Create account / Log in

Vassal 3.2 Testers

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderator: bsmith

Re: Vassal 3.2 Testers

Postby uckelman » May 14th, 2012, 5:18 am

Thus spake Apulo:
> >I don't follow. Expand the module window how?
>
> When I play, I always maximize the module window and the "New Game"
> textbox expands oddly. Here is a screenshot:
>

Thanks for pointing this out. Problems like this make VASSAL look
unprofessional.

This problem is due to Java's built-in layout managers being almost
totally useless for creating proper layouts---it would be charitable to
describe them as toys--- and the fact that a lot of VASSAL has not been
converted to use a proper constraint-based layout manager yet.

I coverted the server pane to use MigLayout. Try resizing the server
pane in various ways in svn8171 or later, and let me know if it behaves
satisfactorily.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7120
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Vassal 3.2 Testers

Postby Rindis » May 14th, 2012, 7:12 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake Rindis:

> Second, 3.2 will error when trying to load the Pegasus Bridge map (PB)
> for VASL. The bug tracker should have gotten a report from me where I
> mentioned I was trying to load an old file. I went back and determined
> that starting a new game with that map errors as well. Everything's fine
> with that map in 3.1.19.

Could you track down the bug number for me?

I have no idea how to do that. :P (Haven't ever gone into the bug system, so I'm not even sure where it is.)
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

Re: Vassal 3.2 Testers

Postby Rindis » May 15th, 2012, 1:58 am

Rindis wrote:
uckelman wrote:Thus spake Rindis:

> Second, 3.2 will error when trying to load the Pegasus Bridge map (PB)
> for VASL. The bug tracker should have gotten a report from me where I
> mentioned I was trying to load an old file. I went back and determined
> that starting a new game with that map errors as well. Everything's fine
> with that map in 3.1.19.

Could you track down the bug number for me?

I have no idea how to do that. :P (Haven't ever gone into the bug system, so I'm not even sure where it is.)

Ah ha. The Tracker link at the top. Took me a while to find my way around (didn't know that my email address was in the *body* of the bug. So the Pegasus Bridge map error bug is:

http://www.vassalengine.org/tracker/sho ... gi?id=4448
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

Re: Vassal 3.2 Testers

Postby uckelman » May 15th, 2012, 2:04 am

Thus spake Rindis:
>
> Ah ha. The Tracker link at the top. Took me a while to find my way
> around (didn't know that my email address was in the *body* of the bug.
> So the Pegasus Bridge map error bug is:
>
> [1] http://www.vassalengine.org/tracker/sho ... gi?id=4448
>

This bug is already fixed in the development version of VASL, which
Lance Leung is working on.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7120
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Vassal 3.2 Testers

Postby Rindis » May 15th, 2012, 2:08 am

uckelman wrote:Thus spake Rindis:
> Trying 3.2-8146, and two things to note:
>
> The problems with the hex grid definitely exist in the F&E module. Looks
> to be a scaling issue. By the time you hit the bottom of the map, it's
> about two hexes off.

Try the build labeled svn8170-8169. Is the hex alignment problem solved
there?

Just tested this, and it looks good in 8170-8169.

James
User avatar
Rindis
 
Posts: 161
Joined: December 22nd, 2007, 12:49 am

Previous

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest