Create account / Log in

Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Topics related to Vassal game modules.

Moderators: Tim M, uckelman

Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby Heera » February 13th, 2019, 7:09 am

I just got a laptop with windows 10. vassal needs java to run. got that and it loads, but the font is super small. from the vassal forums, some people mention a fix with other users saying they don't work.

Is there anything definitive out there solution wise?

Thanks
Heera
 
Posts: 2
Joined: February 1st, 2019, 10:08 am

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby zgrose » March 4th, 2019, 8:35 pm

I've had luck with High DPI support in Java with the most recent OpenJDK but you may encounter other, module-specific, issues.
zgrose
 
Posts: 40
Joined: September 8th, 2010, 4:31 am

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby jimpyle » March 4th, 2019, 11:23 pm

Some posted this over on ConsimWorld I think:

For Win 10 users the fix is this:

1. Right click on the VASSAL icon, then click More -> Open File Location, which opens a file explorer window containing the actual VASSAL shortcut.

2. Right click on the shortcut, then click Properties from the context menu.

3. In the properties window click the Compatibility tab.

4. Check the box for "Override high DPI scaling behavior"

5. In the Scaling performed by drop down list, select "System."

6. Save the settings and launch VASSAL.

7. Enjoy the nice legible app we all know and love
User avatar
jimpyle
 
Posts: 62
Joined: March 4th, 2008, 9:17 pm

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby Cundiff » March 25th, 2019, 10:14 pm

What do you do for Win 7 users?
Cundiff
 
Posts: 105
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby DrNostromo » March 26th, 2019, 5:33 pm

The Win 7 shortcut properties has the same options so I would assume that method would work on Win 7, as well. Let us know if it does.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby Cundiff » March 28th, 2019, 12:41 am

Check the box for "Override high DPI scaling behavior"

This doesn't exist in my Win7 window.
Cundiff
 
Posts: 105
Joined: January 3rd, 2017, 8:51 am

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby DrNostromo » March 28th, 2019, 5:53 pm

I have a Win 7 SP1 laptop 64bit.

I have a shortcut to Vassal 3.2.17

If I right-click that shortcut, go to Properties and click the Compatibility tab, the "Disable display scaling on high DPI settings" is right there at the bottom of the Settings list.

If you don't have that option, it may be possible that this is an Administrator option. Are you logged on as an Administrator?
Last edited by DrNostromo on March 28th, 2019, 5:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby JoelCFC25 » March 28th, 2019, 5:58 pm

Probably expecting to see it on the shortcut and isn't looking at the properties of the executable itself.
JoelCFC25
 
Posts: 564
Joined: October 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm
Location: Minnetrista, MN

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby DrNostromo » March 28th, 2019, 6:02 pm

I checked that and for me, the options on both the .exe and the shortcut. Of course, I haven't tried either one as I don't have a font issue so I don't know if it works or not.
User avatar
DrNostromo
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: December 21st, 2007, 3:54 am
Location: Wine Country, Cal. USA

Re: Any fix for the tiny font issue?

Postby Badger16 » April 24th, 2019, 3:04 pm

I checked on my computer, and it works.
Badger16
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 31st, 2019, 8:41 am


Return to Module General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests