Create account / Log in

test build for 3.1.18

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderator: bsmith

test build for 3.1.18

Postby uckelman » November 16th, 2011, 5:58 pm

We have some accumulated fixes for the 3.1 line again:

* 4126: PieceMover.dragDropEnd() does not remove DragSourceMotionListener
* 4106: Send to Location to a counter using a Property Expression not working
* 3457: Corrupt JPEG causes ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException
* 2815: ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException in Stack.insertPieceAt()
* 2798: ConcurrentModificationException in PrefsEditor.save()
* 2715: NPE in Map.setup()

Notes:

* George found 4126 a few days ago. We weren't removing drag listeners in PieceMover when drags ended, which leads to listeners accumulating. After a thousand drags, this becomes a significant performance issue. I'm a little surprised that nobody noticed this before.

* 2815 and 2798 are second attempts at fixing their respective problems.

I've uploaded 3.1.18-svn8020 as a release candidate for 3.1.18:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds/

Please give this a test run, letting us know what you find.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7119
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: test build for 3.1.18

Postby tar » November 22nd, 2011, 6:26 am

Tried this somewhat briefly on my iMac (8GB, 3GHz Core 2 duo).
It performs quite snappily. I ran some large modules with big maps (such as DAK-II).

Startup and loading are quite fast. There is some noticeable flashing during initial scrolling of the map as tiles load, but once an area has been visited, scrolling is smooth and quick.

I did not notice any particular issues, in particular the concurrent modification error did not appear for me, as it has sometimes in the past. It may be more of an issue on a slower machine, though. If I have time I'll try to test on one of those as well.

I did notice the tool bar button problem with the "Three Battles of Manassas" module ( http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module ... f_Manassas ) for the first appearance of the loss charts. These are selected as boards in the initial dialog and appear in response to tool bar buttons. The resulting windows do not show the tool bar buttons until after a resize.
Steps to reproduce:
1. Start new game
2. Select setup: "All Maps"
3. Select board "Bury These Poor Men Confederate Loss Chart"
4. Select board "Bury These Poor Men Union Loss Chart"
5. Open map window with button "Confederate Losses"
* Note that there are no tool bar buttons.
6. Resize the map window
* Tool bar buttons appear

Java information:
Newfoundland:~] tar% /System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk/Contents/Home/bin/java -version
java version "1.6.0_29"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_29-b11-402-10M3527)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.4-b02-402, mixed mode)

Trace information:

22 Nov 2011 06:01:18.045 0 -- Starting
22 Nov 2011 06:01:18.047 0 -- OS Mac OS X
22 Nov 2011 06:01:18.047 0 -- Java version 1.6.0_29
22 Nov 2011 06:01:18.047 0 -- VASSAL version 3.1.18-svn8020
...
22 Nov 2011 06:20:44.987 0 -- Loading module file /Users/tar/Documents/Games/Vassal/Three-Battles-of-Manassas-v0.5.vmod
22 Nov 2011 06:20:44.990 0 -- Loading module Three Battles of Manassas
22 Nov 2011 06:20:44.990 0 /System/Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/1.6.0.jdk/Contents/Home/bin/java -Xms256M -Xmx512M -DVASSAL.id=9 -Duser.home=/Users/tar -cp /Applications/VASSAL-3.1.18-svn8020.app/Contents/Resources/Java/Vengine.jar -Xdock:name=Three Battles of Manassas -Xdock:icon=/Applications/VASSAL-3.1.18-svn8020.app/Contents/Resources/VASSAL.icns -Dapple.awt.graphics.UseQuartz=true VASSAL.launch.Player
22 Nov 2011 06:20:47.585 9 -- Three Battles of Manassas version 0.5
22 Nov 2011 06:20:47.585 9
22 Nov 2011 06:23:26.244 9 -- Exiting
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 737
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: test build for 3.1.18

Postby uckelman » November 22nd, 2011, 10:55 pm

Thus spake tar:
>
> I did not notice any particular issues, in particular the concurrent
> modification error did not appear for me, as it has sometimes in the
> past. It may be more of an issue on a slower machine, though. If I have
> time I'll try to test on one of those as well.

This could be by design, since 3.1.18 contains a fix for that. :)

> I did notice the tool bar button problem with the "Three Battles of
> Manassas" module ( http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module ...
> f_Manassas[1] ) for the first appearance of the loss charts. These are
> selected as boards in the initial dialog and appear in response to tool
> bar buttons. The resulting windows do not show the tool bar buttons
> until after a resize.
> Steps to reproduce:
> 1. Start new game
> 2. Select setup: "All Maps"
> 3. Select board "Bury These Poor Men Confederate Loss Chart"
> 4. Select board "Bury These Poor Men Union Loss Chart"
> 5. Open map window with button "Confederate Losses"
> * Note that there are no tool bar buttons.
> 6. Resize the map window
> * Tool bar buttons appear

Does this happen in 3.1.17 also?

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7119
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: test build for 3.1.18

Postby Tim M » November 23rd, 2011, 12:05 am

The toolbar button bug has been around for awhile (pre 3.1.17). It affects a
lot of modules.

-----Original Message-----
From: messages-bounces@vassalengine.org
[mailto:messages-bounces@vassalengine.org] On Behalf Of Joel Uckelman
Sent: Tuesday, November 22, 2011 4:56 PM
To: messages@vassalengine.org
Subject: Re: [messages] [Developers] Re: test build for 3.1.18

Thus spake tar:
>
> I did not notice any particular issues, in particular the concurrent
> modification error did not appear for me, as it has sometimes in the
> past. It may be more of an issue on a slower machine, though. If I
> have time I'll try to test on one of those as well.

This could be by design, since 3.1.18 contains a fix for that. :)

> I did notice the tool bar button problem with the "Three Battles of
> Manassas" module ( http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module ...
> f_Manassas[1] ) for the first appearance of the loss charts. These
> are selected as boards in the initial dialog and appear in response to
> tool bar buttons. The resulting windows do not show the tool bar
> buttons until after a resize.
> Steps to reproduce:
> 1. Start new game
> 2. Select setup: "All Maps"
> 3. Select board "Bury These Poor Men Confederate Loss Chart"
> 4. Select board "Bury These Poor Men Union Loss Chart"
> 5. Open map window with button "Confederate Losses"
> * Note that there are no tool bar buttons.
> 6. Resize the map window
> * Tool bar buttons appear

Does this happen in 3.1.17 also?

--
J.
Tim,
Vassal Uber Geek/Guru

Problems? post your OS, Physical Mem, version of Vassal and Java plus the Module in question.
No developer can help with out that info, thx!
User avatar
Tim M
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: December 8th, 2007, 12:22 pm
Location: Earth

Re: test build for 3.1.18

Postby Flaney » November 23rd, 2011, 6:27 pm

It happens in 3.2 as well.
Flaney
 
Posts: 91
Joined: March 18th, 2011, 9:11 am

Re: test build for 3.1.18

Postby uckelman » November 24th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Nobody's objected yet to the test build for 3.1.18 (though I realize this is Thanksgiving in the US, so some people are probably in a turkey-induced stupor at present). Thanks, tar, for testing this on MacOS. If nobody objects by Saturday evening, I'm going to release this build as 3.1.18.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7119
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: test build for 3.1.18

Postby uckelman » December 19th, 2011, 9:18 pm

Nobody complained, so I've released 3.1.18. Thanks to everyone who fixed bugs for this release.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7119
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE


Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest