Create account / Log in

Card Count Button

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Card Count Button

Postby Cundiff » November 28th, 2019, 7:39 am

Howdy Gents,

I've a game designer asking me to help him by inserting into his game's module, he designs only the board games, a button one can tap that will give players a count of the number of cards being held in the hands of his opponents. He doesn't want the game to reveal what the cards are, only a count.

I've been scratching my balding head, and I don't have that much hair to lose, trying to figure this one out.

Any clues guys?

Thanks,
Tom
Cundiff
 
Posts: 113
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Card Count Button

Postby DrNostromo » November 28th, 2019, 5:27 pm

Is there a reason a button needs to be pushed? ...or would a display on the game board showing a running count of the number of cards in everyone's hand work?

The latter would be easier but the former is certainly doable.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Card Count Button

Postby Cundiff » November 28th, 2019, 5:49 pm

Good question. I'm being asked to fill in for a vassal designer who I'm given to believe has died, so I'm a little in the dark as to how the game works. I've repaired a few things that didn't work. I've added some new cards and counters and a new modified map. But this card button thing is interesting. I'll ask that question of the game designer and get back to you.
Cundiff
 
Posts: 113
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Card Count Button

Postby Cundiff » November 28th, 2019, 8:03 pm

Ok, the game designer says he wants a single button accessible to all players that reveals the number of cards in all players hands.

For instance the button displays the following Info:

Player #1: 2 Cards
Player #2: 4 Cards
Player #3: 5 Cards

There are only 3 players.
Western Alliance
The Axis Alliance (identified only as the Germans)
The Russians (which should be identified as the Soviets)
Cundiff
 
Posts: 113
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Card Count Button

Postby DrNostromo » November 29th, 2019, 5:00 pm

That's simple enough but it will probably be easier to provide a sample than explain how to do it.

I'll make a sample sometime today. Might already have something similar in my sample locker.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Card Count Button

Postby Cundiff » November 29th, 2019, 5:15 pm

Thanks Very Much, I appreciate it.
Cundiff
 
Posts: 113
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Card Count Button

Postby DrNostromo » November 29th, 2019, 6:49 pm

Here you go.

The attached package contains what I believe is similar to what you want. The zip package contains the sample vmod and notes that explains what I did.

Hope that helps.
Attachments
DisplayCardCount.zip
(17.48 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Card Count Button

Postby Cundiff » November 30th, 2019, 6:06 pm

Got it, time now to study what you've done.
Cundiff
 
Posts: 113
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Card Count Button

Postby Cundiff » November 30th, 2019, 7:28 pm

WOW that is far more than I can understand. i opened that thing up and didn't understand a thing.
Cundiff
 
Posts: 113
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am


Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron