Create account / Log in

Ben Smith's modules

Support for existing Vassal modules. Ask here if you need help with a specific module.

Moderator: bsmith

This Hallowed Ground

Postby ktodd » March 25th, 2009, 2:08 am

Ben,

Thanks for the counter fix!

Keith
ktodd
 
Posts: 70
Joined: December 25th, 2007, 1:52 am
Location: Oregon

Postby bsmith » April 4th, 2009, 6:04 am

Added South Mountain from The Gamer's Regimental Sub Series.\


Ben
User avatar
bsmith
Site Admin
 
Posts: 657
Joined: October 2nd, 2007, 4:47 pm

Postby bsmith » April 4th, 2009, 6:09 am

By the way are there any Photoshop gurus around? I need some help cleaning up glare on the maps of South Mountain and This Hallowed Ground.

cheers

Ben
User avatar
bsmith
Site Admin
 
Posts: 657
Joined: October 2nd, 2007, 4:47 pm

This Hallowed Ground 1.2

Postby jonfel » April 23rd, 2009, 1:09 am

I've still got the max heap size problem with This Hallowed Ground. I've loaded v 1.2. I have tried setting the max heap size to 512 and 1024. I have turned on memory mapped files. My computer has over 2 GB memory.
"Bother," said Pooh, as Bowden signed yet another former Red.
jonfel
 
Posts: 8
Joined: February 19th, 2009, 12:21 am
Location: Alexandria, VA

Ben Smith's modules

Postby uckelman » April 23rd, 2009, 8:41 am

Thus spake "jonfel":
I've still got the max heap size problem with This Hallowed Ground. I've loa
ded v 1.2. I have tried setting the max heap size to 512 and 1024. I have t
urned on memory mapped files. My computer has over 2 GB memory.


What exactly is the problem you're having? Please describe it.

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7124
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Ben Smith's modules

Postby jonfel » April 24th, 2009, 1:13 am

uckelman wrote:Thus spake "jonfel":
I've still got the max heap size problem with This Hallowed Ground. I've loa
ded v 1.2. I have tried setting the max heap size to 512 and 1024. I have t
urned on memory mapped files. My computer has over 2 GB memory.


What exactly is the problem you're having? Please describe it.

--
J.

In Preferences tab of the main Vassal screen, the Importer initial and maximum heap size are set at 512 MB.

I double-click on THG v1.2 in the module library.

I try to start a new game offline.

The map screen is white for a while then I get the "Out of Memory" popup -- VASSAL has run out of memory. This module requires more memory than the maximum heap size you have set for it. Please increase the maximum heap size in your Preferences, and restart VASSAL.

In the Preferences tab of the THG module the initial and maximum heap sizes are set at 512 MB, and Prefer memory-mapped images is checked. I reset these values to 1024 MB, close the module, and exit out of Vassal.

I reopen Vassal. and try again. I immediately get the Out of Memory popup - VASSAL has run out of memory. This module requires more memory than the maximum heap size you have set for it. Please increase the maximum heap size in your Preferences, and restart VASSAL.

I increase the heap size values in the main Vassal Preferences tab to 1024. Exit and reopen. Same result.
"Bother," said Pooh, as Bowden signed yet another former Red.
jonfel
 
Posts: 8
Joined: February 19th, 2009, 12:21 am
Location: Alexandria, VA

Ben Smith's modules

Postby tar » April 24th, 2009, 11:57 pm

On Apr 23, 2009, at 6:13 PM, jonfel wrote:

uckelman wrote:Thus spake "jonfel":

I've still got the max heap size problem with This Hallowed
Ground. I've loa
ded v 1.2. I have tried setting the max heap size to 512 and
1024. I have t
urned on memory mapped files. My computer has over 2 GB memory.

...
In the Preferences tab of the THG module the initial and maximum
heap sizes are set at 512 MB, and Prefer memory-mapped images is
checked. I reset these values to 1024 MB, close the module, and
exit out of Vassal.

I reopen Vassal. and try again. I immediately get the Out of Memory
popup - VASSAL has run out of memory. This module requires more
memory than the maximum heap size you have set for it. Please
increase the maximum heap size in your Preferences, and restart
VASSAL.

I increase the heap size values in the main Vassal Preferences tab
to 1024. Exit and reopen. Same result.

I was able to get that module to load once I set the max heap size to
1024. With the initial 512 default heap, the module would run out of
memory.

I found that I did not need to restart the module manager. I just
needed to re-open the module.
I did not have memory-mapped images selected initially. It worked
with it both checked and unchecked.

It does take a while to load, though.
About 10 seconds after finishing with the wizard with memory-mapped
images off.
About 45 seconds after finishing with the wizard with memory-mapped
images on.

So, maybe you need to either wait a bit longer or else try turning the
memory-mapped images off.

This is on a Mac, 2.4GHz Core Duo, 4GB RAM.
java version "1.5.0_16"
Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.5.0_16-
b06-284)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.5.0_16-133, mixed mode, sharing)




_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
tar
 
Posts: 737
Joined: January 2nd, 2008, 6:53 pm
Location: Los Angeles area

Postby bsmith » June 8th, 2009, 7:20 am

Added Iron Tide and Western Desert (Europa VI) modules.

Enjoy.
User avatar
bsmith
Site Admin
 
Posts: 657
Joined: October 2nd, 2007, 4:47 pm

Postby bsmith » August 9th, 2009, 11:37 am

Added Barbarossa - Kiev to Rostov. Looks like we're having some Internet pipe troubles here in AU, but I'll try to get the file up as soon as I can.

Ben
User avatar
bsmith
Site Admin
 
Posts: 657
Joined: October 2nd, 2007, 4:47 pm

Postby dougb » August 9th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Hi Ben,

Tried to load Kiev to Rostov and Vassal didn't recognize it as a module. I installed it to the root Vassal directory - do I need to put it somewhere else or do something to get it to work. I'm assuming the file wasn't zipped.

BTW, thanks much for taking the time to putting together something for KTR - was waiting for a Vassal module before playing.
dougb
 
Posts: 11
Joined: April 4th, 2009, 3:14 am

Postby dougb » August 9th, 2009, 5:47 pm

Hi Ben,

My bad. The first time I downloaded I didn't get the complete file. Tried again and it works like a charm.

Many putting together the module! Looking forwards to getting a game in some time.

Thanks,

Doug
dougb
 
Posts: 11
Joined: April 4th, 2009, 3:14 am

Ben Smith's modules

Postby uckelman » August 9th, 2009, 5:49 pm

Thus spake "dougb":
Hi Ben,

Tried to load Kiev to Rostov and Vassal didn't recognize it as a module. I
installed it to the root Vassal directory - do I need to put it somewhere els
e or do something to get it to work. I'm assuming the file wasn't zipped.

It loads fine for me. How exactly are you trying to load it?

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)
User avatar
uckelman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 7124
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 9:48 am
Location: Heidelberg, DE

Re: Ben Smith's modules

Postby dougb » August 9th, 2009, 6:34 pm

uckelman wrote:Thus spake "dougb":
Hi Ben,

Tried to load Kiev to Rostov and Vassal didn't recognize it as a module. I
installed it to the root Vassal directory - do I need to put it somewhere els
e or do something to get it to work. I'm assuming the file wasn't zipped.

It loads fine for me. How exactly are you trying to load it?

--
J.

_______________________________________________
Messages mailing list
Messages@forums.vassalengine.org
http://forums.vassalengine.org/mailman/ ... engine.org

Post generated using Mail2Forum (http://www.mail2forum.com)


Works fine for me now - just didn't get the whole thing the first time I downloaded.

Doug
dougb
 
Posts: 11
Joined: April 4th, 2009, 3:14 am

Postby bsmith » August 20th, 2009, 4:22 pm

Added a new module for The Seven Days of 1809 from Operational Studies Group.
User avatar
bsmith
Site Admin
 
Posts: 657
Joined: October 2nd, 2007, 4:47 pm

Postby ktodd » August 22nd, 2009, 1:24 am

bsmith wrote:Added a new module for The Seven Days of 1809 from Operational Studies Group.


I do not see it on the Media Fire page.

Keith
ktodd
 
Posts: 70
Joined: December 25th, 2007, 1:52 am
Location: Oregon

PreviousNext

Return to Module Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron