Create account / Log in

Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Discussion area for the development team.

Moderator: bsmith

Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby uckelman » May 23rd, 2012, 9:32 pm

I propose that the 3.2.0-svn8175 build be released as 3.2.0-beta1:

http://www.vassalengine.org/~uckelman/builds/

In order to give people a few days to look at this, and because I'm going to be away for the weekend, I'm aiming to release on Monday, 28 May.

Bugs which already existed in 3.1 I don't consider reasons to hold up the release, nor minor new bugs (though we do want to hear about these so they can be fixed after beta1). What I'm interested in verifying is that no one encounters new bugs which are catastrophic.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7139
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby mroyer » May 24th, 2012, 9:58 am

This is good. We will have had a couple more full-night playtests under our belt by then. I will make sure to report back one way or the other by the end of the weekend.

-Mark R.
mroyer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 5:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby Apulo » May 25th, 2012, 11:51 am

I can honestly say that I have been using your development builds to play my weekly 40k and BFG matches and have yet to run into a single catastrophic bug.

Good work guys!
Apulo
 
Posts: 11
Joined: April 20th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby mroyer » May 25th, 2012, 7:53 pm

Yep, we used build 8175 (on Windows 7) extensively last night with no known issues. Appears to work perfectly from our perspective. We plan another long session Saturday evening.

-Mark R.
mroyer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 5:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby mroyer » May 28th, 2012, 11:16 am

Still... no issues found. 8175 looks like a good candidate from my perspective.
mroyer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 5:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby mroyer » May 28th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Oops...

Just found a non-showstopper, low-priority bug.

While editing the title of a tab in a Tabbed Panel in a module, certain characters are not displayed in the title, such as dash "-". Also, if a space is included in the title, then the entire title is not displayed. This is ephemeral, since saving and exiting edit mode and going to play mode the titles are displayed properly and indeed, even going back into editing mode the titles are correctly displayed. It appears to only affect the moment of initial edit (and thus can be confusing to a module designer).

(I tried to add this to Bugzilla, but it wasn't clear how to do it. Sorry for that.)

-Mark R.
mroyer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 5:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby uckelman » May 28th, 2012, 3:01 pm

Thus spake mroyer:
> Oops...
>
> Just found a non-showstopper, low-priority bug.
>
> While editing the title of a tab in a Tabbed Panel in a module, certain
> characters are not displayed in the title, such as dash "-". Also, if a
> space is included in the title, then the entire title is not displayed.
> This is ephemeral, since saving and exiting edit mode and going to play
> mode the titles are displayed properly and indeed, even going back into
> editing mode the titles are correctly displayed. It appears to only
> affect the moment of initial edit (and thus can be confusing to a module
> designer).

I'm not able to reproduce the problem with spaces or hyphens. What I am
seeing is that the titles of tabs seem to lag one edit behind what shows
in the dialogs displayed by the editor, which also occurs in 3.1.19.

> (I tried to add this to Bugzilla, but it wasn't clear how to do it.
> Sorry for that.)

At what point did you get stuck? If it's not clear how to report bugs,
then we'd like to know what should be clarified to make it easier.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7139
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby mroyer » May 28th, 2012, 8:10 pm

It's pretty consistent for me.
If I change Economy1 to Economy 1 I get Economy, and Economy-1 I get Economy1.

But, you also appear correct, there is a lag. If I change Sequence to SeAquence, I get Sequence. If I edit again, but don't change anything I get SeAquence.


Regarding bugzilla, if I select "myBugs" I get the following screen, and quite frankly I have no idea what I should be doing. Selecting "File a Bug" doesn't really change much - just deletes some options. "New" just gives me the same thing again. I don't see anywhere to enter a text description of the bug, or how to get to such a place.

Untitled.png
Untitled.png (170.47 KiB) Viewed 1786 times
mroyer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 5:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby uckelman » May 28th, 2012, 10:35 pm

Thus spake mroyer:
>
> It's pretty consistent.
> If I change Economy1 to Economy 1 I get Economy, and Economy-1 I get
> Economy1.
>
> But, you also appear correct, there is a lag. If I change Sequence to
> SeAquence, I get Sequence. If I edit again, but don't change anything I
> get SeAquence.

I've filled the lag problem as Bug 4473. I belive it's fixed in
3.1.20-svn8183. (The code which causes it is from svn5, which makes it
likely that this has never *not* been a bug. How can we first be finding
this now?!) I still can't reproduce your problem with hyphens and
spaces, but maybe this change also fixe that. Try 3.1.20-svn8183, and
let me know.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7139
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby mroyer » May 29th, 2012, 4:12 pm

uckelman wrote:I still can't reproduce your problem with hyphens and
spaces, but maybe this change also fixe that. Try 3.1.20-svn8183, and
let me know.


I can't test it. My module only works with VASSAL 3.2. I get a module too new error if I try to edit in 3.1.20.


-Mark R.
mroyer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 5:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby uckelman » May 29th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Thus spake mroyer:
>
> "uckelman" wrote:
> > I still can't reproduce your problem with hyphens and
> > spaces, but maybe this change also fixe that. Try 3.1.20-svn8183, and
> > let me know.
>
>
> I can't test it. My module only works with VASSAL 3.2. I get a module
> too new error if I try to edit in 3.1.20.

I've applied the fix to the trunk. Try 3.2.0-svn8186.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7139
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby mroyer » May 30th, 2012, 10:10 pm

uckelman wrote:I've applied the fix to the trunk. Try 3.2.0-svn8186.


I can no longer duplicate the problem - that fix appears to have done the trick.

Thanks again Joel.

-Mark R.
mroyer
 
Posts: 166
Joined: March 4th, 2011, 5:06 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby uckelman » May 30th, 2012, 10:23 pm

Thus spake mroyer:
>
> "uckelman" wrote:
> >
> > I've applied the fix to the trunk. Try 3.2.0-svn8186.
> >
>
>
> I can no longer duplicate the problem - that fix appears to have done
> the trick.

Great. In that case, I'm aiming to release 3.2.0-beta1 tomorrow
sometime.

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7139
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby irishwulf » May 31st, 2012, 5:14 am

uckelman wrote:I've filled the lag problem as Bug 4473. I belive it's fixed in
3.1.20-svn8183. (The code which causes it is from svn5, which makes it
likely that this has never *not* been a bug. How can we first be finding
this now?!)


This very bug is, incidentally, the reason I have still been using svn 4. Thanks for fixing this, it'll be exciting to see what has changed!

-Seth
irishwulf
 
Posts: 243
Joined: December 17th, 2011, 4:29 am

Re: Release candidate for 3.2.0-beta1

Postby uckelman » May 31st, 2012, 8:35 am

Thus spake irishwulf:
>
> "uckelman" wrote:
> > I've filled the lag problem as Bug 4473. I belive it's fixed in
> > 3.1.20-svn8183. (The code which causes it is from svn5, which makes it
> > likely that this has never *not* been a bug. How can we first be
> > finding
> > this now?!)
>
>
> This very bug is, incidentally, the reason I have still been using svn
> 4. Thanks for fixing this, it'll be exciting to see what has changed!

Seth, you are a funny man. (Everything before svn1500 or so came from
the old CVS repoistory.)

--
J.
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7139
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Next

Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests