Page 1 of 3

Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 27th, 2012, 11:07 am
by barbanera
Text labels in 3.2.0 seem to behave differently from what they did in 3.1.x. See also this other thread (text label centering bug): http://www.vassalengine.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4839&p=30194&hilit=text+label+offset.

Specifically, if I had a single piece in an at-start-stack, containing a succession of text labels and nothing else (all with default alignment and offset settings) then in Vassal 3.1.x they would show one above the other whereas in 3.2.0 they overwrite each other in a single garbled line of text.

To bypass the latter problem I guess one has to define offsets. But is this really a feature, i.e. it was a bug in 3.1.x, or is it a bug in 3.2.0?

If possible I would vote to go back to the old behaviour.. as I use such a long succession of text labels in a single piece to print out debugging information in some private development window.. Having to manually tweak and tune each and every offset is a pain in the neck, generally speaking. Could it be made a checkable option in the text label trait? Like: use/don't use offsets (the latter being the old "one above the other" 3.1.x printing style).

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 27th, 2012, 11:33 pm
by barbanera
Fixed by Brent Easton today (see build 8228): text labels are now again printed one above the other as in 3.1.18.
Thanks Brent!

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 28th, 2012, 12:45 am
by Brent Easton
On 28/07/2012 9:33 AM, barbanera wrote:
> Fixed by Brent Easton today (see build 8228): text labels are now again
> printed one above the other as in 3.1.18.
> Thanks Brent!
>

Although this is just a chance byproduct of the fact the Labels with no
key command are included in the shape of the clickable unit. If you add
key commands to the labels, the labels print on top of each other.

Brent.

--
____________________________________________________________
Brent Easton
Analyst/Programmer
University of Western Sydney
Email: b.easton@exemail.com.au

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 31st, 2012, 7:00 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake barbanera:
> Text labels in 3.2.0 seem to behave differently from what they did in
> 3.1.x. See also this other thread (__text label centering bug__):
> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4839&p=30194&hilit=text
> +label+offset.
>
> Specifically, if I had a single piece in an at-start-stack, containing a
> succession of text labels and nothing else (all with default alignment
> and offset settings) then in Vassal 3.1.x they would show one above the
> other whereas in 3.2.0 they overwrite each other in a single garbled
> line of text.
>
> To bypass the latter problem I guess one has to define offsets. But is
> this really a feature, i.e. it was a bug in 3.1.x, or is it a bug in
> 3.2.0?
>
> If possible I would vote to go back to the old behaviour.. as I use such
> a long succession of text labels in a single piece to print out
> debugging information in some private development window.. Having to
> manually tweak and tune each and every offset is a pain in the neck,
> generally speaking. Could it be made a checkable option in the text
> label trait? Like: use/don't use offsets (the latter being the old "one
> above the other" 3.1.x printing style).

I don't have a clear idea of what problems you're seeing with text
labels at this point.

What we need from you is a test module and a description of what
we're supposed to see.

--
J.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 31st, 2012, 8:29 pm
by barbanera
Here is the test module:
text_labels.vmod
(2.03 KiB) Downloaded 288 times

It includes a single at-start-stack containing a single piece. The piece contains 4 text labels, without key commands to change them (default trait with just the "Text" line at the top changed).

Vassal 3.1.18 shows:
Code: Select all
Text1
Text2
Text3
Text4

Vassal 3.2.0-beta1 shows:
Code: Select all
(a single garbled line with the 4 strings overlapping)

Vassal 3.2.0 starting with build 8228:
Code: Select all
Text1
Text2
Text3
Text4

Hope it is clear now.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 31st, 2012, 9:03 pm
by Brent Easton
This is bug 4632 which should have been fixed in svn 8228.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 31st, 2012, 9:22 pm
by uckelman
Thus spake barbanera:
>
> Here is the test module: text_labels.vmod
> Vassal 3.1.18 shows:
>
> Code:
>
> Text1
> Text2
> Text3
> Text4
>
>
>
> Vassal 3.2.0-beta1 shows:
>
> Code:
> (a single garbled line with the 4 strings overlapping)
>
>
> Vassal 3.2.0 starting with build 8228:
>
> Code:
> Text1
> Text2
> Text3
> Text4
>
>
> Hope it is clear now.

So this means all of the text label problems are solved, then?

--
J.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 31st, 2012, 10:44 pm
by barbanera
Well, this one was solved for me, even though I learned I won't be possible to rely on automatic line feeds between text labels, should I define command keys on them.

However, I don't know if/when the text centering bug was addressed by anybody, but I don't think so:
http://www.vassalengine.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4839&p=30194&hilit=text+label+offset

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: July 31st, 2012, 11:39 pm
by chrono280
So I encountered a Text Label related bug in svn 8258 just now, it is probably unrelated to this issue but I'll post here anyway.

I have 2 text labels one is set to position Vertical, Top, Offset 15 x Horizontal, Right, Offset 4. The 2nd label appears just underneath it with the values Vertical, Top, Offset 30 x Horizontal, Right Offset 4. So, same Horizontal offset but 15 pixels lower. In svn8258 that 2nd text label is drawn about 30 pixels or so to the right of where it is supposed to be, so it is no longer lined up with the top row. The properties for it are identical to before.

The same module, opened in svn 8221 does not produce this error.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: August 1st, 2012, 9:12 am
by uckelman
Thus spake barbanera:
> Well, this one was solved for me, even though I learned I won't be
> possible to rely on automatic line feeds between text labels, should I
> define command keys on them.
>
> However, I don't know if/when the text centering bug was addressed by
> anybody, but I don't think so:
> viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4839&p=30194&hilit=text
> +label+offset

When did this start?

--
J.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: August 1st, 2012, 9:31 am
by barbanera
January 27th, 2012, 5:28 pm

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: August 1st, 2012, 10:33 am
by uckelman
Thus spake barbanera:
> January 27th, 2012, 5:28 pm

I mean what was the first version in which you saw this problem?

--
J.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: August 1st, 2012, 10:55 am
by uckelman
Thus spake chrono280:
> So I encountered a Text Label related bug in svn 8258 just now, it is
> probably unrelated to this issue but I'll post here anyway.
>
> I have 2 text labels one is set to position Vertical, Top, Offset 15 x
> Horizontal, Right, Offset 4. The 2nd label appears just underneath it
> with the values Vertical, Top, Offset 30 x Horizontal, Right Offset 4.
> So, same Horizontal offset but 15 pixels lower. In svn8258 that 2nd
> text label is drawn about 30 pixels or so to the right of where it is
> supposed to be, so it is no longer lined up with the top row. The
> properties for it are identical to before.
>
> The same module, opened in svn 8221 does not produce this error.

Post a test module showing the problem.

--
J.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: August 1st, 2012, 10:56 am
by uckelman
Thus spake barbanera:
> January 27th, 2012, 5:28 pm
>

Also please post a test module showing the problem.

--
J.

Re: Text labels in 3.2.0: bug or feature?

PostPosted: August 1st, 2012, 1:16 pm
by barbanera
Joel, maybe this discussion about the "centering" bug should be moved now to the relative thread (see link in a previous post), at any rate I can confirm that I noticed this bug back in January this year, when strictly using Vassal 3.1.18. Moreover, I have just checked and it's still there in 3.2.0 build 8249.

I created a test module to demonstrate it (includes hot women pics!):
text_label_centering_bug.vmod
(66.46 KiB) Downloaded 304 times

(instructions in the module when you run it).

While I was at it I added the demonstration of some lurking issue with the "line feed" bug/thing (to which this thread was originally dedicated): having a text label only printing something like $FOO$ gives a new line with the content of $FOO$ - even when empty - but only if not followed in the trait order by another text label with some actual static text. Otherwise, it will overlap the following text label in the trait order (which is actually printed first). Is this as expected..? Note that if the following text label does not have static text, but rather just something like $BAR$, both $FOO$ and $BAR$ will appear on their own lines (no overlap).