Create account / Log in

Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby Brent Easton » June 7th, 2011, 1:05 pm

This looks and works great for me. (Vista 32)

*********** REPLY SEPARATOR ***********

On 6/06/2011 at 10:42 AM Joel Uckelman wrote:

>Thus spake uckelman:
>>
>> I think what we need to do is ensure that all textures are made square
>> and have their dimensions padded out to the next highest power of 2.
>> I'll do that tomorrow, it should be easy.
>
>The current version I've uploaded (0.0.0-d226f9f9) uses only power-of-
>two-sized textures. If you're still seeing some map tiles or piece faces
>as blank on any machine with this or later builds, please let me know.
>
>Also, the GLEW libs I've included in the Windows build are the ones
>distributed by the GLEW project, not ones I built, so you should not need
>to replace them.
>
>http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/v4-demo/
>
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2758
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby lancel » June 7th, 2011, 2:35 pm

On my W7 Netbook, it looks like this the attached screenshot:

demo.jpg
Demo
demo.jpg (96.66 KiB) Viewed 4324 times


There is a white rectangle found at the top right corner that is as big as the map itself. I can drag that white rectangle around as it covers part of the map. I can see the same thing using Joel's latest upload as well as the executable I compiled locally with his source.

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby Rindis » June 7th, 2011, 4:47 pm

Okay, tried the latest, I get a console box that disappears after a moment. (No second box this time.) After several attempts, I got a screenshot that told me the message in the console is:

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::runtime_error'
what(): Error: map image filename must be given as an argument.

I know you've talked about that, but hadn't really followed it. So, I extracted out an image file, and put it in the image directory, figured out where Microsoft hid the Command Prompt and tried again. Complained that it couldn't open the file. Moved the image down from image to where 'test.exe' was. Complained that it wasn't a jpeg (it was a gif; note that the previous time it did not complain that it couldn't find the file, but that it couldn't open it...). Root around for a jpeg.

>test GB_00.jpg
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::runtime_error'
what(): error: couldn't open "GB_00.jpg"!

I went back, noticed the image archive grabbed it, tried again with Counters-Front_01.jpg. Said it wasn't a jpeg file.

I don't have any idea what I'm missing....
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 196
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby lancel » June 7th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Never mind. I figured out why I got an extra blank map-size object. That was because I somehow in the past copied the map.jpg file to the images folder in addition to the copy of the map.jpg file that is in the same folder as the executable file. The map.jpg in the images folder shows up as that blank map in my screenshot. Once I removed that file, that blank map is gone and things look fine.

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby lancel » June 7th, 2011, 6:27 pm

Rindis,
The file structure for your testing should be:
1. Copy the map.jpg into the same folder or directory as the test.exe's.
2. Copy the images folder to the same folder as the text.exe's. In other words, the "images" folder is now a subfolder of the folder containing test.exe.
3. Then run: test map.jpg.

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby Rindis » June 7th, 2011, 9:54 pm

Okay, I'm seeing it now, but when I looked in the zip this morning, I only saw counter files. >.<

"Not a JPEG file: starts with 0x47 0x49"
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 196
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby uckelman » June 8th, 2011, 10:18 am

Thus spake lancel:
>
> On my W7 Netbook, it looks like this the attached screenshot:
>

Do you have the map image file in the images directory?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby lancel » June 8th, 2011, 2:15 pm

Yep, that was exactly what happened.

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby uckelman » June 8th, 2011, 8:17 pm

Thus spake "Brent Easton":
> This looks and works great for me. (Vista 32)

Excellent. I'm glad to hear this works for everyone now.

That puts my mind at ease about the technical feasibility of using
C++ and OpenGL for VASSAL 4 (though I would like someone using a Mac
to compile the code and try this out as well). I think this answers
the questions we had about how difficult it would be to use OpenGL
for this and how well it would perform (not very hard, and well).

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby Tim M » June 8th, 2011, 8:29 pm

Did you include the 64bit libraries? I haven't tested because you said you
hadn't included them yet




________________________________
From: Joel Uckelman
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Sent: Wed, June 8, 2011 3:17:13 PM
Subject: Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Thus spake "Brent Easton":
> This looks and works great for me. (Vista 32)

Excellent. I'm glad to hear this works for everyone now.

That puts my mind at ease about the technical feasibility of using
C++ and OpenGL for VASSAL 4 (though I would like someone using a Mac
to compile the code and try this out as well). I think this answers
the questions we had about how difficult it would be to use OpenGL
for this and how well it would perform (not very hard, and well).

--
J.
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby uckelman » June 9th, 2011, 6:44 pm

Thus spake Timothy Mccarron:
>
> Did you include the 64bit libraries? I haven't tested because you said you
> hadn't included them yet
>

For the moment, I can't do a 64-bit build, so all the Windows DLLs are
32-bit. That should still work on 64-bit Windows.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby uckelman » June 14th, 2011, 8:55 pm

I had a few minutes today to work on the demo, so I have PNG loading working now. There's a new build here:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/v4-demo/
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby uckelman » June 14th, 2011, 9:17 pm

Does anyone have any opinions about using SDL (http://www.libsdl.org/) for handling sound, networking, keyboard and mouse events, and image loading? My understanding is that it's actively developed, widely used, and supported on every platform we're targeting. It's been used in dozens of games, so seems well-tested, and it appears to have a large developer community around it.

The reason I'm interested in it is that would give us an easy way to handle image loading for PNG, JPEG, and GIF (through the SDL_Image sublibrary), and additionally would let us load SVG, PDF, and PostScript via Cairo. Being able to load PDFs as images would be quite neat.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby LB » June 15th, 2011, 8:33 am

With the latest demo, I get an error stating that "zlib1.dll is missing from your computer".

I've used SDL before and I can recommend it as an easy to use library. I can also readily attest to the fact that it has a massive community, who are quite supportive, behind it.
LB
 
Posts: 60
Joined: July 23rd, 2010, 5:01 am

Re: [messages] Edit: [Developers] Re: Roadmap for VASSAL 4

Postby uckelman » June 15th, 2011, 9:58 am

Thus spake LB:
>
> With the latest demo, I get an error stating that "zlib1.dll is missing
> from your computer".

Oops, I forgot that libpng depends on that. I've replaced the Windows
build with one that includes zlib.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8147
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Durham, England

PreviousNext

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest