Create account / Log in

Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 24th, 2010, 3:48 am

I am trying to check-out the VASSAL code to Eclipse with subversion, according to the tutorial here
http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Eclipse_setup
but am not getting the expected results. I attempted to checkout src-VASSAL/trunk as suggested in the tutorial, but I get a Package Explorer that looks much different from that shown in the tutorial: I have many times more children of VASSAL,Pieter that expected, and the ones with similar names have the prefix "src.". I get thousands of errors even after making recommanded setup changes to the Java Build Path. Can someone help me out by pointing out my stupid mistake?

I am an experienced developer, but new to JAVA, Eclipse, and subversion, as my experience tends towards SQL/VB/C with RCS or VSS.

Thank you in advance.
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 24th, 2010, 4:13 pm

Oh yes - I am running Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 with 3GB RAM, and Eclipse Helios (build 20100617-1415). I have the 1.6JDK for Java downloaded. I have attempted to checkout both VASSAL-src/trunk and VASSAL-src/tags/v3_1_14 - though the latter downloads faster, I see no significant difference in the top level structure between them, and the error count is nearly identical.
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has

Postby uckelman » September 24th, 2010, 4:33 pm

Thus spake pgeerkens:
> Oh yes - I am running Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 with 3GB RAM, and
> Eclipse Helios (build 20100617-1415). I have the 1.6JDK for Java
> downloaded. I have attempted to checkout both VASSAL-src/trunk and
> VASSAL-src/tags/v3_1_14 - though the latter downloads faster, I see no
> significant difference in the top level structure between them, and the
> error count is nearly identical.
>

What errors are you seeing? It's hard to help you without knowing that.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8057
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 24th, 2010, 5:41 pm

AboutScreen cannot be resolved to a type Documentation.java /VASSAL-v3_1_14/src/VASSAL/build/module 6 times
AboutWindow cannot be resolved to a type AboutScreen.java /VASSAL-v3_1_14/src/VASSAL/build/module/documentation *4
AbstractBuildable cannot be resolved to a type BrowserHelpFile.java /VASSAL-v3_1_14/src/VASSAL/chat/ui

on for 16, 018 errors
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has

Postby uckelman » September 24th, 2010, 6:00 pm

Thus spake pgeerkens:
> AboutScreen cannot be resolved to a type Documentation.java
> /VASSAL-v3_1_14/src/VASSAL/build/module 6 times
> AboutWindow cannot be resolved to a type AboutScreen.java
> /VASSAL-v3_1_14/src/VASSAL/build/module/documentation *4
> AbstractBuildable cannot be resolved to a type BrowserHelpFile.java
> /VASSAL-v3_1_14/src/VASSAL/chat/ui
>
> on for 16, 018 errors
>

Eclipse is clearly not finding the class files. I don't know what to
tell you beyond that. One of the developers who uses Eclipse might be
able to help you more.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8057
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 24th, 2010, 7:18 pm

OK. I got the errors down to 226 (+ 187 warnings) by right-clicking src.VASSAL:
Refactoring -> Rename to VASSAL
with
Update References =Y
and
Rename Packages=Y

My errors now look like:
ActivePeer cannot be resolved to a type P2PClient.java /VASSAL-v3_1_14/VASSSL/chat/peer2peer * 1
ActivePeerManager cannot be resolved to a type P2PClient.java /VASSAL-v3_1_14/VASSSL/chat/peer2peer * about 12
BuildException cannot be resolved to a type WriteProperties.java /VASSAL-v3_1_14/dist/ant * 4
etc
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 24th, 2010, 8:32 pm

By continuing the refactoring sensibly *, I am now down to 4 errors, but they look like real ones to me:

VASSAL.PieceMover cannot be resolved in PieceSLot.java * 2
VASSAL.Properties cannot be resolved to a variable in SavedGameUpdater.java * 2

If anyone can help with these last 2*2 errors I would greatly appreciate it.

Pieter

* And I added ant.jar as an external library.
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has

Postby uckelman » September 24th, 2010, 8:42 pm

Thus spake pgeerkens:
> By continuing the refactoring sensibly, I am now down to 4 errors, but
> they look like real ones to me:
>
> VASSAL.PieceMover cannot be resolved in PieceSLot.java * 2
> VASSAL.Properties cannot be resolved to a variable in
> SavedGameUpdater.java * 2
>
> If anyone can help with these last 2*2 errors I would greatly appreciate
> it.
>

If those are the full class names you have now, what you've done has
completely demolished the package structure we're using. This is not
the right way to get Eclipse set up to work on VASSAL.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8057
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has

Postby uckelman » September 24th, 2010, 8:53 pm

Thus spake pgeerkens:
> By continuing the refactoring sensibly, I am now down to 4 errors, but
> they look like real ones to me:
>
> VASSAL.PieceMover cannot be resolved in PieceSLot.java * 2
> VASSAL.Properties cannot be resolved to a variable in
> SavedGameUpdater.java * 2
>
> If anyone can help with these last 2*2 errors I would greatly appreciate
> it.
>

I think I know what your problem is: You have the wrong build path set.
Go to the Properties dialog for your project. Select "Java Build Path",
and look under the Source tab. If the directory where your working
copy from SVN is is called VASSAL-v3_1_14 (as it appears to be from the
error messagese you posted), then you should have "VASSAL-v3_1_14/src"
listed in that tab. If you don't, that could be preventing Eclipse from
getting the right build root.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8057
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 24th, 2010, 10:38 pm

Aha! That got it. Thank you very much.
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has

Postby mkiefte » September 25th, 2010, 12:48 am

I just read this, and something is quite odd. Could you post a screenshot
of what your IDE looks like, especially the package browser with VASSAL
expanded.

- M.

On 24 September 2010 16:38, pgeerkens wrote:

> Aha! That got it. Thank you very much.
>

I just read this, and something is quite odd.� Could you post a screenshot of what your IDE looks like, especially the package browser with VASSAL expanded.

- M.

On 24 September 2010 16:38, pgeerkens <pgeerkens@hotmail.com> wrote:

Aha! �That got it. Thank you very much.

User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 25th, 2010, 1:53 am

Here it is, after applying J.'s thoughts

Eclipse.PNG
Eclipse.PNG (25.64 KiB) Viewed 7346 times


I checked out tag 3.1.14 for this one, as I figured it would be easiest to debug compilation errors on a known clean build.
Here is the amended Jave Build Path as well:

Eclispse2.PNG
Eclispse2.PNG (36.45 KiB) Viewed 7346 times
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Re: [messages] Edit: [Developers] Re: Wannabe VASSAL develop

Postby mkiefte » September 25th, 2010, 2:46 am

You don't need to add ant.jar as a library.

After you set the src directory as the source folder, all you need to do is
ensure that the libraries in lib are in the libraries tab of the Java Build
Path dialog.

That should be it. That should compile fine.

- M.

On 24 September 2010 19:56, pgeerkens wrote:

> [This message has been edited.]
>
> Here it is, after applying J.'s thoughts
>
> Eclipse.PNG
>
> I checked out tag 3.1.14 for this one, as I figured it would be easiest
> to debug compilation errors on a known clean build.
> Here is the amended Jave Build Path as well:
>
> Eclispse2.PNG
>
> _______________________________________________
> Read this topic online here:
> viewtopic.php?p=20024#p20024
> _______________________________________________
> messages mailing list
> messages@vassalengine.org
> http://www.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages
>
>

You don't need to add ant.jar as a library.

After you set the src directory as the source folder, all you need to do is ensure that the libraries in lib are in the libraries tab of the Java Build Path dialog.


That should be it.� That should compile fine.

- M.

On 24 September 2010 19:56, pgeerkens <pgeerkens@hotmail.com> wrote:

[This message has been edited.]



Here it is, after applying J.'s thoughts



<!-- ia1 -->Eclipse.PNG<!-- ia1 -->



I checked out tag 3.1.14 for this one, as I figured it would be easiest

to debug compilation errors on a known clean build.

Here is the amended Jave Build Path as well:



<!-- ia0 -->Eclispse2.PNG<!-- ia0 -->


_______________________________________________

Read this topic online here:

viewtopic.php?p=20024#p20024
_______________________________________________

messages mailing list

messages@vassalengine.org

http://www.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages




User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: [messages] Edit: [Developers] Re: Wannabe VASSAL develop

Postby mkiefte » September 25th, 2010, 2:52 am

I should also point out that the trunk is not really guaranteed to compile.
Try checking out branches/3.1 and see if you can get that to compile first.

- M.

On 24 September 2010 20:45, Michael Kiefte wrote:

> You don't need to add ant.jar as a library.
>
> After you set the src directory as the source folder, all you need to do is
> ensure that the libraries in lib are in the libraries tab of the Java Build
> Path dialog.
>
> That should be it. That should compile fine.
>
> - M.
>
> On 24 September 2010 19:56, pgeerkens wrote:
>
>> [This message has been edited.]
>>
>> Here it is, after applying J.'s thoughts
>>
>> Eclipse.PNG
>>
>> I checked out tag 3.1.14 for this one, as I figured it would be easiest
>> to debug compilation errors on a known clean build.
>> Here is the amended Jave Build Path as well:
>>
>> Eclispse2.PNG
>>
>>

I should also point out that the trunk is not really guaranteed to compile.� Try checking out branches/3.1 and see if you can get that to compile first.

- M.

On 24 September 2010 20:45, Michael Kiefte <mkiefte@dal.ca> wrote:

You don't need to add ant.jar as a library.

After you set the src directory as the source folder, all you need to do is ensure that the libraries in lib are in the libraries tab of the Java Build Path dialog.



That should be it.� That should compile fine.

- M.

On 24 September 2010 19:56, pgeerkens <pgeerkens@hotmail.com> wrote:


[This message has been edited.]



Here it is, after applying J.'s thoughts



<!-- ia1 -->Eclipse.PNG<!-- ia1 -->



I checked out tag 3.1.14 for this one, as I figured it would be easiest

to debug compilation errors on a known clean build.

Here is the amended Jave Build Path as well:



<!-- ia0 -->Eclispse2.PNG<!-- ia0 -->


User avatar
mkiefte
 
Posts: 1144
Joined: January 5th, 2008, 1:29 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: Wannabe VASSAL developer has setup question

Postby pgeerkens » September 25th, 2010, 3:16 am

Thank you Michael - I have removed ant.jar again.

Yes I have switched to tags/3_1_14 to be sue of a clean snapshot, and will migrate from there as my comfort level improves.

PG
Pieter
-----------------------------------------
"Even on the attack, I found the spade [to be] the equal of the rifle."
Erwin Rommel, Infantry Attacks
User avatar
pgeerkens
 
Posts: 228
Joined: September 12th, 2010, 4:33 am
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Next

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest