Page 1 of 1

Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: July 29th, 2010, 6:29 am
by bugstomper
I have some game markers that I decided to use a Replace With trait rather than a revolving layer. After using the Replace option 2 or 3 times, it no longer works. The Delete trait is also gone. Neither show up on the right-click list, and their hot keys won't function. I can't seem to reset them within the game.

Any ideas on this problem?

Re: [messages] [Module Design] Multiple Uses of "Replace Wit

PostPosted: July 29th, 2010, 1:19 pm
by mkiefte
This question requires more detail.

However, you should check whether your Replace With trait is pointing to an
existing marker, or whether it defines a marker. I would recommend the
former especially if it's getting replaced repeatedly.

- M.

On 29 July 2010 03:29, bugstomper wrote:

> I have some game markers that I decided to use a Replace With trait
> rather than a revolving layer. After using the Replace option 2 or 3
> times, it no longer works. The Delete trait is also gone. Neither show
> up on the right-click list, and their hot keys won't function. I can't
> seem to reset them within the game.
>
> Any ideas on this problem?
>
> _______________________________________________
> Read this topic online here:
> viewtopic.php?p=18952#p18952
> _______________________________________________
> messages mailing list
> messages@vassalengine.org
> http://www.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages
>
>

This question requires more detail.

However, you should check whether your Replace With trait is pointing to an existing marker, or whether it defines a marker.� I would recommend the former especially if it's getting replaced repeatedly.


- M.

On 29 July 2010 03:29, bugstomper <bug_stomper@comcast.net> wrote:

I have some game markers that I decided to use a Replace With trait

rather than a revolving layer. �After using the Replace option 2 or 3

times, it no longer works. �The Delete trait is also gone. �Neither show

up on the right-click list, and their hot keys won't function. �I can't

seem to reset them within the game.



Any ideas on this problem?



_______________________________________________

Read this topic online here:

viewtopic.php?p=18952#p18952

_______________________________________________

messages mailing list

messages@vassalengine.org

http://www.vassalengine.org/mailman/listinfo/messages







Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: July 29th, 2010, 10:26 pm
by bugstomper
It definitely in not pointed to define a marker. I'll give it a try.

Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: July 30th, 2010, 3:17 am
by DrNostromo
One thing I do a lot if I have several markers that will be repeated is create a hidden map window and create a deck within that window. You can then place your markers in that deck. Players won't have access to them but you can access as many copies as you need with the Place Marker or Replace with Other traits.

You can access them from a piece palette, as well.

Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: July 30th, 2010, 10:03 pm
by bugstomper
I was accessing them form the piece pallette, but not re-defining them in the Replace trait. That seemed like too much work. So, I just made a revolving Layer. It works fine.

Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: July 31st, 2010, 2:39 am
by DrNostromo
bugstomper wrote:I was accessing them form the piece pallette, but not re-defining them in the Replace trait. That seemed like too much work. So, I just made a revolving Layer. It works fine.


You shouldn't have to re-define them if you're pointing to an existing marker. Once you've created a marker somewhere, you would use the Select button on the Replace with Other trait and and select that marker. Each time you got a marker, it would be an exact duplicate of the original.

Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: July 31st, 2010, 4:06 am
by bugstomper
Yes, but after using the "Replace With" trait a couple of times (replacing the replaced counter, then replacing that one), that trait and the "Delete" trait no longer functioned by hot-key and no longer appeared in the right-click menu, as I stated in my initial post.

Re: [messages] [Module Design] Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace

PostPosted: July 31st, 2010, 10:16 am
by mkiefte
Would it be possible to post your module. I'm curious to see what's
happening.

- M.

On 31 July 2010 01:06, bugstomper wrote:

> Yes, but after using the "Replace With" trait a couple of times
> (replacing the replaced counter, then replacing that one), that trait
> and the "Delete" trait no longer functioned by hot-key and no longer
> appeared in the right-click menu, as I stated in my initial post.
>
>
>

Would it be possible to post your module.� I'm curious to see what's happening.

- M.

On 31 July 2010 01:06, bugstomper <bug_stomper@comcast.net> wrote:

Yes, but after using the "Replace With" trait a couple of times

(replacing the replaced counter, then replacing that one), that trait

and the "Delete" trait no longer functioned by hot-key and no longer

appeared in the right-click menu, as I stated in my initial post.




Re: [messages] [Module Design] Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace

PostPosted: July 31st, 2010, 1:50 pm
by DrNostromo
mkiefte wrote:Would it be possible to post your module. I'm curious to see what's
happening.


So am I. This sounds rather strange.

Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: August 1st, 2010, 6:14 am
by bugstomper
I could post it, but I would have to put the "Replace" traits back into my pieces. But that's not too tough to do.

Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: August 1st, 2010, 7:46 pm
by bugstomper
OK. I added the Replace With Other traits so I could upload it for your viewing pleasure. Only now it works just fine. And this way works with several less traits than the revolving Layer. Weird.

Re: Multiple Uses of "Replace With" Disable Marker

PostPosted: August 2nd, 2010, 3:38 am
by DrNostromo
LOL! Yeah, it happens like that some times.