 2010 via messages:
> Any chance to see it before Vassal v 4.0 ?
>

I have no intention of working on this for 3.2.

For, V4, I haven't even begun to consider what the this part of the UI
should be like. I've been focused on the data format and scripting to
this point.

--
J.

Re: Mouse Stack Over Improvement

PostPosted: July 26th, 2014, 1:34 pm
by panther 2010
I realize that the 4.0 version of Vassal rightly take priority over new features of 3.2 version.
I'm sure that the new version of Vassal will be awesome.
Many thanks for your great effort on this.

I hope anyway to see in the future a better management of the stack of units that currently is quite problematic.

Be well.
8)