Create account / Log in

Test builds for 3.3.0

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 13th, 2020, 7:44 pm

Thus spake bdgza:
> Even with the use of dedicated upscalers or tweaked settings with fancy
> AI image processing algorithms doing a regular upscaling of a bitmap
> image is never going to be as crisp as an actual higher resolution
> bitmap image. This is why you use vector/SVG images or at least provide
> bitmaps at various densities to prevent bad (up)scaling.

Yep, I'm aware of all that. Still, 3.3.0 should have crisper images on
HiDPI displays than 3.2.17 did if the images start out large enough to
support it.

> I was just
> wondering if you added support for providing higher resolution images,
> since if you did I would've wanted to take advantage of it.

V4 will have that support for multiresolution images. I'm just not
interested in putting all that additional work in to V3 at this point.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby bdgza » April 13th, 2020, 8:25 pm

uckelman wrote:V4 will have that support for multiresolution images. I'm just not
interested in putting all that additional work in to V3 at this point.


I understand. Fine by me. Just wanted to ask to make sure.
bdgza
 
Posts: 331
Joined: February 26th, 2010, 10:51 am

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 13th, 2020, 9:27 pm

bdgza wrote:A nuisance that has existed on the Mac client for a while, also in 3.2.17 as well as 3.3.0-svn9352, is that most of the time when you load a scenario the panels at the top are at 100$ of the window size, and the map board is not shown. There is no divider/splitter bar handle to show the map either. You need to open/close a panel using a toolbar button to show the divider/splitter handle, and then you can drag up to show the map board. Would be nice if you could fix that.

I reread this just now and realized that I don't understand what you're seeing. The splitter problem I'm familiar with but don't know how to reproduce reliably is that the splitter starts dragged all the way to the bottom of the Player window. What you're saying is that there is no splitter at all displayed? I don't understand how that's even possible. What are you clicking on the toolbar to make the splitter show up?
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 13th, 2020, 11:33 pm

I spent a few hours poking at the ComponentSplitter. Try 3.3.0-svn9354-splitter_test. Does that behave better?

I changed is the preferred size of the component in the top half of the Player window, and also reduced the initial number of rows in the chat pane. That gives the map significantly more vertical space when I start games.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby bdgza » April 14th, 2020, 8:00 am

uckelman wrote:I spent a few hours poking at the ComponentSplitter. Try 3.3.0-svn9354-splitter_test. Does that behave better?

I changed is the preferred size of the component in the top half of the Player window, and also reduced the initial number of rows in the chat pane. That gives the map significantly more vertical space when I start games.


The first scenario I open the map shows. I close the game, open a new scenario, and... no splitter bar.

I toggle a panel, like pieces or server, to show the splitter bar, then the map shows or I can drag the handle up.
bdgza
 
Posts: 331
Joined: February 26th, 2010, 10:51 am

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby bdgza » April 14th, 2020, 8:50 am

bdgza wrote:
uckelman wrote:I spent a few hours poking at the ComponentSplitter. Try 3.3.0-svn9354-splitter_test. Does that behave better?

I changed is the preferred size of the component in the top half of the Player window, and also reduced the initial number of rows in the chat pane. That gives the map significantly more vertical space when I start games.


The first scenario I open the map shows. I close the game, open a new scenario, and... no splitter bar.

I toggle a panel, like pieces or server, to show the splitter bar, then the map shows or I can drag the handle up.


I have made a screen recording of the behavior: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VZr2Js ... 1GqKk/view
bdgza
 
Posts: 331
Joined: February 26th, 2010, 10:51 am

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby marktb1961 » April 14th, 2020, 10:50 am

bdgza wrote:
bdgza wrote:
uckelman wrote:I spent a few hours poking at the ComponentSplitter. Try 3.3.0-svn9354-splitter_test. Does that behave better?

I changed is the preferred size of the component in the top half of the Player window, and also reduced the initial number of rows in the chat pane. That gives the map significantly more vertical space when I start games.


The first scenario I open the map shows. I close the game, open a new scenario, and... no splitter bar.

I toggle a panel, like pieces or server, to show the splitter bar, then the map shows or I can drag the handle up.


I have made a screen recording of the behavior: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VZr2Js ... 1GqKk/view


I think this is the same issue that I have seen for a long time in Vassal. Generally, when I open a log file, I have to manipulate the window to get the slider and then use the vertical slider to see the map. As already said, it is common and confuses people new to Vassal.

Here is a screen shot of what I typically see when opening a log file having just started a module.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dY8P0q ... sp=sharing

I have noticed different behaviours with log file opening. Sometimes the map is displayed and sometimes I get a minimised window on the bottom left of my screen. When I maximise this, the map is not displayed but the slider is. However, no map and no slider is the common behaviour.

I just discovered that I can add saved game folders to modules in the main Vassal screen. When I open a log file in this way, it seems to behave better. In the 3 modules/log files I tested, 2 opened with the map displayed and one didn't display the map but displayed the slider. As an aside, it would be useful it the contents of a saved game folder could be listed in descending date modified order.

Hope this helps.
Platform: Vassal 3.5.3, MacOS Big Sur on iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 516
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby marktb1961 » April 14th, 2020, 11:01 am

3.3.0-svn9354 on MacBook Pro (with Retina) MacOS Catalina 10.15.4

Updated:-

- deck getting deleted in set up on C&C Napoleonics 3.42 - as you know, still a problem

- zoom bug when using the "saved map as PNG file" - confirming, fixed.
- different screen resolutions - I think that I noticed this with Churchill module, in that I could not work with the map (scroll or zoom out fully) on a non-retina monitor whereas map was ok on the laptop screen. Anyway, on a recent Vassal version, the problem had gone away.

- "uncaught exception" crash when re-playing some C&C Medieval logs - still occurring.


Regards,

Mark
Platform: Vassal 3.5.3, MacOS Big Sur on iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 516
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 14th, 2020, 8:48 pm

marktb1961 wrote:- "uncaught exception" crash when re-playing some C&C Medieval logs - still occurring.

Does this happen with the 3.3.0-svn9294 build? Testing with that would tell me if the breaking change is before the HiDPI work.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby marktb1961 » April 15th, 2020, 12:06 am

uckelman wrote:
marktb1961 wrote:- "uncaught exception" crash when re-playing some C&C Medieval logs - still occurring.

Does this happen with the 3.3.0-svn9294 build? Testing with that would tell me if the breaking change is before the HiDPI work.


Tested and reproduced the crash with 3.3.0-svn9294 build.

Double-checked with 3.2.17 and it ran ok there.
Platform: Vassal 3.5.3, MacOS Big Sur on iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 516
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 15th, 2020, 8:00 pm

Please try to reproduce the two C&C bugs with VASSAL-3.3.0-svn9294-debug-macosx.dmg: http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/t ... macosx.dmg

This build is svn9294 with svn9249 removed. That's the only commit between 3.2.17 and svn9294 which isn't a change for Java 9 compatibility or updating our dependencies.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby marktb1961 » April 15th, 2020, 9:46 pm

uckelman wrote:Please try to reproduce the two C&C bugs with VASSAL-3.3.0-svn9294-debug-macosx.dmg: http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/t ... macosx.dmg

This build is svn9294 with svn9249 removed. That's the only commit between 3.2.17 and svn9294 which isn't a change for Java 9 compatibility or updating our dependencies.



C&C Nap - lost card deck :- I couldn't reproduce this one

C&C Medieval - unhanding exception crash - this problem does reproduce


Note - the test build reported itself as VASSAL version 3.3.0-svn9354 (error log reports this as well and Java 13.0.1).
Platform: Vassal 3.5.3, MacOS Big Sur on iMac (27", mid-2020)
User avatar
marktb1961
 
Posts: 516
Joined: October 4th, 2018, 2:36 pm
Location: Liverpool, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 15th, 2020, 11:02 pm

Thus spake marktb1961:
>
> > This build is svn9294 with svn9249 removed. That's the only commit
> > between 3.2.17 and svn9294 which isn't a change for Java 9
> > compatibility or updating our dependencies.
>
>
>
> C&C Nap - lost card deck :- I couldn't reproduce this one

Ok, so it seems that this commit is the offending one for the lost
deck:

https://github.com/uckelman/vassal/comm ... 66ee3a30a8

I don't have a guess yet as to (a) why this commit would be the cause
(though it does affect Decks) and (b) why this commit would not affect
Linux, as there's seemingly no platform-specific code in it.

Can anyone reprodce the C&C Napoleonics deck problem on anything other
than a Mac?

The bug report which led to the commit is here:

http://www.vassalengine.org/tracker/sho ... i?id=12538

> Note - the test build reported itself as VASSAL version 3.3.0-svn9354
> (error log reports this as well and Java 13.0.1).

That's expected, due to the way the build system inserts the version
number.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 16th, 2020, 8:04 pm

Try to reproduce the C&C Medieval crash with this build:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/t ... macosx.dmg

Can you?
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Test builds for 3.3.0

Postby uckelman » April 16th, 2020, 11:22 pm

Huh, I got something weird to happen just now with the C&C Napoleonics Vimiero scenario which sounds like the reverse of what was reported: If I open the scenario, close it, reopen it, choose a command deck, and then undo that, the deck _doesn't_ disappear, but the button comes back! That's goofy.

I suspect that this is the same problem you guys are seeing but manifesting itself a bit differently for me. I can reproduce this, at least, so I'm going to see about fixing it next.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9330
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

PreviousNext

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest