Create account / Log in

Warhammer Fantasy Battles

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Postby mehrunes » September 23rd, 2008, 8:54 pm

I was once in the v40k team but help for the fantasy mod was very low or even nearly non-existent.
Sprites are in the scale 5mm = 6 pixels. How did you reworked the sprite?
Feel free to do that to all the others.

One thing I can not agree with is following: When vassal wasn't suited for group moves and making regiments from single sprites was hard work, nearly nobody wanted to help me. Now, when it is easier, people come and want to make the module to fit their personal taste.

I'm kind of disappointed about that because it was me who started the sisyphus work.
Apologize my bad english - I'm not a native speaker. ;)
mehrunes
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 28th, 2007, 1:33 am

Postby Skorpio » September 23rd, 2008, 10:03 pm

I just erased the background and painted over the sprite. If you save the picture in gif or png format you can keep the transparency. You could now make bases with different colors and add a layer for them under the actual game piece. Then you can change the color of the base just by using a shortcut.

And I'm not interested in working on the WHFB module, I don't even play Warhammer, only Bloodbowl and Battlefleet Gothic (and VOTR for a short time). Just wanted to give you a tip. ;)
User avatar
Skorpio
 
Posts: 76
Joined: March 3rd, 2008, 12:06 am

Postby mehrunes » September 23rd, 2008, 10:26 pm

Yeah, regarding the bases, this is clear. But what you simply describe as "painting over" looks rather good.
We still have to decide if we redo the sprites size.
Apologize my bad english - I'm not a native speaker. ;)
mehrunes
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 28th, 2007, 1:33 am

Postby Skorpio » September 23rd, 2008, 10:32 pm

Of course I already have some experience in painting, but I'm still a newb. ;)
Your images were actually pretty good already, you just need to work more on the details, light, color and shape.

A good program like Photoshop helps. The GIMP is also pretty good and it's free.
User avatar
Skorpio
 
Posts: 76
Joined: March 3rd, 2008, 12:06 am

Postby mehrunes » September 23rd, 2008, 11:30 pm

I'm using Photoshop already but I never drawed sprites before. They are my first. And to be fair, on 96x96 there is much more possible than on 24x24 pixels. :)
Apologize my bad english - I'm not a native speaker. ;)
mehrunes
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 28th, 2007, 1:33 am

Postby ghoust » November 4th, 2008, 6:42 pm

As there seem to be several groups working on their 'own' module for warhammer I urge you all to coop with each other and work on ONE module, otherwise it's a waste of resources...
a warhammer node campaign mod at http://www.fightingchaos.com/vassal/campaign
ghoust
 
Posts: 42
Joined: May 21st, 2008, 7:56 pm

Postby mehrunes » November 4th, 2008, 9:37 pm

My opinion, too.

Yeah, as people were getting sick of waiting, and well, now we have a working module minus full out sprites. Which people like.


People who got sick of waiting had the opportunity to help all the time.
But I was more or less the only one who worked on that and help on the module itself was nearly non-existing (all worked on 40k).

Now, where it is far more easier to do this module, people are coming and complaining about the first module not being finished. That's very disappointing, I have to admit.

The current group is located at http://www.gw-fanworld.de/forumdisplay.php?f=299.
Everyone is invited to help. We are waiting for the code to be packaged and want to start with recreating the contents of Battle of Skull Pass first.

As always, we are needing people who are good at making sprites.
Apologize my bad english - I'm not a native speaker. ;)
mehrunes
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 28th, 2007, 1:33 am

Postby ghoust » March 25th, 2010, 10:55 pm

From a user:

There were a few other bugs, (group rotate only worked at 100% zoom, cloning grouped models did weird things, groups get all removed except for one model when loading a save file, and the name of the group rotate command seems stuck as "82,130" or some similar number which seems to relate to what keyboard shortcut you enter for it) but they don't really matter during a game if you knew what they were and to just avoid them.




I recognized the source never worked in online mode. I updated the files. Here's the link. http://www.fightingchaos.com/vassal/bat ... bin_06.zip

The grouping, ungrouping and rotation were not synchronized in the 05 version.

If time permits (in half a year or so, don't expect anything) I'll have a look at the zoom and cloning issue, could not reproduce the save file issue, the name of the edit command is editable (didn't check if just editing the name would fix it though).

I'll try to keep it updates and will work on fixes on irregular base, so don't expect anything besides bugfixes atm.
a warhammer node campaign mod at http://www.fightingchaos.com/vassal/campaign
ghoust
 
Posts: 42
Joined: May 21st, 2008, 7:56 pm

Postby mehrunes » April 4th, 2010, 1:59 pm

Could you provide a tutorial how to get this in a vassal module actually?

I don't know how to use that in own modules.
Apologize my bad english - I'm not a native speaker. ;)
mehrunes
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 28th, 2007, 1:33 am

Postby ghoust » April 9th, 2010, 3:43 pm

Have a look at this one: Armies of Arcana, it's at http://www.vassalengine.org/community/i ... page=Files

or at the module provided in the download, the documentation comming with it and the documentation on how to add custom code into a module.
a warhammer node campaign mod at http://www.fightingchaos.com/vassal/campaign
ghoust
 
Posts: 42
Joined: May 21st, 2008, 7:56 pm

Postby mehrunes » April 12th, 2010, 8:05 pm

Well, it works in the module but I don't know why. There is only a global key command, but I cannot find where CTRL G is defined.


To incorporate custom classes into your module please take a look at the VASSAL documentation.


That is where I'm stuck. The vassal documentation is disastrous. I learned everything by trying...
Because of that I asked for a tutorial or how-to.
You seem to know so why not share it?
Apologize my bad english - I'm not a native speaker. ;)
mehrunes
 
Posts: 84
Joined: December 28th, 2007, 1:33 am

Postby ghoust » April 14th, 2010, 6:33 pm

man,...
have a lok at the reference manual in the zip, have alok here: http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/doku.p ... rogramming
and here in general:
http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/doku.php?id=tutorials

mehrunes wrote:Well, it works in the module but I don't know why. There is only a global key command, but I cannot find where CTRL G is defined.


To incorporate custom classes into your module please take a look at the VASSAL documentation.


That is where I'm stuck. The vassal documentation is disastrous. I learned everything by trying...
Because of that I asked for a tutorial or how-to.
You seem to know so why not share it?


If the documentation would be as bad as you state I must be a genius to code that functionality based on the disastrous documentation :-)

c'mon, nothing is for free ;-)

Try to open the properties of the global key command (on the battlefield map, not he setup map..) there you'll find your CTRL-G...
a warhammer node campaign mod at http://www.fightingchaos.com/vassal/campaign
ghoust
 
Posts: 42
Joined: May 21st, 2008, 7:56 pm

Re: Warhammer Fantasy Battles

Postby ghoust » August 26th, 2011, 8:17 pm

this project seems to be discontinued as anyone can see on the dates of the last posting anybody who'd like to step up and continue is welcome, the files are avaiable, including sources for vassal. good luck
a warhammer node campaign mod at http://www.fightingchaos.com/vassal/campaign
ghoust
 
Posts: 42
Joined: May 21st, 2008, 7:56 pm

Previous

Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests