Create account / Log in

Are Property value limits their own Properties?

Talk about module design ideas and techniques.

Moderators: uckelman, Tim M

Are Property value limits their own Properties?

Postby BigAl737 » December 18th, 2020, 7:23 am

Are the min and max values of a dynamic property stored as their own property?

For example, a numeric dynamic property named "ABC" is a trait in many counters and each counter has a unique min ABC value and a unique max ABC value. I would like to use a GKC to make ABC for each counter a random number between it's own ABCmin and ABCmax using the Random expression. In my limited understanding it would look something like this:

Random(ABCmin,ABCmax)

Possible?

Thanks for sharing your expertise.

Allan
BigAl737
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 10th, 2009, 6:47 am
Location: Eagle River, AK

Re: Are Property value limits their own Properties?

Postby BigAl737 » January 14th, 2021, 11:20 pm

Bump. The answer could save me many hours of work while keeping the module as streamlined as possible. Thanks in advance if you can answer this for me.

Allan
BigAl737
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 10th, 2009, 6:47 am
Location: Eagle River, AK

Re: Are Property value limits their own Properties?

Postby jrwatts » January 15th, 2021, 1:04 am

I'm fairly certain the answer is no...at least, the designer's guide makes no mention of this. It sounds like a good feature request, though.
jrwatts
 
Posts: 222
Joined: April 29th, 2020, 10:30 pm

Re: Are Property value limits their own Properties?

Postby BigAl737 » January 15th, 2021, 4:00 am

Thanks for the quick reply. Much appreciated.

I for one see uses for the ability to return the number of layers as a property. Or as I inquired above, the ability to return the minimum/maximum number in a dynamic property. I'll submit a feature request.
BigAl737
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 10th, 2009, 6:47 am
Location: Eagle River, AK

Re: Are Property value limits their own Properties?

Postby barbanera » January 15th, 2021, 7:40 pm

The workaround for now is to just store ABCmin and ABCmax as markers on the piece (or just one comma separated marker trait). But you probably already know that.
barbanera
 
Posts: 467
Joined: January 12th, 2012, 2:27 pm

Re: Are Property value limits their own Properties?

Postby BigAl737 » January 15th, 2021, 10:59 pm

I hadn't thought of that. Good work around. Thanks.
BigAl737
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 10th, 2009, 6:47 am
Location: Eagle River, AK


Return to Module Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests