Create account / Log in

How to become a Vassal developper

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderator: bsmith

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: How to become a Vassal devel

Postby uckelman » July 31st, 2011, 2:00 pm

Thus spake zov66:
> Interesting, that lib was not listed, the instructions only indicated
> setting the lib jars, after I added the lib-nondist that removed all but
> 4 errors.
>
> Okay, I then added that to the out put and did a clean and VASSAL is
> okay now. But CASL was complainign about a 1.5 JRE which I don't have
> (only have 1.6 and 1.7) so I just removed that and then CASL has a black
> thing in it but it looks okay. Now ASL is complaining with 4 errors.
>
> MappedBufferedImage cannot be resolved to a type
> ASLBoard.java
> /dlazov - ASL/src/VASL/build/module/map/boardPicker
> line 377
> Java Problem

The immediate cause is that all of the memory-mapped images code,
including MappedBufferedImage, no longer exists in the trunk.

The correct way to get a map image is to get an ImageOp using
Op.loadLarge(), and then to call getImage() on that ImageOp to get
a BufferedImage.

However, if you're planning to do anything with that BufferedImage
other than immediately display it, you should encapsulate whatever
further processing your going to do in another ImageOp, as otherwise
you're bypassing the image cache. E.g., it looks like after line 377
that the BufferedImage is cropped and scaled, which should be done
using CropOp and ScaleOp.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby zov66 » July 31st, 2011, 2:17 pm

Joel,

Oh, okay that sounds fine and all but all I am trying to do is to get VASSAL to complie in Eclipse. So I am not even coding anything yet.

So my basic question is since that this is old code or whatever, can I just delete it, comment it out or what?

Again, just trying to get the SVN down (which I did) and for it to work (compile) in Eclipse (which is wont).

Basically following directions that are old and not working correctly.
ASL, Java, Wife, Kids, not in that order...
User avatar
zov66
 
Posts: 25
Joined: July 22nd, 2011, 9:59 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: How to become a Vassal devel

Postby uckelman » July 31st, 2011, 2:26 pm

Thus spake zov66:
> Joel,
>
> Oh, okay that sounds fine and all but all I am trying to do is to get
> VASSAL to complie in Eclipse. So I am not even coding anything yet.
>
> So my basic question is since that this is old code or whatever, can I
> just delete it, comment it out or what?
>
> Again, just trying to get the SVN down (which I did) and for it to work
> (compile) in Eclipse (which is wont).
>
> Basically following directions that are old and not working correctly.

If you're tring to compile VASL against the trunk as-is, that can't
possibly work, because the trunk no longer contains some things which
VASL uses. If all you want is for VASL to compile, then you could do
that by commenting out the offending code---but presumably that code is
not intended to be a no-op, so you won't produce a program which works
properly this way, just one that compiles.

Alternatively, I believe that VASL will compile against the 3.1 branch
of VASSAL without modification. However, this is only a short-term
solution. Someone will eventually need to update the VASL code to work
with the trunk.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby zov66 » July 31st, 2011, 2:40 pm

Okay, so basically one can't download each one of the trunks and expect them to work as is. So that means then that the project is broke. So I need to SVN down only the branches and they should all work?

Kind of confusing, seems like one could download (SVN) down the trunk and it should compile with out all these issues and then add in the branches.

Still new to all this, the documentation is slim at best and so it's confusing to say the least.

So I need to delete all that I have SVN down and only SVN down the branches correct? And that will cure everything?
ASL, Java, Wife, Kids, not in that order...
User avatar
zov66
 
Posts: 25
Joined: July 22nd, 2011, 9:59 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: How to become a Vassal devel

Postby uckelman » July 31st, 2011, 3:40 pm

Thus spake zov66:
> Okay, so basically one can't download each one of the trunks and expect
> them to work as is.

Not together, no. They're not synchronized. The VASSAL trunk is ahead
of the VASL trunk.

> So that means then that the project is broke. So I
> need to SVN down only the branches and they should all work?

No. There are likely to be many branches which don't work.

> Kind of confusing, seems like one could download (SVN) down the trunk
> and it should compile with out all these issues and then add in the
> branches.

I think you're misunderstanding what the branches are. For VASSAL, each
branch started as a copy of the trunk at some point in the past. They're
not meant to work together---each one is a complete copy of VASSAL.

> So I need to delete all that I have SVN down and only SVN down the
> branches correct? And that will cure everything?

The VASL trunk should compile aginst the VASSAL 3.1 branch.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby zov66 » July 31st, 2011, 4:12 pm

Okay, so still no go for some reason. I downloaded (SVN) VASSAL trunk (not sure which branch it is it was the default one so whatever version that is) and then the VASL trunk. This fails. So now I need to figure out somehow which VASSAL 3.1 branch to SVN and then get the VASL trunk again or something like that?

man this is confusing, the getting started does not work, NetBeans does not like SVN with VASSAL and Eclipse fails with the docs so far.

By the time I figure this all out it will be outdated and everyone will be using C++ ... lol oh well...
ASL, Java, Wife, Kids, not in that order...
User avatar
zov66
 
Posts: 25
Joined: July 22nd, 2011, 9:59 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: How to become a Vassal devel

Postby uckelman » July 31st, 2011, 4:22 pm

Thus spake zov66:
> Okay, so still no go for some reason. I downloaded (SVN) VASSAL trunk
> (not sure which branch it is it was the default one so whatever version
> that is) and then the VASL trunk. This fails. So now I need to figure
> out somehow which VASSAL 3.1 branch to SVN and then get the VASL trunk
> again or something like that?

There is only one 3.1 branch. It's located at VASSAL-src/branches/3.1.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby zov66 » August 1st, 2011, 1:44 am

Okay VASSAL full (the whole trunk) and VASSAL 3.1 branch are all okay it's the VASL (ASL) piece I am having issues with.

So no problems with VASSAL full (trunk) nor the VASSAL 3.1 branch. But ASL is hosed.

Any ideas?

Now the errors are :

Description Resource Path Location Type
AndFilter cannot be resolved to a type JabberClient.java /dlazov - VASSAL 3.1 Branch/src/VASSAL/chat/jabber line 576 Java Problem


100 errors...

There just has to be an easier way then all this mess, even at work which is thousands of programs, web aps, junit it's not as crazy nor unorganized as trying to get this to work.

There should be an easier way for someone to SVN down the code and for it to compile without a fellow writing one line of code...
ASL, Java, Wife, Kids, not in that order...
User avatar
zov66
 
Posts: 25
Joined: July 22nd, 2011, 9:59 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby Brent Easton » August 1st, 2011, 3:43 am

Have you set the Build Path correctly and set your Project references correctly?

The 3.1 Vassal branch project must be referenced in the Projects section of the VASL project.

Have you included all of the libray jars in the lib folder of the 3.1 branch in your build path for the project?

That error you are referring to in JabberClient.java is an error in VASSAL, not VASL. AndFilter is found in Smack.jar in the lib folder.
User avatar
Brent Easton
 
Posts: 2620
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:06 am
Location: Berry, NSW, Australia

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: How to become a Vassal devel

Postby uckelman » August 1st, 2011, 9:37 am

Thus spake zov66:
>
> There should be an easier way for someone to SVN down the code and for
> it to compile without a fellow writing one line of code...
>

The instructions are in the wiki. You could update them once you get
things working.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby clperez » August 8th, 2011, 12:03 am

Hi.

My name is Carlos. I am java and c++ developer. Iwould like to contribute to the vassal project. I have been vassal user for some months and i want to take the next step. My source forge name is clperez. I offer you my help.

Do you use any coding standard?


See you.
clperez
 
Posts: 1
Joined: August 7th, 2011, 5:19 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby chrisw » August 11th, 2011, 9:37 pm

hi,

i'm also interested in becoming a developer. i've created some game vmods, but found i needed to add functionality to the 'Deck'. i've downloaded the 3.1.15 tagged source and was able to implement my change. so i'd like to submit it for approval and help out with other changes.

my source forge user name is cwero.
chrisw
 
Posts: 1
Joined: August 11th, 2011, 9:20 pm

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby lancel » August 26th, 2011, 4:44 am

Any update on the VASL build problem? I just built it the first time with 7684 build but it failed.

So the new Vassal engine release has no new VASL stuffs in it, I suppose.

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: How to become a Vassal devel

Postby uckelman » August 26th, 2011, 1:35 pm

Thus spake lancel:
> Any update on the VASL build problem? I just built it the first time
> with 7684 build but it failed.

Lance, what problem exactly are you having with building VASL?

> So the new Vassal engine release has no new VASL stuffs in it, I
> suppose.

No, there's nothing new for VASL in 3.1.16.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: How to become a Vassal developper

Postby lancel » August 29th, 2011, 1:36 am

Joel,
I think I have the same problem as Zov66 regarding the building of VASL project. I think it is because the entire VASL folder in the ASL trunk is now located under the src folder. My guess is that originally this ASLBoard class is supposed to be coming from the VASL.build.module.map package but now because of the way the VASL folder is structured, it cannot be located any more. As an experiment, I refactored all the VASL.build.* packages from their current src.VASL.build.* package names to VASL.build.* package names. Then when I built the ASL project, I had no problem. With the current setup, I got something like 200+ errors.

Lance
lancel
 
Posts: 93
Joined: August 30th, 2010, 3:47 pm
Location: NY, NY

PreviousNext

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests